We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rose Lounge

Sofitel St James | 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Clapham / Battersea )
+44 (0)20 7747 2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,826 of 17,209 Restaurants in London
Reserve with OpenTable
The Rose Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $41 - $57
Hours:
Tue - Sun 2:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Cuisines: Continental, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Clapham / Battersea 
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'd been to The Rose Lounge previously a few years ago and loved it so it was my first choice when my parents came to visit and I wanted to treat Mum for Mother's Day, but what a disappointment it's become. I had previously contacted to find out the price for children under 3 yrs old and was told there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am truly sorry and extremely surprised to hear about your poor Afternoon Tea experience. Surprised I am because we never had this kind of feedback. As a matter of fact our sandwiches are heavily filled between soft crust free slices of bread. Our scones are freshly baked and served warm accompanied by delicious homemade clotted cream, lemon... More

Hockley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

So this was a lovely experience and the food was wonderful- BUT I am a bit of a seasoned expert on afternoon tea and for the eventual cost I would not have been happier with anything less. Of concern we were on the other side of the room to the harpist and struggled to hear ourselves talk at times- not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have had an overall enjoyable experience over your Afternoon Tea. I look forward to welcoming you back. Au revoir. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a lovely time in the Rose lounge for a friends birthday high tea, but it was a bit disappointing in the end. The tea's, sandwiches & scones were lovely and we opted for the champagne cocktail option which was delicious. But the sweet pastry's (besides 2 tasty macaroons between 9 of us) which we all just sampled and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guests, I thank you for your e-mail. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your fine Afternoon Tea. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Au revoir. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I took my 2 sisters (one over on holiday from Canada) to the Rose Lounge for our first 'traditional' afternoon tea. Unfortunately after this experience I think it will probably also be our last. The Rose Lounge is very pretty and a lovely place to spend a couple of hours, the harpist adding to the relaxed atmosphere. All was going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am extremely surprised by the content of your message as we serve our sandwiches with a heavy filling within crust free soft bread. Our fluffy scones are freshly baked on a daily basis and served warm with homemade clotted cream, lemon curd and rose scented strawberry jam. WIth my best regards.... More

Halstead, Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The waiter who was half Spanish & help Polish was very attentative. Food was good. The surroundings were classically English like sitting in someone's sitting room :).

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your experience over your Afternoon Tea. We look forward to welcoming you back. Au revoir. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A wonderful time in the rose lounge....The service was impeccable. ..The food was divine the sandwiches and scones were replenished as often as we wanted. The French pastries were divine...A wonderful experience hidden in central London. ... All should try and get there...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear sir, I thank you for this wonderful feedback. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much our delicate, refined pastries and sandwiches. We look forward to many other visits of yours. Au revoir. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me and five friends went to the Balcon in the Sofitel Hotel for afternoon Tea. I must say this is one of the best afternoon tea's I have been to due to the lovely food and excellent service. Our waiter Anthony made our afternoon, he was very friendly and went over and above to make our afternoon special. Would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Afternoon yea today was splendid! Myself and my 4 year old daughter throughly enjoyed ourselves. The tea was great, delicious sandwiches and three different kinds of scones! You also get to choose your own cakes! My daughter loved that bit! We also had the best ever waiter! He made our day! I will defiantly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. I am happy to hear that yourself and your daughter have thoroughly enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience. We look forward to welcoming you both back. Au revoir. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More

Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been here three times, both as part of a couple and with friends. The hotel is extremely central, close to Piccadilly and Pall Mall, thus perfect for a shopping break or a romantic break. Staff is efficient, discreet and pleasant, tea selection is wide, and the lounge itself is a sight for sore eyes, with warm colours and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for such positive a feedback both on Sofitel London St James and on The Rose Lounge. Thank you for pointing out the delicious and refined pastries served to you during your Afternoon Tea. We look forward to welcoming you back. Au revoir, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More

Amersham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

A lovely room and attentive service for afternoon tea. My daughter and I were seated by the fireplace filled with candles. It looked cosy and comfortable. My only grouse would be that the armchairs were really deep and faraway from the table which made talking a little harder than it might have been. The harpist was excellent, playing a mixture... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Rose Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Rose Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing