We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 684 York Restaurants

Lucia Wine Bar & Grill

13 Back Swinegate | York, York YO1 8AJ, England
+44 1904 731599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 684 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    266
    76
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 NEW

Had a stunning meal last night, staff fab, food fab, the lasagne was gorge, thought is was meat but was veg and it did not disappoint in any way! Our two daughters thought they were abroad and it certainly felt like that, thank you x

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for our review, the vegetarian lasagne is new to our menu so we are glad not to disappoint! we look forward to seeing you again soon! Lucia wine bar More

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 NEW

On a night to York I had read the review and decided to take my partner here for our evening meal. On reflection I wish I hadn't bothered, for the meal we had the seafood risotto and also the pork belly and chorizo, this was spoiled by the smokey sauce that covered the meal you was unable to taste the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your food, if ever you are not 100% happy with your food please don't hesitate to speak with a lovely member of our team who will be more than happy to replace this for you. We like all of our customers to leave feeling very... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 NEW

Nothing to dislike, excellent food comfortable venue good atmosphere, the staff were attentive and helpful, the wine was nice and good value, portion sizes were just right didn't feel uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, it's appreciated! Really pleased you enjoyed your time with us, come and see us again soon! Lucia wine bar More

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 NEW

Been several times now and it never fails to deliver Sat outside or in its always a great atmosphere and I always manage to drink too much Great food, great service with something for everyone - even for the fussy kids who only like burgers to the more adventurous. Prices are very reasonable to To be recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review Phil, We really appreciate valued customers leaving these lovely comments. We are pleased to hear yet again you enjoyed yourself. We try to cater for everyone and are glad you can see that. We hope to see you very soon. Lucia Wine Bar More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We went to the restaurant after reading reviews , we booked and arrived just before the rush. we sat outside on the terrace even though it was a bit nippy but there was out door heaters. Food and service was excellent we had 4 adults and 1 child in the party . We all enjoyed our meals and the waitress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Julie, always excellent of hear of a great experience with us! We look forward to your next visit! Lucia wine bar More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Firstly we have been here before and absolutely loved everything about our visit but this time was awful we were told it would be an hour and a half wait to be seated we said this was fine, what was not fine was that we waited 2 hours and still weren't seated, there were other couples and groups waiting that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, sorry to hear you were waiting longer than expected. during very busy periods we try our best to give you an approximate waiting time however, this is only an estimate. We are always trying our best to have you seated as fast as possible without rushing anyone but due to unforeseen circumstances sometimes this may... More

Driffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Had a meal here last night with some friends and had a really nice time. Sat outside under the canopy with heat lamps and blankets! (Although we didn't need the blankets). Food was delicious, couldn't fault it. Service was very good, staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review john, it's very much appreciated. Always great to hear of a fantastic experience! Why look forward to your next visit! Lucia wine bar More

Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We spent a day in York today and had a lovely lunch at Lucia's Wine Bar and Grill, the food was lovely; piping hot; served quickly and with a smile. They were very attentive without being over the top, friendly and all in all we had an enjoyable meal with a nice glass of wine. There was plenty of choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you June for your review, we really appreciate it! we look forward to seeing you when you are next in york :) Lucia wine bar More

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

very busy, noisy Italian restaurant with great atmosphere, food and service. Great value for money and friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, very pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Come and see us again soon! lucia wine bar More

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Having been to York a number of times and to Lucia 3 times over the years with our friends, we decided to go along again, but we wished we had not bothered ! After waiting for over 40 minutes for our meal, one of our party went to find out what was happening. Apparently a change over of staff had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are very disappointed to hear you didn't not enjoy your experience with us which we are very sorry for.Here at Lucia's we always try our best to work on a 100% customer satisfaction basis. Your comments have been passed to the relevant department and will be dealt with accordingly. Our menu has been altered... More

Travelers who viewed Lucia Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lucia Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing