We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 716 York Restaurants

Hopgrove Toby Carvery

Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
+44 1904 424542
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #369 of 716 Restaurants in York
Price range: $9 - $19
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    69
    31
    13
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

The whole family visited on the last day of our hols we was spoken to by the main chef in a very degrading manner he was very rude indeed plates was cold food not cooked properly the sage and onion resembled soggy porridge and roast potatoes were so hard they were unedible the worst restaurant I think I have ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you left disappointed following your meal at Toby Hopgrove. We have emailed you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best experience possible More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My wife and I were a regular dinners at this pub as the service and carvery were satisfactorily. Unfortunately, we realised in our last few visit that the quality of service, food and cleanliness has dramatically deteriorated from bad to worse and most recently acquired rude staff and ignorant female manager. So we stopped going there and found far much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We’re sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit to Toby Hopgrove. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all customer feedback and we have replied to you personally about your visit. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Been here a few months ago on a day out to York and it was not too bad despite being given a remote buzzing handset and told to sit in the bar for 30 minutes. Well this visit was a shocker. Called 7pm Thursday 7th November 2014 and as usual it was "Oh there's a 10 minute delay go and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your visit to Toby in York and we have replied to you personally about this. More 

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Usual carvery fare. Adequate for this type of establishment . Attentive staff make it a pleasant experience though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear our service helps make your visits good ones. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

MAnchester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We ate here when we stayed at The Holiday Inn Express next door The food was plentiful and hot and tasted as it should,. The desserts were very good but only 2 of us saved room for them! For a family of 4 we have 4 main meals, 4 drinks and 2 deserts and it came to just under £40... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. Apologies for the issue with the ladies toilets but pleased to hear that on the whole you did enjoy your visit to us at Hopgrove Toby Carvery. More 

Félines-Minervois, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I love Toby Carvery,and the food at this one is as good as any: good choice of roast meat, plenty of nicely cooked vegetables, a veggie/gluten-free option gravy, Yorkshire puddings to die for, lovely choice of traditional puddings, helpful, friendly staff, a chef who knew and understood the content of his menu - a great formula that works superbly well.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're pleased to hear you did enjoy your visit and will return to visit us in the future. Should anything like this happen on a future visit, please ask to speak to the manager on duty who is best placed to sort out on the spot. Thanks again. More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We went sat 25 for dinner it was fairly busy as usual but soon seated and drink order taken The queue was ok and I ordered both pork and beef the veg choice was fantastic 8 in all all cooked well and hot nice roast potatoes finished things off The meat was all good and so was the veg very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

What a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us at Hopgrove and look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Visited here often when we want quick but quility food tjhe staff are freindly and effecient and the roasts are so nice just can get busy on a wkend and cue for youre food but wkdays are great

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thanks for getting in touch with your review. We're glad to hear that your visit was a good one & we hope to see you again soon. More 

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Visited this week and stood waiting for a table for 10 minutes and the place was dead, visited around 1500. Finally got seated and ate my food, flies all over around the food and then took 15 minutes to pay. Very poor service and the place needs a good clean. The place has gone down hill in the last few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're disappointed all was not up to par for you on this visit. We've emailed you to request a few more details in order that we can contact you further. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Our first visit to a Toby Carvery. For the price we were impressed with the quality of the turkey and beef. The vegetables ....good selection but some were not quite hot enough. Gravy was good. At £5.99 a head it's very good value. The ice cream deserts were lovely too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Hopgrove Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We're delighted to hear we made a good impression on your visit to us. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us your feedback. More 

Travelers who viewed Hopgrove Toby Carvery also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
Keighley, West Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Hopgrove Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopgrove Toby Carvery

Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number: +44 1904 424542
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
Open Hours:
Sunday 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 9 - 19
Cuisine: English, British, Pub, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hopgrove Toby Carvery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?