We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lucia Wine Bar & Grill

13 Swinegate, York YO1 8AJ, England
+44 1904 731599 ‎
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #35 of 678 restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    572
    229
    60
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 NEW

I had meal there last night with my family and wow it was nice! So much nicer than the chain restaurants, I was really happy that it was a proper traditional restaurant like they used to be before the chains became popular! Food was lovely, I had 2 starters because I couldn't decide and they was both lovely, steak was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 NEW

We had a lovely meal here for my 60th Birthday The Steak was brilliant and tender and the pepper sauce was very tastie. My hubby had the mushrooms to start which were lovely, I had the hummas also very nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback I'm glad you had a fab 60th birthday with us! I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your hummus, mushrooms and steak, great choices! Please come and visit us again soon! Lucia wine bar More

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 NEW

We was looking for a nice Italian and got recommended Lucia's. It's first come first served unless you're in a large group so you generally have an 30 min to a hour wait. Whilst you wait you are In a modern cocktail bar and everyone is aged 18-30 I seen some middle aged people and thought they felt out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 NEW via mobile

Food and atmosphere excellent. Only problem is they don't take bookings. Not great if you have special meal planned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we don't take bookings downstairs however we take group bookings in our lounge bar upstairs for 8 people or more Monday to Thursday for all of your special occasions , Come and see us again soon! Lucia wine bar More

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW via mobile

I have been here several times when visiting York on business and it has never failed me ! I visited this time with my wife and son who were equally as impressed . The food is great , the staff are great, sometimes they need a little warming up but the place is rammed so you know they are busy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Come again soon! Lucia wine bar More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

I couldn't wait to go to Lucias as I heard good things. I went with a group of girls hoping to eat well and experience a good atmosphere with excellent service.. what we received was poor service with bad attitude's. The wait for the table was an hour and half. We asked upstairs how long and their reply was "we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW via mobile

Classy, eloquent and stunning food only topped by the service of staff, especially the Italian lady who looked after us. An absolute gem of a restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to leave us this review, I'm happy you had a great time with us, come again soon! Lucia wine bar More

Snaith, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

Group of 7 came for food and drinks, found the food lovely but the service (mainly the women) were very rude, surely and very unhelpful. For a lovely bar and grill like this i was dissapointed as it has the possibility to be an amazing place, just communication and the lack of friendlyness spoilt it. One male who served our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I believe you are with the group below that I have also responded to, once again I would like to apologise as you did not enjoy your time with us, this isn't something we hear often so I am shocked and disappointed, I will speak to the relative department to find out what happened, I... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

I have been to this restaurant on many occasions and always had an amazing meal and service, with this in mind I told a group of my friends that we would eat here and I told them how great it is! However on this occasion (Saturday 12th April) a group of 7 girls attended the restaurant and were looked up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, firstly I would like to apologise, I am extremely disappointed to hear your experience with us wasn't up to standard. I must say if ever there is a problem please don't hesitate to speak to a member of our management team when you are here as we would have been more than happy to rectify... More

Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

After lovely cocktails upstairs in the bar we were shown to our table after about 20 minutes. The food as usual was perfect. I had seabass and it was cooked to perfection. My partner is a coeliac and they have a special menu for his needs. He enjoyed the belly pork which again was cooked to perfection. We had mussels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you June and Phil for coming to visit us every time you are this way! Pleased to hear everything was delicious and that we could cater for your dietary requirements, please come and see us again soon! Lucia wine bar More

Travelers who viewed Lucia Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lucia Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing