We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Priory restaurant

35 High street, Burford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 29 restaurants in Burford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: It is also a hotel which has rooms behind the cafe/restaurant
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: It is also a hotel which has rooms behind the cafe/restaurant
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    18
    23
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

Great breakfast at a sensible price. Food cooked and presented well. Also had afternoon tea [tea and scone] lots of jam and cream! Good friendly .service

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was a lovely sunny Sunday morning and we set out for breakfast at Priory. We were taken by friends who had been before and said it was good. The English breakfast was indeed very good, served on a hot plate; attention to detail. Staff is friendly and helpful. We had to wait longer than expected for a toast order;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

There were 18 of us on motorbikes, returning from a weekend in Wales. We stopped in Burford for lunch, and most of us went to the Priory. The food was excellent, the service was very good considering they had been given no warning of our arrival and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend eating at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Three of us sat at a table and we're completely ignored. There were only two other tables in at the time, nobody even approached us as we got up and left. P*S's poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've visited The priory a few times now and can honestly say that the standard of the friendly service, the venue itself and the quality of the food are simply excellent. Add to this the extraordinary value for money and you have all the hallmarks of a restaurant that will never fail to impress. I'ver had the Full English Breakfast,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you we are happy you enjoy the food and service at the Priory. We look forward to seeing you soon. Many thanks Justin Evans More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We called in here for lunch on the way home from the New Forest .it was a warm day so we sat outside which was a lovely garden area at the back of the restaurant. Our lunch was lovely and tasty , we had risotto and our friends had pasta and a pie .we also had a bottle of wine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your lunch at the Priory. We look forward to seeing you soon. Many thanks Justin Evans. More

Carterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I recently popped in for a coffee but ended up ordering a breakfast as well and was pleased I did as the breakfast itself was very impressive for the price (don't know anywhere else in Burford for a breakfast for under £5) the staff were very friendly and the breakfast arrived very quickly even though the place was rather busy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed our lovely breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you soon. Many thanks Justin Evans More

london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stopped here one Sunday and sat outside on the pavement seating area. It is at the bottom of the hill in Burford on the main street. We both had the 'Priory Special' of full English breakfast - of which my husband is an expert - and we both were impressed! The bacon was thick, sausages were not mass produced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this review

We are happy you have enjoyed one off our great breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you soon at the Priory. Many thanks Justin More

Placentia, CA
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This looked like a nice place for a late breakfast on a weekday morning. It was not busy. We ordered and the waitress was a bit unfriendly but she got surly. I ordered a Brie and cranberry sandwich which came without the cranberry. When we brought this to the attention of the waitress, she said the cook "usually puts it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a unfriendly service at the Priory. We do take your feedback very seriously and I have addressed it with the team. Many thanks for taking the time for sending your comments. Kind regards, Justin Evans More

Beds
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and myself only popped in for a cream tea and sat in the outside patio which is quiet and well looked after. We visited another establishment in the town advertising a beautiful patio area, perhaps the Priory should give them some lessons because as theirs was not a patch on this. The cream tea was excellent although the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Priory and enjoyed are garden. We hope to see you soon. Many thanks Justin More

Travelers who viewed Priory restaurant also viewed

 
Burford, Oxfordshire
Burford, Oxfordshire

Been to Priory restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Priory restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing