We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vista at the Trafalgar

#6,597 of 17,142 Restaurants in London
#7,069 of 18,020 Places to Eat in London
$$$$
Neighborhood:
St. James's
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Hotel, London SW1A 2TS , England
+44 20 7870 2900
Website
This restaurant is at The Trafalgar Hotel
Add hours for Vista at the Trafalgar and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Exceptional in style, iconic by nature – taking London to all new highs...
Exceptional in style, iconic by nature – taking London to all new highs. Vista at the trafalgar is a rooftop bar boasts an unrivalled backdrop of the London landscape. The Gallery has fantastic views of the city, perfect for cocktails or sipping on champagne with indulgent views. The Bar and lounge is the ultimate alfresco dining spot, with a delicious Mediterranean menu, including our signature seafood specialities,the height of sophistication starts here.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 153 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 44
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 25
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Not that great

Charged £5 for the privelage to go to the 6th floor and sit on top of the hotel and you are not guarenteed a view over London! Then they charge you a fee (albeit £2.20) to serve you a drink. Staff are friendly enough, but I would think this would be better when its a scorching hot day, They... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 25, 2015
juboy39
,
Braintree, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

Actually, we had a great view - something many reviewers lament - just everything else was disappointing. Big chunky furniture crammed in, massive tables so close together the whole row of guests is disturbed when someone moves (why? They only seat 2 people, plates are not big, why have such enormous tables?), chunky heaters cramming the space (that too, why??... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

Charged £5 for the privelage to go to the 6th floor and sit on top of the hotel and you are not guarenteed a view over London! Then they charge you a fee (albeit £2.20) to serve you a drink. Staff are friendly enough, but I would think this would be better when its a scorching hot day, They supply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben D, Manager at Vista at the Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Juboy39, Thank you for taking the time to review our bar on TripAdvisor. The team was very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the view that our bar had to offer. If you decided to return to the bar please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can ensure you get a view right... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Don't go here. The staff were atrocious, we felt very unwelcome so much so that we felt a burden being there. When we finally got up to the roof we were seated in a corner and had no view what so ever and couldn't wait to leave. I will not be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ben D, Manager at Vista at the Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Peter G, Thank you for taking the time to review our bar on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed to read your comments and to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. I have passed your comments on to our Vista Bar Manager to ensure that all appropriate re-trainings are conducted and that no guests feel the same... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

This rooftop bar has a fantastic location, and the view is really amazing, but only if you're positioned in certain locations. If you're going to book here, make sure you ask to be seated near 'The Gallery', or else you can end up without a view at all. The service here is good, however the food we ordered was absolutely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ben D, Manager at Vista at the Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca K, Thank you for taking the time to review our bar on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I have passed your feedback on to our Executive Chef so that he can ensure no future guests feel the way you did. Best regards, Ben Deane Food and Beverage Manager More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed at the Trafalgar before and visited the Vista bar both with and without roof covering! The location is amazing but the cocktails were dire and overpriced for what the were. Disappointed on this visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben D, Manager at Vista at the Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Amanda B, Thank you for taking the time to review our bar on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the bar, however, I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the cocktails. I have passed your feedback on to our Head Bartender and he will discuss it with his team. Best regards, Ben... More 

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

What a wonderful view of some iconic London landmarks from this 6th floor roof top bar. We thoroughly enjoyed a couple of frozen margaritas, and the staff made us feel at home. The bar snacks were good, a little pricey - but then again aren't most decent places pricey in London? This bar certainly has a USA with its views.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben D, Manager at Vista at the Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Weekender85, Thank you very much for your review. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind words regarding the team. I hope to welcome you back very soon! Best regards, Ben Deane Food and Beverage Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Visited on Sunday, the sun shone, the cocktails and wine flowed. The location is excellent, on 6th floor of The Trafalgar Hotel. I look forward to visiting again in the future. Reservations are recommended, we booked but a couple in front of us hadn't and had a 45 minute wait

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben D, Manager at Vista at the Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Cappleton2, Thank you for taking the time to review our bar on TripAdvisor. I was glad to head that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Best regards, Ben Deane Food and Beverage Manager More 

london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We went at 4pm and apparently after 4 you have to pay £5 for cover charge. Great bar as its all seated and not over cramped. Drinks took way too long. Even for 3 beers we waited 40 minutes. However the cocktails we had previously were lovely. Great views, chilled music, great heaters too so you don't get too chilly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben D, Manager at Vista at the Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear AliceCWLondon, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our bar. I was disappointed to read your feedback regarding the speed of service in the bar. I have passed your comments on to our team to ensure that we address the issue accordingly. Best regards, Ben Deane Food and Beverage Manager More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Called up to make a booking as there was an error on the website. The lady who I spoke to was extremely rude and seem extremely reluctant to assist me. After going to check with another member of staff, I was informed that the bar was very busy and I should try for another day. Very busy to me does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ben D, Manager at Vista at the Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Louise J, Thank you for taking the time to review our bar on TripAdvisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were unable to access the bar due to it being full. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the way it was handled which I have already discussed with the team. I do hope... More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Lovely blackberry champagne cocktail !!! totally recommend. Very busy and most of the front tables were taken, but still a great atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben D, Manager at Vista at the Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Louise M, Thank you for taking the time to review The Vista Bar on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to see your feedback that you enjoyed our Blackberry Champagne Cocktail! I hope to welcome you back very soon! Best regards, Ben Deane Food and Beverage Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Vista at the Trafalgar also viewed

 

Been to Vista at the Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Hotel, London SW1A 2TS , England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > St. James's
  • Neighborhood: St. James's
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7870 2900

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 23 - 93

Description

Exceptional in style, iconic by nature – taking London to all new highs. Vista at the trafalgar is a rooftop bar boasts an unrivalled backdrop of the London landscape. The Gallery has fantastic views of the city, perfect for cocktails or sipping on champagne with indulgent views. The Bar and lounge is the ultimate alfresco dining spot, with a delicious Mediterranean menu, including our signature seafood specialities,the height of sophistication starts here.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vista at the Trafalgar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in St. James's

Neighborhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighborhood