We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17,541 London Restaurants

Mala Restaurant

2 Marble Quay, St Katharine, London E1W 1UH, England
+44 (0)20 7480 6356
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #2,597 of 17,541 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $87
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: (NEAREST TUBE:TOWER HILL:DISTRICT & CIRCLE LINE) (C2C: Fenchurch Street) (DLR:Tower Gateway) (Bus 15,78)
Description: Situated in the heart of one of London's treasured hidden gems & finest tourist destination "St Katherine Docks Marina". Serves traditional & contemporary Indian cuisine from North & South India, from Curries to Tandoori clay oven baked delights. including a delicious variaty of seafood dishes within our menu. And also a generous array of fine wines from all over the globe to compliment the diverse flavours of our cuisne. With a seating capasity of 200, the ambience of our restaurant is welcoming and relaxing, surrounded with antiques, paintings & murials from historic palaces around India which gives you the atmospheric feeling that you are actually there. And adding to the ambience, the impressive and beautiful view of St Katherine Docks marina can be seen from any where in the restaurant.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    105
    34
    15
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014 NEW

We heard so much about this restaurant and decided to go on a Sunday. When we got there it was very busy and it was lunch time and I could see the staff were totally unable to cope. Everything took ages to happen with too few waiters serving too many diners. Main course was cold when it did eventually arrive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 NEW

Read some reviews before and to be honest they weren't the best. Give it a go we thought. The setting is good. Restaurant seemed clean and tidy. The main part - the food was good. The not so good - staff could have been better ie trained and service. Biggest issue check the bill , detail wrong and cheeky buggers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vinnie_Sandhu, Owner at Mala Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mr Neil Thank you for dining at Mala Restaurant, and for your review on your experience. I just like to say that the 12.5% service charge is "optional" which is stated in all our menus and also on your final bill clearly. So you are not obliged to play this. Service charge is common in most restaurants in and... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

My friend and I stumbled upon Mala while we were looking for a place for dinner around St Katherine's Docks. The food was delicious however the restaurant lacked any form of atmosphere. I think this is because it is a large space and there were only a few people dining in the restaurant. We also ordered wine which the waitress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Walking to the restaurant was enjoyable; Ste. Katharines' docks are quite beautiful. The restaurant is just by the docks, so I was expecting a real treat. On entering the restaurant, disappointment immediately set in; although the view from the restaurant is beautiful, the restaurant itself is unenchanting. If they were to invest in nice lighting, it would probably make a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vinnie_Sandhu, Owner at Mala Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your review and dining at Mala Restaurant, St Katharine's Dock. Firstly i apologise for the delay in service. Your food when ordered is always freshly cooked to order and when very busy with reservations mainly, there can be delay in service and your server should have advised you on the delay. However on your next... More

brighton, england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

My daughter and I were in London for an overnight stay. Our hotel was overlooking St Katherine’s Quay so Mala was just a short walk. Although it was a Sunday night and we hadn’t booked, we did not have to wait too long for a table in this very busy restaurant. The service was quick but without us feeling hurried.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Using Tripadvisor, we located Mala for an evening of Indian food in London as business travellers. We were not disappointed! The fresh tandoori chicken salad with citrus will remain a highlight for me - divine! I had a perfect "medium to hot" lamb rogan josh. My colleague had the battered cod, also lovely. The naan bread was more moist than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

Can't believe I've never been here before the best place I have been for Indian food to date. I will definitely be going back there and even taking my friends and family. The staff are polite, the food is amazing and the atmosphere is great. If you haven't been to the Mala you are missing out!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

Never been here before so thought I would give it a try and I wasn't let down. The mixed selection of curries was absolutely stunning, so much flavour and with a delightful pint of Cobra you cannot argue. Will definitly be booking up again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

After a visit to see the poppies at the Tower of London, we stumbled across this excellent restaurant. The food was very tasty & reasonably priced, the service is very friendly & happy to tend to your needs. Being set amongst St Katherines dock, there are plenty of window seats to watch the coming & goings of other tired travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We booked a table for 2 on Sat night, unfortunately they reserved a table next to multiple tables groups on the upper deck. Too noisy... We picked two Thalis non veg and seafood, the butter chicken was really good, the rest average. I was expecting less yogurt and more mango in the lassi.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Mala Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mala Restaurant

Address: 2 Marble Quay, St Katharine, London E1W 1UH, England
Phone Number: +44 (0)20 7480 6356
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
Average Prices: USD 31 - 87
Cuisine: Indian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing