We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rose Lounge

$$$$
Neighborhood:
St. James's
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Sofitel St James | 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
+44 (0)20 7747 2200
Website
Today
4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Fri 4:30 pm - 12:30 am
Sat 12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Dining options: Reservations
Good for:
Bar scene

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 46 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 27
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Heaven in a rosegarden

We treated ourselves to an afternoon tea at the Sofitel. What a joy! The Rose lounge is the perfect setting. The Quality of the sandwiches, scones and pastry were only surpassed by the impeccable and warm attendance of Valentina who waited on is during the afternoon. She made our stay an... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 24, 2015
Lauriertje
,
Antwerpen
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We treated ourselves to an afternoon tea at the Sofitel. What a joy! The Rose lounge is the perfect setting. The Quality of the sandwiches, scones and pastry were only surpassed by the impeccable and warm attendance of Valentina who waited on is during the afternoon. She made our stay an unforgettable one and we look forward to our next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. I was delighted to hear that you have loved both the food served to you and the service provided to you all throughout your experience. We genuinely love to pamper our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim. We look forward to many other... More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The Rose Lounge is one of our favourite places for afternoon tea in London as it such an intimate space and we think it has the best pastries too. Everything pretty much lived up to our previous visits and even though we arrived a little early for our reservation, we still managed to get seated (you really do need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your positive feedback. I am happy to hear that you have very much enjoyed the food served to you during your Afternoon Tea as well as the atmosphere we have created around it. On the other hand I apologize for the waiting time you have been through for your pastries. Please rest assured that... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

My friend booked afternoon tea at this hotel not knowing what to expect as we hadn't really heard of The Rose Lounge before. Well what a lovely hotel, from the moment we walked in with the gentleman from concierge taking my holdall to the lovely young polish lad who looked after us while we had tea. It's definitely a hidden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! I thank you for your words of praise regarding the delicate, tasty food served to you and our level of service. Obviously we love to pamper our guests. Thank you for recommending The Rose Lounge to your entourage and we look forward to welcoming you back. A bientôt. Nicolas Pesty... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

As the title suggests this is my third visit in the last 4 years and each time i have been here the service and afternoon tea has been very good. I have been to the top places in London but for me Rose Lounge feels more relaxed and very good quality food. Service is important too and for me the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I thank you for your loyalty to The Rose Lounge in Sofitel London St James. This means a lot for us. I also thank you for pointing out our consistency in delivering high standards of service as this is our aim. We look forward to welcoming you back over the next years. A bientôt. Nicolas Pesty General Manager... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Treated to high tea at the Rose Lounge on 10 October for my birthday. Lovely freshly made sandwiches, nice warm scones, great cakes, great friendly service. My host had recently had tea at the Savoy and said the Sofitel was far superior.

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all: CONGRATULATIONS on your birthday! Best wishes of happiness to you! Thank you very much for your words of praise regarding our Afternoon Tea served in The Rose Lounge. I am truly pleased to hear that yourself and your friend were impressed by the high quality of food served to you. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

A friend recommended this afternoon tea due to the free refills of sandwiches and scones. Unfortunately this was not the case. Minus one star. You have to stand up and choose your selection of french pastries. Minus one star. Overall, service correct, still hungry at the end. Harpist plays well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I take good note of your comment however we are generally told that the quantity of items served during our Afternoon Teas are really fulfilling. Thank you again for your lines and I look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

My mum and two sisters came from France to visit me in London for a couple of days last week. As a treat, I wanted to take them Sofitel to have afternoon tea.I'd heard so many great things about the Rose Lounge and so naturally, I decided to take them here. As a struggling freelancer who can barely make ends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have felt let down with the quantity of food served to you however I am afraid we never acknowledged to you that 2 Afternoon Teas were enough for 4 people. Again thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We came here to celebrate my father's 70th birthday and were very pleased with the quality of food and the service provided. The scones were very fresh and tasty and the small cakes after were lovely too, just make sure you leave enough room for them! The harpist in the corner was very good and very thoughtfully she played 'happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, First and foremost: CONGRATULATIONS to your father for his 70th birthday! Thank you for letting us know about your lovely experience in the Rose Lounge and the very tasty Afternoon Tea you have had. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention on many other occasions. A bientôt. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'd been to The Rose Lounge previously a few years ago and loved it so it was my first choice when my parents came to visit and I wanted to treat Mum for Mother's Day, but what a disappointment it's become. I had previously contacted to find out the price for children under 3 yrs old and was told there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am truly sorry and extremely surprised to hear about your poor Afternoon Tea experience. Surprised I am because we never had this kind of feedback. As a matter of fact our sandwiches are heavily filled between soft crust free slices of bread. Our scones are freshly baked and served warm accompanied by delicious homemade clotted cream, lemon... More 

Hockley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

So this was a lovely experience and the food was wonderful- BUT I am a bit of a seasoned expert on afternoon tea and for the eventual cost I would not have been happier with anything less. Of concern we were on the other side of the room to the harpist and struggled to hear ourselves talk at times- not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have had an overall enjoyable experience over your Afternoon Tea. I look forward to welcoming you back. Au revoir. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

Travelers who viewed The Rose Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Rose Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Sofitel St James | 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > St. James's
  • Neighborhood: St. James's
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)20 7747 2200

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 39 - 54
  • Cuisine: Continental, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
4:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
4:30 pm - 12:30 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:30 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rose Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Things to do Nearby

Neighborhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighborhood