We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Staunton Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Staunton in the Vale, Nottingham NG13 9PE, England
01400 281218
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Staunton Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Staunton Arms Country Freehouse - Re-opened in September, 2010...
The Staunton Arms Country Freehouse - Re-opened in September, 2010. Listed pub delivering freshly prepared dishes every lunchtime and evening as well as a great cup of coffee. Hand picked cask ales from local and regional brewers.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 103 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 68
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
If you're looking for a place to stay in this area this is it.

We stayed overnight here and we're more than impressed with the accommodation the friendly staff and the quality food. The setting was really nice in a small hamlet, the evening meal was part of the deal as was the breakfast and we certainly can't fault anything at all, even had local cask ale on... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 30, 2015
MikeFellows2952
,
Billingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

We stayed overnight here and we're more than impressed with the accommodation the friendly staff and the quality food. The setting was really nice in a small hamlet, the evening meal was part of the deal as was the breakfast and we certainly can't fault anything at all, even had local cask ale on which is always a plus for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

We have been regular customers here for some time,as we live locally,and enjoyed many good meals.However recently we feel the quality has slipped.Our latest visit was very disappointing.We chose to eat in the bar area as many people do,the table hadn't been cleaned, as was covered in salt and drink stains.The five young waitresses were grouped behind the bar talking,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Had the full monty Scones, jam, cream ,sandwiches, cakes, tea, coffee, to day at The Staunton Arms. Every thing nice & fresh. Service good. Have been before, you have to try the Steak Pie, brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StauntonArms, Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about our afternoon tea will pass your comments to the chefs More 

Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

The food we had was OK but my salad came on a slate board on a lettuce leaf which I wasn't too keen on :-( I had cheese salad as they had no ham. My hubby had the Staunton pie with mash. I am not too sure it was as nice as 12 months ago when we had food there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear your meal with us wasn't as nice as you remembered, we always try to amend a problem as soon as possible. I hope we haven't lost your future custom. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

I've been a few times now here and have never had a bad time! The pub really is lovely and the owner (I think he's the owner- if not the manager!!) always gives a warm and friendly greeting although am not by any means a regular! The food is fab- lots of it, and the staff lovely! We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you had a great afternoon with us and that you liked our menu. I will pass on your praise to the staff and we hope to see you again!! More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We stayed for one night in the Grange bedroom with our six year old grandson on our way home from France and we were delighted with the accommodation. The sofa bed in the room was excellent as was the massive bed so we all had a very comfortable night. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the delicious lamb and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and that the Grange room suited your needs. We always like to provide a good range of products to suit everyone. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

My wife and I visited the restaurant for lunch, Tuesday 4 August, full of expectation given that: A) there were many glowing reviews on this site, and B) one of our favourite restaurants in the past, Bentons Brasserie, was previously operated by the proprietor. Expectations were all too quickly dashed. I chose the pulled pork burger with onion rings and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We always try our best to accommodate peoples needs and resolve any problems. Had something been said about this to a waiter or manager we would of been able to offer a solution. We hope you will come back again More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

We used to love it here and we would visit a couple of times a month. However, is has gone downhill in terms of the food. Lots of grease and a feeling of being unhealthy. I also think the quality of staff of late could do with a bit of polish. Pity as we used to really like it here.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your meal with us didn't meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in serving great quality food with great service, producing over 500 meals a week. We hope all our customers feel they can talk to us about any problems so we can rectify them as soon as possible. I hope we haven't lost your future... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Stopped at the Staunton Arms last weekend for a bit of a date night with my husband. Had a lovely stay, staff where very friendly and obliging. Food was second to none and room was very comfy and clean. Will definitely go back ...... Soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you and your husband had a nice stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again! More 

Long Itchington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

had our monthly get together here today Friday , I'd not been in the pub for forty years but I have to say had one of the best sandwich there for some time . I had the warm beef and caramelised onion on chunky white bread with Stilton cheese in it with handmade chips and my three friends all had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave lovely comments. We are glad to hear you had a great meal with us and we hope you come back again for another get together! More 

Travelers who viewed The Staunton Arms also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Staunton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Staunton in the Vale, Nottingham NG13 9PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Nottingham
  • Phone Number: 01400 281218

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 24
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

The Staunton Arms Country Freehouse - Re-opened in September, 2010. Listed pub delivering freshly prepared dishes every lunchtime and evening as well as a great cup of coffee. Hand picked cask ales from local and regional brewers.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Staunton Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Staunton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?