We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ma Goa

#1,058 of 18,027 Restaurants in London
#1,090 of 19,547 Places to Eat in London
Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
242-244 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 6TG, England
Tube: East Putney, Bus Nos. 337,430 Putney Bridge
+44 20 8780 1767
Website
Improve this listing
Today
6:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:45 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Thu 6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Fri - Sat 6:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Good for: Families with children
Description: At Ma Goa Restaurant, my Mother and her team prepare their favourite dishes...
At Ma Goa Restaurant, my Mother and her team prepare their favourite dishes using family recipes passed downthe generations. Our menu takes inspiration from the beautiful palm fringed region of Goa (where my Ma learnt to cook) but also takes influences from other parts of India.Since its opening in 1993, we have won critical acclaim from many top critics & we take pride in the fact that we are a genuine family-run restaurant. Our mission has always been to serve tasty, fresh, unpretentious home-style cooking in a warm & friendly setting. Our wine list includes over 50 delicious Portuguese wines. Situated 2 minutes away from Putney British Rail & 5 minutes away from East Putney Tube it makes a perfect venue before a night on the town. We also offer a popular take-away & free local delivery service & a party catering service. We look forward to welcoming you to Ma Goa soon.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 292 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 193
    Excellent
  • 65
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
A great find

My girlfriend and I were a walk-in on a busy Saturday evening and the front of house staff were able to find us a seat very quickly without any fuss. A great varied menu and we liked the history of the place; with their mother still cooking in the kitchen. I tried one of the family dishes and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 5 days ago
Jonny C
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My girlfriend and I were a walk-in on a busy Saturday evening and the front of house staff were able to find us a seat very quickly without any fuss. A great varied menu and we liked the history of the place; with their mother still cooking in the kitchen. I tried one of the family dishes and it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonny C
MaGoa, Owner at Ma Goa, responded to this review

Dear Jonny C, Thanks for the taking the time to review our restaurant on Trip Advisor. We have shared your review with the team and they all were very happy you enjoyed the experience. Feedback like this genuinely makes our day! Kind regards, Deepak More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having just had a takeaway from this place, I have to agree with travellersca's review below. The food is disgusting, simply put. I'm Indian, and know Goan food. This is neither. Poorly cooked, the wrong spices, horrid tasting tripe. Call it patronising, but I am seriously astonished to see the glowing reviews this place has received - we fell for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travellingflan
MaGoa, Owner at Ma Goa, responded to this review

Dear Travellingflan,Thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor - without feedback we cannot improve. The team were all very disappointed we let you down with your takeaway order. We are a family run establishment which has been trading for the past 23 years. We are still extremely passionate about our business & any negative review is taken very... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to dine here a few times as I live in Putney. The food is delicious, service good and dining area pleasant. I would not rate it five star as I think the takeaway service is not so good. It is quite pricey and the main courses somewhat lacking in content, i.e. more sauce than meat etc. Nonetheless... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate47a
MaGoa, Owner at Ma Goa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Kind regards, Deepak More 

London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

Had dinner with two friends last week. The food is nice and full of flavour. I just found te starter selection a bit limited with very similar dishes. Good choice of curries, although I would like to see more seafood and fish. Most of the curries had an option with chicken, lamb or even pork. It would be nice to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michaela S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

We had a family gathering one evening at Ma Goa a couple of weeks ago and were all very impressed. I had not eaten here for a few years, although we liked it last time we came but t it is now even better! Sophisticated flavours, beautifully presented food and very attentive staff. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Juliettepc
MaGoa, General Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are thrilled to read you think we have improved which is always our aim! We continue to be a work in progress & we look forward your next visit to us. Deepak & team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

We were excited when we saw the high rating for this restaurant and the fact that we love Goan food. But....let me highlight the main points from our night: 1. This restaurant doesn't come anywhere close to Indian or Goan food. The food is not edible. We ordered Konkan chicken curry and Pork Vindaloo and couldn't eat anything. The curries... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travellersca2015
MaGoa, Owner at Ma Goa, responded to this review

Dear travellersca2015, Thank you for your review. Without constructive criticism our restaurant would not be able survive in today's competitive market. We appreciate the time you spent on your review & take all complaints extremely seriously. We do however feel that you have been a little harsh in some of the points you have raised. We have been trading for... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

I have been to Ma Goa a few times and every time I leave, I think "that is such an amazing place, why do I not go there more often?" Friendly, charming staff; delicious food; good portion sizes; relaxed ambience; value for money. Need I say more?!

Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
MaGoa, Owner at Ma Goa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! Deepak & team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

We had a great meal here. Hearty, tasty goan food with good service wrapped around it. Not somewhere to eat every day but as somewhere we stumbled on, a real gem.

Helpful?
Thank Chris-and-Tamara
MaGoa, Guest Relations Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this review

We genuinely appreciate your kind compliments which keep the team motivated to do their best for our customers.- Kind regards The Ma Goa Team More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

I have walked by several times thinking that this looked like a nice place to eat some Goa food. Finally took the plunge and came out somewhat disappointed. Decor is minimal, especially in the front "room" (i.e. corridor) but this is not a big issue. The menu offers a good selection without being overwhelming. We went for a combination of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger J
MaGoa, Owner at Ma Goa, responded to this review

We are very sorry that we let you down on your visit to our restaurant. We take all feed back extremely seriously & as we are a work in progress we always try to improve. Each of our dishes are cooked individually & we do not have any base cooking sauces. Every dish has its own individual spicing however we... More 

Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

They say 10 percent of the UK eats Indian every evening. Yet, in cities like London, it's hard to find an Indian restaurant that isn't serving you warmed-over meals from days ago, and a thick layer of heart-clogging oil sitting on top. If you want authentic Indian food and don't want to go to an expensive place like say Vineet... More 

Helpful?
Thank P B

Travelers who viewed Ma Goa also viewed

 
 

Been to Ma Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 242-244 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 6TG, England
  • Public Transportation: Tube: East Putney, Bus Nos. 337,430 Putney Bridge
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8780 1767

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 29 - 51
  • Cuisine: Indian, Asian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Home Style
  • Good for: Families with children

Description

At Ma Goa Restaurant, my Mother and her team prepare their favourite dishes using family recipes passed downthe generations. Our menu takes inspiration from the beautiful palm fringed region of Goa (where my Ma learnt to cook) but also takes influences from other parts of India.Since its opening in 1993, we have won critical acclaim from many top critics & we take pride in the fact that we are a genuine family-run restaurant. Our mission has always been to serve tasty, fresh, unpretentious home-style cooking in a warm & friendly setting. Our wine list includes over 50 delicious Portuguese wines. Situated 2 minutes away from Putney British Rail & 5 minutes away from East Putney Tube it makes a perfect venue before a night on the town. We also offer a popular take-away & free local delivery service & a party catering service. We look forward to welcoming you to Ma Goa soon.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:45 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
6:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 10:45 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ma Goa and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Woking, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ma Goa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?