We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Masters

#2,242 of 17,764 Restaurants in London
#2,409 of 18,688 Places to Eat in London
Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Neighborhood:
Westminster
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Rubens Hotel | 39 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
+44 20 7834 6600
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Tue - Sat 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 59 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 35
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Express lunch

Express lunch. Just what we needed before visiting the Palace, we had40 minutes and we were on time. Best tomato soup I have ever had, bet it would have been lovely cold. Good sandwiches. Not cheap but tasty and relaxing.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 28, 2015
Rosiehylda
,
York
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

Express lunch. Just what we needed before visiting the Palace, we had40 minutes and we were on time. Best tomato soup I have ever had, bet it would have been lovely cold. Good sandwiches. Not cheap but tasty and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Old Masters, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your Express Lunch at the Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us so much. I know Chef will be delighted when I share your comments with him. I hope to welcome you back personally on a future visit. Warm Regards, Malcolm Hendry, General Manager More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

this is an elegant dining buffet experience. The staff is formally dressed and present food and drink in a proper manner with a smile! I loved the table setting and linens. Our wine was properly chilled and our waiter was attentive and helpful. The buffet is lovely, many salads, starches, veggies and deserts to choose from. The carving station has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tulsa, ok
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

this restaurant is so convenient! such delicious British fare make dining here an easy choice so you can spend more time sightseeing. The dining room is lovely and the food delicious plus it's in a great location across the street from Buckingham Palace and the Royal Mews. Would eat here again for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at this restaurant. It is great no matter why you choose to dine there but especially good for those who want to go to the nighttime theatre. You can order one, two or three courses for a pre-set price. Service is very professional and efficient and attentive and the dining room is beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Ate here as part of our stay in May 2015. Food was lovely, carvery style, lots to eat and very attentive staff. Breakfast was fab, plenty to eat, very fresh and hot (the poached eggs were just fantastic, just right). The breakfast really set us up for the day and even though it was busy in the mornings we never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

I had very high expectations for the carvery, only to be greatly disappointed for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was so-so. The fruits were not fresh and the price far to high for the quality of food. Then we later on in the week tried it for dinner and were EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED. Our visit was on a Friday so when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Old Masters, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for sharing your review. I am happy to read that you found the atmosphere in the restaurant to be welcoming. I was most concerned however to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of food you received during dinner. Here at The Rubens, we pride ourselves on the standards of product and service we provide,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I booked a prebooked and paid in advance table for a party of ten people for a celebration diner at 5pm. The 2 course carvery had been recommended by several friends. On entering the hotel the doormen were very welcoming and friendly, this continued with the Old Masters staff, who made us feel very special. We were seated quickly, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

The breakfast buffet was great. Made to order eggs any style while you watch. Wait staff was great. Dinner buffet was average. Rare or medium rare roast beef was not possible and the lamb was well done. Sides were good. Wait staff was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Old Masters, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive review. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed the breakfast buffet especially. We feel it is quite unique to offer the experience of having the Chef prepare poached eggs to order, so it’s wonderful to see such great feedback for this! I have shared your... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Expect good service from the staff here throughout your meal. The food spread isnt that big, but the food itself is quite good. However, drink prices are higher than expected, so do check out the prices before ordering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Old Masters, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed such brilliant service during your dinner. Our guests experiences are really at the heart of what we do, so I am delighted that we could exceed your expectations with this. We do regularly conduct price comparisons of... More 

Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Visited before a show, the meal was part of show deal so I was not expecting much but was really surprised. We were met by a really genuine concierge who seemed to want us to enjoy our meal , silver service table setting. The room was wonderfully set with Old Masters hanging all around, felt formal but was also relaxed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Old Masters, responded to this review

Dear Sammy, Thank you very much for your great review. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with is in the Old Masters Restaurant. We are very proud of our beef and lamb, so thank you for pointing this out. We do also have vegetarian options, which you have noted, as we try to cater for... More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Masters also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Old Masters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Rubens Hotel | 39 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Westminster
  • Neighborhood: Westminster
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7834 6600

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 23 - 38
  • Cuisine: British
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Masters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Westminster

Neighborhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighborhood