We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skylon

Southbank Centre, | Belvedere Road, Royal Festival Hall, London SE1 8XX, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)
+44 (0)20 7654 7800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,301 of 17,143 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Description: Situated on the third floor of the Royal Festival Hall, perfect for visitors to Southbank, Skylon combines retro style with unbeatable views of the London skyline from triple-height picture windows to create a stunning dining complex. Situated by the central cocktail bar, the informal Skylon Grill restaurant offers light a la carte meals in a casual ambience. Executive Chef, Adam Gray describes his food as modern British – simple, honest and with a sometimes unusual twist on classic dishes. Renowned for its extensive wine list, the Skylon Bar also stands out for its quality cocktails and stunning view of the Southbank. A destination in its own right, Skylon Bar alone attracts many culture vultures who share the company of magazine editors and members of Parliament.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    314
    344
    161
    74
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW via mobile

Wonderful, professional service; combined with excellent food and stunning architecture. How refreshing to go for a relaxing lunch and to experience perfectly balanced service and great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

If you are looking for a quiet place to eat, don't go here in the evening. Having said that, the food was excellent, just couldn't really talk to my wife who was sitting next to me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

Ate here with Evening Standard offer - excellent value, good food and great location with great views.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

Had a pleasant drink in the skylon bar before our dinner. The atmosphere was good and the wine great. We had our dinner table over looking south bank shows which was very entertaining. I ordered beet root and goats cheese for entree and was so looking forward to this as goats cheese is my favourite. How disappointing. The beet root... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear Tina, I would like to thank you for your earlier visit and passionate feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed both service and main courses and obviously frustrated that not enough goat cheese in your salad left such a bitter taste to the whole experience. We did have request in the past for extra crumbled ticklemore goat cheese or... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW via mobile

My lovely girlfriend brought me here for my 30th birthday, after we had been on the London Eye nearby. It was a surprise and I'd not heard of the place before. However, it was absolutely superb - on reflection, probably the best meal I have had. The menu is one of those where I could have had everything. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

Went to Skylon for the evening standard two courses for £20 offer. Whilst it was a nice space, we were sat so far from the Windows we never had chance to appreciate the view of the trees!! Yes whilst being close to the thames, there are so many trees outside that there really is no view. If you are indeed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear Kakadu1412, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our grill. I must admit that at first I thought it was a biased report as one of our bar competitor comes out superbly in your assesment of the grill at Skylon. Neverheless, we will take the time as well to respond point... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW

We ate in the grill part and didn't have the best experience. While the food was tasty and good portion sizes the staff needed some training. We waited a while to be deemed worthy to be given menus, then my husband ordered a drink. I paused for a moment and the waitress was off! When she eventually returned I ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear Zoe025, Many thanks for your recent visit and subsequent feedback. I cannot appologize enough for making you and you guest feel unwelcome in our grill. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and seeing that we failed on the basics of the welcoming is simply heart breaking. Please do get in touch directly on samb@danddlondon.com, and I will make sure... More

Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Went there on a Wednesday evening straight after work very busy & buzzy, excellent service, superb food, good choice of wine, if I had to be picky the chair was a tad low for someone of 6ft plus, but that's being picky, brilliant cocktails first of all, excellent steak, starter & of course the view over the Thames & the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I've been to Skylon once before and ate at the grill rather than the restaurant due to the latter being closed. I wasn't sure what to think of my last visit as it had changed a lot from the era of the People's Palace restaurant, a place I had fond memories of as it had both consistently good food and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Dinner got off to a good start. I booked online, requesting a table for four by the window. On arrival, we were allocated a lovely table for four - by the window. A simple thing? Perhaps. So why can't other places - many of them allegedly much 'smarter' than Skylon - manage such requests as efficiently? The place was full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Skylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skylon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing