We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Drayton Arms

#10,134 of 18,039 Restaurants in London
#11,109 of 19,554 Places to Eat in London
$$
Neighborhood:
South Kensington
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
153 Old Brompton Road | South Kensington, London SW5 0LJ, England
+44 20 7835 2301
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tue - Wed 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thu - Fri 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Description: The Drayton Arms Dining and Theatre is an eclectic mix of trusty local pub,...
The Drayton Arms Dining and Theatre is an eclectic mix of trusty local pub, stylish South Kensington nightspot and fabulous fringe Theatre. As sunlight floods through our floor to ceiling windows, soak up the imposing Jacobean features with a pint of real ale or over our hangover-busting brunch. On Saturday night, trade in your pint for a Cosmopolitan and embrace the sophistication of our prestigious postcode with laidback aplomb. Upstairs you will find a cosy 50 seat fringe theatre, with delightful shows every day including old favourites, new writing, cabaret and comedy.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 121 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 33
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
WELL LOCATED PUB

Interesting Kensington & Chalsea locals, mixed with a blend of "world travelers" looking for a selection of excellent craft beers.

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 28, 2015
Jim W
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've never written a restaurant review in my life, but I wanted the world to know about my experience! A group of us visited on my birthday for a Sunday roast. I was slightly concerned that we were basically the only people in there that seemed to be ordering food?! The roasts took ages, and when they finally arrived they... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kenn13
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Interesting Kensington & Chalsea locals, mixed with a blend of "world travelers" looking for a selection of excellent craft beers.

Helpful?
Thank Jim W
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

It's a decent pub, always got a few people in, and is in a great location; but just had an awful steak! The give away should have been when I asked for 'medium-rare' and the chap taking the order informed me that 'it comes how it comes', never heard that for a sirloin (I should have put the brakes on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick M
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi Nick M I'm sorry about your poor experience. This is not the level of service we aim for. If you had our 8oz sirloin it is cooked to order and the server should have taken this instruction from you, the striploin minute steak in the steak sandwich if that is what you had should have been cooked to medium.... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

We read a review recommending its Sunday Roast and gave it a try on Nov 15th. When we arrived there were 12 people in the pub, three of them already eating. After ordering and paying for the food, we were told that "since everyone had ordered at the same time, the kitchen was busy and our meal would take 40... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorge E
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi Jorge E Thank you for your review. Im sorry about the poor experience you had with us, we had some problems during lunch and hence there were delays during service - we did try to communicate these up front but it appears in your case we didn't get it right and I am truly sorry. All our food is... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Visited on a much less-than-half full Sunday afternoon, only to be told that they had stopped taking orders for their self-vaunted lunch to allow the kitchen to cope. The barman invited us to wait for forty-five minutes to allow the chef to catch up. Thereafter, he told us, there would be a further twenty-five minute wait for food after we... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArqueroEspanol
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi ArqueroEspanol Thank you for taking the time to review us. Im sorry that you didn't have a great experience last Sunday, we did indeed have some problems during lunch last week hence we felt it better to tell guests up front about the delays that we were experiencing. That said it was not the level of service that we... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

We stopped here before our restaurant trip. The girls had some gin cocktails which they really enjoyed of course made with Hendricks gin. The barman was from Chiswick (sorry didn't get his name )who was polite and attentive . Great pub to stop and chill, the food looked good also

Helpful?
1 Thank Ealingcommon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

Me: We'd like two hamburgers please. Barman: We don't have hamburgers. Just beef burgers-- it's a different animal. He appeared to be a native English speaker, and was not joking. So, some training on basic food vocabulary is in order. Also, I know pubs pride themselves on poor service, but we were appalled when a woman who looked to be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 835leeb
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi 835leeb Im sorry about your experience in the pub, I have spoken to the barman in question and he genuinely meant it as a joking comment, Im sorry that it didn't come over that way. We certainly don't pride ourselves on poor service, indeed we won a certificate of excellence from trip advisor last year and are very proud... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Tried to go to Drayton arms with a few friends and when they ID'd me they said they couldn't take my American Driver's License because they didn't know if it was legitimate. They asked to see my passport, but nobody walks around with their passport on them and risks getting it stolen. My favorite parts about this entire trip to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Haley M
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi Haley M Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry about your experience with the ID, it was myself that served you and I certainly didn't say that it is a new rule in London to check passports only (our ID policy in the UK has been this way for many years) just that we operate... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

This pub is in a beautiful location, and is has a nice atmosphere when you enter. The food is nice, a bit overpriced, but that is to be expected with the location. Unfortunately I had to wait an hour from ordering my food to actually being served it. The bartender was very apologetic though, and very friendly. I felt quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smokey1533
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi Smokey1533 Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for your kind comments about the pub, food and the service, I'm sorry about the delay with your food through, this isn't what aim for and I hope it didn't spoil your visit too much. I do hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind... More 

San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

The food was good but we never got to try most of it. We had reservations for Sunday Roast for 14 people last Sunday. We arrived at 2pm and they literally had one beef, one pork, and only chicken left at that hour. So most everyone had chicken, which was ok.... The pork was good, the beef was good, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharmChari
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi CharmChari Thank you for taking the time to review us. So sorry that we ran out of Roast on the day that you visited, we normally aim to keep our roasts coming until 6pm, but during the summer when it is quieter if we have a particularly busy day then that can put a spanner in the works as... More 

Travelers who viewed The Drayton Arms also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Drayton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 153 Old Brompton Road | South Kensington, London SW5 0LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > South Kensington
  • Neighborhood: South Kensington
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7835 2301

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12 - 26
  • Cuisine: Pub, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic

Description

The Drayton Arms Dining and Theatre is an eclectic mix of trusty local pub, stylish South Kensington nightspot and fabulous fringe Theatre. As sunlight floods through our floor to ceiling windows, soak up the imposing Jacobean features with a pint of real ale or over our hangover-busting brunch. On Saturday night, trade in your pint for a Cosmopolitan and embrace the sophistication of our prestigious postcode with laidback aplomb. Upstairs you will find a cosy 50 seat fringe theatre, with delightful shows every day including old favourites, new writing, cabaret and comedy.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Drayton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in South Kensington

Neighborhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighborhood