We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greenhouse

42-46 Bethel St. | Norwich, Norwich NR2 1NR, England
01603-631 007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #315 of 639 restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, Organic
Most recent review
- Jul 4, 2014
Restaurant details
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    4
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Been here a few times for lunch . Food excellent, fresh tasty salad and breads. Always seems quiet- deserves more custom. Oh yes, a phone-free zone, and interesting good quality pre-owned books/CDs for sale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have lunch regularly at the Greenhouse and am continually impressed by the yummy food. The salads change regularly and are invariably tasty, as are the soups. At busy times, the service can be a bit slow but the staff are always friendly and helpful, and often give an indication of how long it will take for the food to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely to find such a quiet oasis in the center of a thriving city. The courtyard garden is a hidden gem on a summer's day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've been going to the greenhouse for years - the food is generally very good but the staff need some serious training. Bearing in mind it is a charity I don't think that's any excuse for the rude and lackadaisical staff. Unpaid or not!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenhouse_Norwich, Manager at The Greenhouse, responded to this review

The Greenhouse is staffed by volunteers, they are as diverse as any team of people can be, it is true that the service experience can be varied. It may not be a polished service, but it is not a rude service. We view the genuine interaction as a good thing and most customers are supportive of, and enjoy the interaction... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Love the food here, right up my street, wholesome, fresh and tasty, if........they don't run out of everything !!! Last few times been here at no later than 1.30 they had run out of many items including hummous and salad !!! Very frustrating, they seems to be loads of staff , can't one of them run out to shops and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greenhouse_Norwich, Manager at The Greenhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for all the good feedback. We certainly do want the Greenhouse to be a oasis of calm in a busy city, and yes we do often run out of food at lunchtime, although more often by 2.30pm. The staff are in fact volunteers and so they can't just pop out for more food. Party because we run on a... More

Diss, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

On the back of other TA reviews, we ventured off the beaton track of Norwich to find this small veggie, community based cafe / restaurant. We wished we hadn't !! The place was empty - which summed up the rest of the experience.. There was no welcome by anyone and after a good 10 mins of not a staff member... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenhouse_Norwich, Manager at The Greenhouse, responded to this review

This is just plain mean. Note that the reviewer has not given a single venue any positive feedback This person came at the end of the day. If the food was cold or not what was expected, we'd prefer to be told, we can and will respond positively. Thanks More

Halesworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This place reminds me of the veggie eateries of my youth. Solid dependable food, not a terrific range on any one day but most of it is good. Lots of interesting literature to read and/or buy and small wholeness shop is part of the business.A peaceful place to relax away from the rush of the city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Visited on Saturday lunchtime with two elderly friends. The place was nowhere near full, which was a bit of a surprise, and we were able to sit in the courtyard at the back, which is lovely. I had hummus with salad, my friends had soup with a choice of bread. All were very generous portions and very good; the menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I've been here a couple of times, last went on a saturday lunchtime. There weren't many other people, and we ordered and paid for our food and sat outside. We waited... and waited, and noticed that other people who had come after us seemed to be getting their food. After 40 minutes i went to enquire as to when our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

They do a good job here. Cosy place, good service and value for money. What else to say?

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing