We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Summerhouse

#3,064 of 17,540 Restaurants in London
#3,294 of 18,464 Places to Eat in London
$$$
Paddington / Maida Vale
French, Bistro
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
60 Blomfield road, London W9 2PA, England
Warwick Avenue is the closest underground station and Royal Oak is a 10 minute walk away. Buss routes 6, 414, 187, 36 and 18 are all close by.
+44 20 7286 6752
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 191 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 60
    Excellent
  • 67
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great Location, Good Food

The location is definitely what makes this restaurant. The food is lovely and we enjoyed some great mocktails at lunchtime. The sun was shining and being beside the river created the perfect atmosphere for a leisurely lunch. The only down side was a group of very drunk, noisy men on one of the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 21, 2015
VS2010
,
UK
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

We enjoyed a delicious meal here at the end of a 9 mile walk along the Regent's Canal. The food was excellent but the waiters perhaps a little too keen to move us on to the next course, my husband having only had a couple of sips of his aperetif before we were given our starter. We suspect our main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

A great little place. One of my regulars - simply because it is reasonably priced for the area, serves stunning fish dishes and I never had a bad thing to say about it. Can't stop recommending it. Thanks Summerhouse.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The location is definitely what makes this restaurant. The food is lovely and we enjoyed some great mocktails at lunchtime. The sun was shining and being beside the river created the perfect atmosphere for a leisurely lunch. The only down side was a group of very drunk, noisy men on one of the other tables, but that was just unlucky.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We wandered into the Summerhouse after a canal boat tour. What a fabulous find! Upon arrival without a reservation, we were quickly accomodated at a prevously reserved table - so long as we agreed to be done in 90 minutes. What a great decision to stay! The food was fabulous, the service impeccable, and atmosphere by the water with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marlow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

eaten here a few times now and it is always fine....just fine....as a veggie there is only risotto,so that's limiting .Have asked if I can have another option on the next visit,which has been arranged by friends....the answer is...we will ask the chef on the day and see how his mood is...hmmm The sharing board is okay,only okay....over priced really.The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
60Blomfield, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed our location and atmosphere on your visit. We do have a number of vegetarain options are (both starters and mains) like our super healthy salad; the risotto (as you mentioned); crudite bowl; mezze plate etc. So we are very sorry you felt we did not have enough choice -... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We ate here late morning and decided to have the breakfast. Lovely food in a really nice setting with good friendly service. Would definitely return if I was in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Very nice setting, excellent service but unfortunately the food was a let down. Fried calamari way below average, prawns popcorn was good though. Both me and my wife had the grilled swordfish which was very disappointing - I have cooked swordfish many times at home and the quality of the cut they had was just not fresh or good enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
60Blomfield, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we will take this feedback on board and investigate this thoroughly. We are glad you enjoyed our Popcorn Shrimp but we are disappointed you did not enjoy either the Calamari or the Swordfish. Both of these dishes we generally get very good feedback on so it is surprising that you did not find them... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Great position on the canal and the open design makes it very agreeable on a fine summer day or evening. Service is competent and friendly. Fish is the speciality and there is a good variety. The oysters were very variable in size but good flavoured, the lemon sole was slightly overcooked but the cod with risotto ( the catch of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We have been here many times in the last few years and accept that the food is often disappointing and inconsistent but that some dishes are good enough.We ate here recently as our visitor requested a canal eatery. Sadly it confirmed our previous experiences that the location is beautiful, situated on the canal, but the food does not match up.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
60Blomfield, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you feel the food was not up to scratch. We feel our Calamari is a good recipe however we will go through your comments with the Head Chef and review. The Lemon Sole is a very popular dish but we will look at the cooking times on this now very closely.... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Although they were running low on various options due to a very busy weekend prior to our arrival, they were very open with us about it, offered us various specials, and made recommendations based on what they had available. One of the dishes (a ribeye steak) was not up to their standards, so although it was "ok" for my wife,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Summerhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summerhouse

Address: 60 Blomfield road, London W9 2PA, England
Phone Number: +44 20 7286 6752
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Paddington / Maida Vale
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 34 - 45
Cuisine: French, Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 60 Blomfield road, London W9 2PA, England
  • Public Transportation: Warwick Avenue is the closest underground station and Royal Oak is a 10 minute walk away. Buss routes 6, 414, 187, 36 and 18 are all close by.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Paddington / Maida Vale
  • Neighborhood: Paddington / Maida Vale
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7286 6752

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 34 - 45
  • Cuisine: French, Bistro

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Summerhouse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Summerhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?