We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Catherine Wheel

$$
Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
7-15 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
+44 1491 848488
Website
This restaurant is at The Catherine Wheel
Today
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Good for:
Families with children

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 117 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 19
    Excellent
  • 52
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Usual Witherspoons

If you've been in one Witherspoon you'll know what to expect regarding the choice of reasonably priced real ales and menu's + specials. My food arrived in a timely fashion and was OK. The only differences between each Witherspoon is the venue and as usual this one did not disappoint.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 28, 2015
Tilt-scale-gyro
,
Aberdeen
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

Unless we just were here on Tyre right day at the right time. Really liked the place, a little over 40 pounds for three with desserts and a drink and a main meal. Well placed in the heart of Henley and within walking distance from car parks (one of the main car parks is free on Sunday). All in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

If you've been in one Witherspoon you'll know what to expect regarding the choice of reasonably priced real ales and menu's + specials. My food arrived in a timely fashion and was OK. The only differences between each Witherspoon is the venue and as usual this one did not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Four of us ended up having an impromptu lunch at the Catherine Wheel while in Henley. We arrived with no reservation when they were mad busy, but after just 10 minutes we had a great table by the window with plenty of room. We are fussy eaters, make no mistake, but lunch was excellent, as was the service. Ok, perhaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

We arrived at a very busy lunchtime but staff were very efficient and we quickly found a table. Wide choice of food and beer which was served with a smile. We even managed to get extra gravy which delighted my wife.Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CatherineWheelHenley, Manager at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

I am glad you had a good time with us and we look forward to seeing you soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Not written many reviews but had to write and say what a wonderful time i had at this establishment. I was in Henley on Thames for a wedding and just nipped in for a bite to eat. Food was good as was the selection of beers. Alex behind the bar was an asset to the company, really friendly and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CatherineWheelHenley, Manager at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

Great service is something that we always strive for here at the Catherine Wheel so I am happy to hear that you received it, I will pass the kind words on to Alex. More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Recent shopping / sightseeing visit to Henley with 3 generations. Ideal location and menu to suit all in our party. Baby, Children, Adult and Seniors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Went there yesterday as we were in the area. Was a return visit as we have been many times. Its got a big spacious eating area with a good atmosphere. We had the steak and burgers which was cooked exactly to our liking. So no complaints from us!! I know its a weatherspoons and not for everyone, but we love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkshire UK
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We were VERY lucky to get a table as it was heaving, and there were 9 of us. Food arrived promptly. Shame 2 fish dishes were both overcooked and dry. Everyone elses meals were fine. What makes a difference is the staff. All kind and courteous and working their socks off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CatherineWheelHenley, Manager at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the late response. I am sorry we didnt get everything perfect for you on this visit but happy to hear that you still had a good time with us. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I often eat at weather spoons because it is cheap and cheerful & often order ham egg & chips. Here it was absolutely vile! The food came as In the time it took me to walk from the bar to my table so was obviously not fresh. As it's a busy pub I have it the benefit of the doubt.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CatherineWheelHenley, Manager at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

Sorry for your poor visit, clearly we didn't get things right for you. Our standards are very important to us. If you would be kind enough to give us a call on 01491 848488 we would love to speak to you in more detail about your complaint. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Good food at super prices. Comfortable dining room and lovely open terrace at the back. I have eaten there many times but on this occasion they outdid themselves. Eggs Benedict perfect inline with many I have had in 5* Hotels. Family friendly and no hurrying you out after your meal. Relaxed and welcoming but not intrusive.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Catherine Wheel also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Catherine Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 7-15 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Henley-on-Thames
  • Phone Number: +44 1491 848488

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 19
  • Cuisine: Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Catherine Wheel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?