We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Henry Root

#8,080 of 17,345 Restaurants in London
#8,667 of 18,269 Places to Eat in London
$$$
Neighborhood:
Chelsea
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
9 Park Walk, London SW10 0AJ, England
+44 20 7352 7040
Website
Today
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 57 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 16
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Fresh ingredients and thoughtful preparation

The three of us had a lovely Sunday lunch here. The ingredients were the freshest of the other four restaurants at which we ate in Chelsea this week. In fact the Sunday Roast menu looked so good we will probably eat there again tonight. Nice friendly service and ample servings.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 3, 2015
hulaori
,
Marin County, California
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

We had a very bad experience in there. We had the Crab Avocado Toast as starter. It was Avocado mainly and barely saw crab on it. We didn't like it and left half of the portion on the plate. When the staff collected the dishes, she didn't care if we didn't like the food and took the plates away without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieRalls, Public Relations Manager at The Henry Root, responded to this review

Hi there, We're really sorry to hear that you had this experience with us. Please can you email me directly so that we can look into this for you as quickly as possible - sophie@affinitybarsandrestaurants.co.uk Thanks so much, Sophie More 

Marin County, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

The three of us had a lovely Sunday lunch here. The ingredients were the freshest of the other four restaurants at which we ate in Chelsea this week. In fact the Sunday Roast menu looked so good we will probably eat there again tonight. Nice friendly service and ample servings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

Well.......can't review the food or the service as on entering and being asked if we want a table for 4..........my friends and I had a little discussion and instantly the guy changed his mind and said there was a private function on. Basically he clearly didn't think we were good enough for the establishment, how very rude.....maybe next time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieRalls, Guest Relations Manager at The Henry Root, responded to this review

Hi Stickleback, So sorry to hear that your experience on Tuesday has led you to feel this way. Would you be able to email me so we can discuss further - sophie@affinitybarsandrestaurants.co.uk Very best, Sophie More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I have been in this restaurant over 50 times, as it is my local just around the corner. So I never thought of writing a review. The restaurant, however, deserves a review, as it has always been a very warm, friendly place with very good food. Yes, there might be occasions when your wine does not arrive immediately to your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Ok where do I start? My boyfriend and I thought we try out this resturant as we wanted seafood dish's which on arrival to the resturant was not the case as there was not many fish/seafood dishs. The waiter was miserable and un friendly, when drinks we're ordered my glass of wine did not come to my table for 20mins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SophieRalls, General Manager at The Henry Root, responded to this review

Hi Jordkk, Apologies for the delayed response to your review. We're so sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience with us and would like to discuss it further with you. If you wouldn't mind emailing us directly at info@thehenryroot.com, then we will respond to you personally. Very best, The Henry Root More 

Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We popped into The Henry Root after visiting the Little Black Gallery which is next-door-but-one. It was quite early for lunch, and we ended up having a late breakfast, along with a couple of beers and glasses of prosecco. There's a lovely relaxed atmosphere inside, with staff clearly recognising and knowing regular customers, and we were immediately given a warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This place has really upped its game. Very good meal last night. Great service. Good wines. Its sure to get busier :(

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westcliff on Sea Essex
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We dropped in here early on a Saturday evening after watching Chelsea. We took advantage of happy hour and had a couple of cocktails which were good and two for one. We had a good meal of grouse for me and venison for my wife, both cooked well and tasty, washed down with a good bottle of wine. The service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Came in here with my grown-up son around 4 pm on Sunday and the kitchen was still open which was a pleasant surprise. It is on Park Walk which is off the Fulham Road before you get to the Chelsea & Westminster Hospital if you are going down from the direction of South Kensington. There are a couple of tables... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Unfortunately Tom the cheery restaurant manager seems to have left and you are now greeted by a couple of scowling eastern Europeans.This used to be one of my favourite local restaurants but they have very recently changed things, a starter of mussels at £8 contained onlly about 8 mussels two of which hadn't opened so would have been dangerous to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Henry Root also viewed

 

Been to The Henry Root? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Root

Address: 9 Park Walk, London SW10 0AJ, England
Phone Number: +44 20 7352 7040
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Chelsea
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 25 - 47
Cuisine: European

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 9 Park Walk, London SW10 0AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Chelsea
  • Neighborhood: Chelsea
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7352 7040

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 25 - 47
  • Cuisine: European
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Henry Root staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Chelsea

Neighborhood Profile
Chelsea
Wealth courses through The King's Road, Chelsea's upmarket artery of West London life packed with shops, eateries and glitzy nightspots. For people-watching at its best and luxury retail therapy that's largely unrivalled, this area cannot be missed. But if this showy street starts to overwhelm or a moment of price tag shock sends you reeling, a quick detour down pretty much any of many King's Road veins will reveal a quieter side of Chelsea. Here the stately Royal Hospital hosts its world-famous flower show, and the Thames rolls along at a lazy pace, with leafy Battersea Park and its Peace Pagoda beckoning from across the river.
Explore this neighborhood