We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17,929 London Restaurants

The Rose Lounge

Sofitel St James | 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Clapham / Battersea )
+44 (0)20 7747 2200
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #4,135 of 17,929 Restaurants in London
Price range: $39 - $55
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Fri 4:30 pm - 12:30 am
Sat 12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Cuisines: Continental, Pub
Neighborhood:
St. James's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

My friend booked afternoon tea at this hotel not knowing what to expect as we hadn't really heard of The Rose Lounge before. Well what a lovely hotel, from the moment we walked in with the gentleman from concierge taking my holdall to the lovely young polish lad who looked after us while we had tea. It's definitely a hidden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

As the title suggests this is my third visit in the last 4 years and each time i have been here the service and afternoon tea has been very good. I have been to the top places in London but for me Rose Lounge feels more relaxed and very good quality food. Service is important too and for me the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I thank you for your loyalty to The Rose Lounge in Sofitel London St James. This means a lot for us. I also thank you for pointing out our consistency in delivering high standards of service as this is our aim. We look forward to welcoming you back over the next years. A bientôt. Nicolas Pesty General Manager... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Treated to high tea at the Rose Lounge on 10 October for my birthday. Lovely freshly made sandwiches, nice warm scones, great cakes, great friendly service. My host had recently had tea at the Savoy and said the Sofitel was far superior.

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all: CONGRATULATIONS on your birthday! Best wishes of happiness to you! Thank you very much for your words of praise regarding our Afternoon Tea served in The Rose Lounge. I am truly pleased to hear that yourself and your friend were impressed by the high quality of food served to you. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

A friend recommended this afternoon tea due to the free refills of sandwiches and scones. Unfortunately this was not the case. Minus one star. You have to stand up and choose your selection of french pastries. Minus one star. Overall, service correct, still hungry at the end. Harpist plays well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I take good note of your comment however we are generally told that the quantity of items served during our Afternoon Teas are really fulfilling. Thank you again for your lines and I look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

My mum and two sisters came from France to visit me in London for a couple of days last week. As a treat, I wanted to take them Sofitel to have afternoon tea.I'd heard so many great things about the Rose Lounge and so naturally, I decided to take them here. As a struggling freelancer who can barely make ends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have felt let down with the quantity of food served to you however I am afraid we never acknowledged to you that 2 Afternoon Teas were enough for 4 people. Again thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We came here to celebrate my father's 70th birthday and were very pleased with the quality of food and the service provided. The scones were very fresh and tasty and the small cakes after were lovely too, just make sure you leave enough room for them! The harpist in the corner was very good and very thoughtfully she played 'happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, First and foremost: CONGRATULATIONS to your father for his 70th birthday! Thank you for letting us know about your lovely experience in the Rose Lounge and the very tasty Afternoon Tea you have had. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention on many other occasions. A bientôt. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'd been to The Rose Lounge previously a few years ago and loved it so it was my first choice when my parents came to visit and I wanted to treat Mum for Mother's Day, but what a disappointment it's become. I had previously contacted to find out the price for children under 3 yrs old and was told there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am truly sorry and extremely surprised to hear about your poor Afternoon Tea experience. Surprised I am because we never had this kind of feedback. As a matter of fact our sandwiches are heavily filled between soft crust free slices of bread. Our scones are freshly baked and served warm accompanied by delicious homemade clotted cream, lemon... More 

Hockley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

So this was a lovely experience and the food was wonderful- BUT I am a bit of a seasoned expert on afternoon tea and for the eventual cost I would not have been happier with anything less. Of concern we were on the other side of the room to the harpist and struggled to hear ourselves talk at times- not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have had an overall enjoyable experience over your Afternoon Tea. I look forward to welcoming you back. Au revoir. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a lovely time in the Rose lounge for a friends birthday high tea, but it was a bit disappointing in the end. The tea's, sandwiches & scones were lovely and we opted for the champagne cocktail option which was delicious. But the sweet pastry's (besides 2 tasty macaroons between 9 of us) which we all just sampled and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guests, I thank you for your e-mail. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your fine Afternoon Tea. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Au revoir. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I took my 2 sisters (one over on holiday from Canada) to the Rose Lounge for our first 'traditional' afternoon tea. Unfortunately after this experience I think it will probably also be our last. The Rose Lounge is very pretty and a lovely place to spend a couple of hours, the harpist adding to the relaxed atmosphere. All was going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am extremely surprised by the content of your message as we serve our sandwiches with a heavy filling within crust free soft bread. Our fluffy scones are freshly baked on a daily basis and served warm with homemade clotted cream, lemon curd and rose scented strawberry jam. WIth my best regards.... More 

Travelers who viewed The Rose Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Rose Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Lounge

Address: Sofitel St James | 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number: +44 (0)20 7747 2200
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Clapham / Battersea 
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday 4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday 4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday 4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday 4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday 4:30 pm - 12:30 am
Saturday 12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Average Prices: USD 39 - 55
Cuisine: Continental, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rose Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?