We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 699 York Restaurants

Triton's Fish & Chips

Tadcaster Rd | Tadcaster Rd, York YO23 3PP, England
+44 1904 700189
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 699 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: English, British, Fish & Chips, Family Fare
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    41
    16
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 NEW

A few fish and chip restaurants on A64 between Leeds and Scarborough, I have been to them all! This is my favorite although food quality is similar at them all, this one wins hands down for cleanliness and staff friendliness. It's also really easy to get to when going either East or West on A64!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hi Arthur, Thanks for the great comments and delighted we are your favourite. Easy access and lots of parking, eat in or takeaway. Of course the food should be great, but the service and friendliness is key to being outstanding. We now have a great team to take us forwards, led by manager Kerri and Senior Chef Roxanne. Look out... More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Called in for lunch yesterday, both of us had the plaice which was really good, The batter was not too heavy and the fish very tasty. Not 5 stars simply because of the slowish service, not the fault of the lady serving but she apologised as she was on her own and it was reasonably busy. Top Tip. If you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review, Quality, value and service are our values and objectives. Having taken over 3 months ago, we are in transition to being a fully fledged Scotts. Through October a number of staff let us down, by leaving with no notice, but we are through that period now, with some great new additions to the... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Called here not expecting too much as its at the services off the A64 by McDonalds.Only one other table occupied so this reinforced my thoughts of dread. How wrong I was the fish and chips were excellent. Prices were fair as well considering the location. It seems to be changing name from Tritons to Scotts or possibly the other way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hi Gary, Thanks for the review and to clarify, we are in transition from Tritons to Scotts, having taken it over 3 months ago. We have an award winning fish n chip restaurant in Helmsley and we aim to bring the same very high quality, value for money and great service into here at Bilbrough. Thanks of the recommendation, spread... More

Tadcaster
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We use the take-away about once a month and have to say we were disappointed by how small the fish seemed after Scott's took over. Yesterday we called in and appeared to have been given larger fish but this was an illusion as the fish was actually very thin. Unfortunately it was overcooked and parts of it were inedible as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review, I am not sure what you are experiencing, but the fish weight is exactly the same as it has been for months. The visual size may vary, as we cut to a weight. Generally this provides a thick meaty piece of fish. I can assure you the chips are fresh, we get deliveries 2... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

Our first visit today on the back from a visit to York - confused about the Scotts / Tritons but reading other reviews now understand the change of ownership. Very strange to drive into the car park from the main road, and I have to say that between the poor signage, old and worn road markings and vehicles parked on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review, Access into the car park is not the easiest, but this is due to the main access roads, the garage, McDonalds ..etc which are out of our control. We are looking at what we can do to improve that. We are only 3 months in ownerships, but determined to provide highest quality food, at... More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Our excellent Tritons is now Scotts - what a shame. The outside has been painted and looks tacky, not classy. All the dishes have increased in price but decreased in portion size - we've eaten there regularly for some time so well placed to judge this. The pensioners' meal and the regular haddock meal have each gone up by £2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hello Margaret and thanks for the review, but you are incorrect in your comments, Only maybe 3 or 4 of the 40 menu items have changed price, the rest are unchanged. The pensioners meal is exactly the same price as it was under Tritons. Fish weights have not changed. Pensioners is 4 - 5oz, regular 7 - 8 oz -... More

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

This is really close to me, and easier and (was) better than driving up Tadcaster Road, or, heaven forbid, the chippy in Copmanthorpe. However, on the first visit since the change to Scott's, I came back with soggy chips, mixed fish size, greasy (more than usual) fix, inconsistent kids orders (fish fillets - great value, battered sausage - not so).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hello Mr S and thanks for the review, Since taking over in July we have been keen to change very little. The menu choices and most prices, certainly kids meals have not changed. We are taking several months to evaluate the menu and what customers like and prefer. This is an ongoing process and I hope you try us again.... More

York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This is the nearest fish and chip shop to where I live, about a 5 minute drive. I was pleased to see that it had been rebranded as Scott's. When it was Triton's I used to avoid it and drive to Barton's chippy, 10 minutes away. Why? the food and service were poor at Triton's. However, now that it's Scott's,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review, but I wished you hadn't bothered, as most of it is inaccurate. We consider it malicious and have reported it to Trip Advisor for further investigation. You said you avoided the place previously and we are pleased you will continue to do so. We provide quality food, at great value, with great service and... More

Leeds, Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This used to be a fish and chip cafe but has been greatly refurbished recently and the menu changed. There really were NO decent eating places on the A64 - the others are all fast food and grease - but this is lovely. A good choice of menu and I had the prawn salad which was excellent - plenty of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hi Daphne, Thanks for the review. We are in fact a fish and chip cafe. So much more than just fish and chips, but our speciality is proper Yorkshire fish and chips. We took over in July as Scotts and we have another cafe, Scotts of Helmsley. Spread the word and come back soon. Regards Tony More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Having tasted the wonderful Scotts of Helmsley fish and chips ,were really pleased when we saw their sign on A64 ,at Bilborough services !! Bit of a winding road to get in ,with parked cars and lorries on the approach road being a bit of a hazard !..blaming Macdonalds for that !! A good size car park ,plenty of spaces... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JaneTony13, Owner at Triton's Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review, You now have two choices when coming to Scotts of Helmsley, visit Helmsley or call in at Bilbrough, York. I guess you could do both. A nice day out in Helmsley and supper on the way back in Bilbrough? Thanks again Regards Tony More

Travelers who viewed Triton's Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Littleborough, Rochdale
 

Been to Triton's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triton's Fish & Chips

Address: Tadcaster Rd | Tadcaster Rd, York YO23 3PP, England
Phone Number: +44 1904 700189
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
Average Prices: USD 8 - 31
Cuisine: English, British, Fish & Chips, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing