We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lucia Wine Bar & Grill

13 Back Swinegate | York, York YO1 8AJ, England
1904 731599 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 673 restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    641
    247
    66
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

Came here for dinner and drinks with the girls and we left happy. We shared a few little starters which were really tasty including the calamari and everyone's main course went down well. I had the seafood pasta and asked for no: very little chilli which it came covered it. I picked around it which was fine if not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

My boyfriend and I came here on our first trip to York, overall the restaurant is average. We had tapas for starters, none of which were impressive. I was especially disappointed with these, the mozzarella and tomato crostini was bland and the hot and spicy chicken was just plain! My boyfriend had a mojito which was the most awful cocktail,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW via mobile

We visited for my mums birthday and we have been many times before. The last two times we have been I gave found the waitresses to be quite nonchalant . The food took around 50 mins to arrive(2x salads and 1x kids meal). The meal was just ok and we decided to have a coffee and an ice cram for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

Like shaun1811 we have been to Lucia's a number of times before & had a great experience, tonight was like a completely different place.... 1) Wine ordered was wrong on 3 separate occasions - had to go to the fridge & get it myself. There is only 1 NZ Sauvignon Blanc on the menu, how hard can it be ?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW via mobile

We were hoping for great things. It took ages for our order to be taken and to receive our drinks. The starters were good. Unfortunately my main, a prawn pasta dish tasted largely of salt. It was sent back however the new one was no better. By this time my husband had eaten his. I ended up not eating mine.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We always want our guests expectations to be met and we are truly sorry that your experience didn't live up to your expectations this time. We glad you enjoyed your starter, however we are disappointed that your main wasn't to your liking and we can only apologise for this. We... More

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

Visited Lucias 16/7/2014. Have been on numerous occasions before and always had an enjoyable experience. Unfortunately on this occasion the service and the table location was poor. I ordered a mixed seafood linguine. To be fair it did have two mussels, sorry two shells and one mussel. The pasta was overcooked. The wine was appalling. And the waiter seemed more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for alerting us to this. It is very disappointing to hear a comment like this, especially from a regular. We pride ourself on our lovely location and our friendly and consistent service and will investigate the concerns you have raised. We hope this has not put you off visiting again. If you do not enjoy the location of... More

Loango National Park, Gabon
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Noisy, cramped and with Italian pretentions you can sit outside but you do not really feel that you dining al fresco, I had to go over the menu several times until I found something worth eating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear you felt cramped, we try our best to make everybody feel as comfortable as possible in our small, but busy restaurant. We can only apologise for the fact that you didn't find anything to your taste on the menu. We do offer a wide range of different meals and we... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Went for a quick bite and had a pasta dish which was delicious and hubby had a steak sandwich which he loved. Would definitely go again when in York.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, pleased to hear you enjoyed your steak sandwich and pasta, we are very passionate about our menu! Come and visit us again! More

York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Visit Lucia often for cocktails (big fan of their 5-7pm £3 cocktails) and decided to eat here too after sampling an amazing buffet they put on for a party. I had the steak and my partner had a crayfish and chorizo risotto - we definitely weren't disappointed; it was delicious. Some really great value items on the menu, really enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, our 5-7pm cocktail offer seems to be very popular! The steak and the risotto Lucia are two of my many favourite dishes hear at Lucia's! We will always try our best to look after you! Come back and see us again! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If your visiting York? Feeling hungry? Then you will make have a visit to Lucia's. Superb food, lovely atmosphere, Lucia's is my 1st choice when I am in York.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it's always excellent to hear we are your number 1 choice! We will try our best to keep it that way! Come back soon! More

Travelers who viewed Lucia Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire

Been to Lucia Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing