We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saagar Tandoori Restaurant

$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
473 Mansfield Road, Sherwood, Nottingham NG5 2DR, England
+44 115 962 2014
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Saagar Tandoori Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Providing excellent food to both restaurant and takeaway customers, we...
Providing excellent food to both restaurant and takeaway customers, we pride ourselves on the quality of our ingredients and the standard of our cooking. You are sure of a warm welcome at Saagar, Nottingham's premier Indian and Pakistani restaurant. Please note - advance bookings not always necessary.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 71 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
The quality of food is just excellent knocks the socks off the Banyan Tree

I was amazed to read some of the negative comments that have been written about the Saagar. Mohamed the restaurant owner quite literally bends over backwards to ensure you have a good meal with top service included. Why moan about being asked if you want to add a tip when paying by credit card as... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 24, 2015
graham f
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

I was amazed to read some of the negative comments that have been written about the Saagar. Mohamed the restaurant owner quite literally bends over backwards to ensure you have a good meal with top service included. Why moan about being asked if you want to add a tip when paying by credit card as this is standard procedure in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

the best curry place in nottingham, good for groups and for couples. close to the town centre. and many night spots around it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

My girlfriend and I went in to Saagar Tandoori for a spur of the moment Indian on Friday evening. The service was incredible, all the staff could not have been more courteous, the service was exceptional. The food was of the highest standard, My girlfriend did not finish all of her's and the staff offered to wrap it up as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Asking for a tip when taking the card payment was just rude. Shame, as the food was actually pretty nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MohamedSaagar, Owner at Saagar Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Martyn; I'm glad the food was to your liking. I am sorry you though the question of a tip was rude; this is not our intention. When one of our staff processes a payment by card, after the amount of the bill has been entered the pdq machine has a question displayed on its screen... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Used to eat here years ago. It was, in the past, a good place for a reasonably priced, tasty meal. Not any more:- Tender chicken but no flavour, not spicy or tangy in fact quite bland. Won't be returning! I can drum up a tastier curry myself. The staff are not very nice, asked us if we wanted to put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MohamedSaagar, Manager at Saagar Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy the chicken but wish you had let us know at the time as we would have loved to have had the opportunity to remedy this. We obviously cook dishes that vary considerably in their flavours / heat and would have been able to ensure just the right mix for... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Had been twice before this visit took a friend last night and so disappointed food would be better out of a can of dog food sirvice blunt to rude i was paying for the bill by card and embarrassed by the waiter asking me to leave a tip in front of my friend tips should be a given and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Two of us went for a meal recently, comprising 2 Madras, 2 Hot Meat Starters, both had very tough unflavoured lamb served by a very surly waiter and were extremely over priced. We've had far better for less money elsewhere and won't be going again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

We have been visiting Sagaar for over 5 years now. What a fantastic restaurant! We are never disappointed, the quality (and portion size) is always five stars! The staff are all extremely friendly and attentive and they will always try to find you a table, even on the busiest of nights! We recommend the chicken balti and tandoori lamb, just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We have been coming here for over 27 years ..they are still here and we are still supporting them. And they deserve it. Some of the recent rude comments such as plates at jaunty angles (?) and rude waiters are simply not true. It's the customers that are often very rude..I've witnessed them. The waiters are not sullen and like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Never eaten in but for takeaway, excellent. Really tasty curries, especially the baltis (amazing whole cloves of sweet garlic). And you get a surprise present with your order, anything from a pineapple to a box of chocolates. They're friendly and orders are always ready pretty quickly. Collection only though.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Saagar Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Saagar Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 473 Mansfield Road, Sherwood, Nottingham NG5 2DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Nottingham
  • Phone Number: +44 115 962 2014

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 18 - 54
  • Cuisine: Indian

Description

Providing excellent food to both restaurant and takeaway customers, we pride ourselves on the quality of our ingredients and the standard of our cooking. You are sure of a warm welcome at Saagar, Nottingham's premier Indian and Pakistani restaurant. Please note - advance bookings not always necessary.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Saagar Tandoori Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?