We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Queen Adelaide

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
35 Putney Bridge Road, London SW18 1NP, England
442088741695
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our beautiful pub with its secret garden has been in the heart of the...
Our beautiful pub with its secret garden has been in the heart of the community since late 18th century, conveniently located on the borders of Wandsworth and Putney. We are your perfect local. Fresh, light and comfortable, your pub boasts a contemporary and stylish design. We are particularly proud of our stunning new Dining Room and the Tasting Table- we're looking forward to hosting your next party here. Our gorgeous garden complete with pergola and outdoor heating will serve you perfectly for all-year-round outdoors refreshment. Fresh and seasonal dishes celebrating the best of British produce have been lovingly crafted by our team of Chefs and combined to form our new menus. A quick lunch for health-conscious office workers, a mighty three-course dinner, weekend brunch or our selection of perfect Sunday Roasts, we've got you covered. We're a pub at heart and of course we love to welcome our neighbours over for a few drinks! Our team look forward to spoiling you with our enviable selection of Young's unique cask ales, world-class wines and spirits, London and American craft beers or perhaps a perfectly refreshing long drink?
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 59 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 13
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Could. Be better

We had dinner two roasts. After being asked how do I like my beef cooked my expectations were increased as I thought if they were cooking to order it could be good I asked for medium rare. But no still the same old precooked rubber and there was certainly nothing rare about it! Don't offer... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed October 2, 2015
Nick W
,
Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

I live across the road and love the ambience, decor and atmosphere of the QA. It's great for a drink and has the potential to be an exceptional local . However, this is my 3rd visit to dine and sadly another unpleasant experience. The menu is appealing and the food is usually pretty good as I've tried a few dishes... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulLondon1985
Marta P, Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear you love the ambience, atmosphere and décor and that you find Queen Adelaide a great place for a drink. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your dining experiences. Good to know you think the menu is appealing and that the food is pretty good. Our Chefs are delighted... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

Checked out the menu on line first, Bar service was slow, menu was different on arrival, ordered but menu was wrong again, order main course, had burger this was pink in side, sorbet dessert was partially thawed , they did replace this. Overall a disappointing experience. Would look at somewhere else next time.

Helpful?
Thank Russ B
Marta P, Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

Dear Russ B, It’s sad to hear your recent visit to Queen Adelaide was disappointing. We apologise the menu online was different to the one offered in the pub. We had to amend the sample menu from our website slightly due to bank holiday and very limited number of deliveries available to us over that weekend. Sorry you didn’t enjoy... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

This pub is my favourite pub in London not only because it's close to my place but for many other reasons. First of all it's very clean and huge with two different area. One organised as a proper pub and the second one as a friendly restaurant. The food is always fresh and taste delicious. The menu change quite often... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Valiul
Marta P, Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear Queen Adelaide is your favourite pub in London and that you always enjoy our fresh, delicious food. We look forward to welcoming you more often in 2016! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

We had dinner two roasts. After being asked how do I like my beef cooked my expectations were increased as I thought if they were cooking to order it could be good I asked for medium rare. But no still the same old precooked rubber and there was certainly nothing rare about it! Don't offer something you can't deliver. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick W
Marta P, Marketing Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

Dear Nick W, thank you for review. We’re glad to know you found the pub lovely with great atmosphere and it’s disappointing your food did match your expectations. We would have exchanged the meals had we known there were any problems with the way your beef and chicken was cooked. We pride ourselves in our Sunday roast and we’re frequently... More 

London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

The interior of this pub has been done well and is probably the best thing about the place. We went for lunch at 1pm on Sunday and the roast meats were good enough without being remarkable. Pretty standard for a Sunday pub lunch but no more. The real disappointment though was the speed of service and the apparent lack of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Marta P, Marketing Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide. It’s great you liked the décor of the pub and your food was ok. We apologise you found the service disappointing. We strive to provide great customer service and I’m sorry we fell short on your last visit. We admit the team in the kitchen was slightly overwhelmed by... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Was excited when we entered the pub, nice decor and looked pretty in the sun. I booked a table of 6 in the pub on a Thursday afternoon for lunch, when we arrived the table was set for 5. One of these seats was a small sofa, which would mean one of us would have to get close and comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Marta P, Marketing Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write to us and we are glad you liked pub’s look. We are sad to hear you did not enjoy your food yesterday. We apologise that you felt that the table which we booked for you was not suitable for your group but we’re glad you found a lovely table in the sun outside.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

This pub has a great selection of beers and wines, fantastic food (seriously good!), great atmosphere, lovely decor... BUT I have no idea why the staff are just so rude! I have been going to this pub for years, before and after the refurbishment. It's always bothered me that the staff lack in basic customer service. In the past 4... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smoz_Flashpacker
Marta P, Marketing Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. We are very happy to hear you like the atmosphere, food & the décor! We value our guests’ feedback and we are really disappointed that you feel our team isn’t friendly enough. We strive to provide a friendly welcoming and engaging service & I am saddened to hear we fell... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

Really lovely atmosphere and lovey decor. The good was great and it was a really lovey place! I had the fish and chips which was lovely, although the portion size was a little too big for me!

Helpful?
Thank Meggan W
Marta P, Marketing Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide. We've shared your feedback with the team and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

At best average, they never get our food order right, it always take an age for it arrive. On one occasion it was so bad they refunded me my food bill (generous you may say but that was hour after waiting for it arrive and even then it was wrong). Nice outside space for a pint however. Not one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ALSLLondon
Marta P, Marketing Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

Dear ALSLLondon, we are sorry to hear you did not received the service we expect to deliver. Since your last visit we have made some changes in our kitchen and additional training was given to our front of house team to minimise wait on food for our guests. We agree with the comment about our garden- it really is a... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

We have been here on a sunny Sunday morning, the outside terrace is huge and lovely. We went for brunch, food is good but could be better (the bread wasn't toasted and they had only one flavour of jam: orange!). The hollandaise sauce though was superb. I will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Giulia I
Marta P, Marketing Manager at Queen Adelaide, responded to this review

We're glad to hear you have enjoyed your Sunday brunch experience at the Queen Adelaide this past weekend. Thank you for your feedback with regards to the bread and jams. We will review the selection of spreads going forward. Looking forward to welcoming you back. More 

Travelers who viewed Queen Adelaide also viewed

 

Been to Queen Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 35 Putney Bridge Road, London SW18 1NP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: 442088741695

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub, European

Description

Our beautiful pub with its secret garden has been in the heart of the community since late 18th century, conveniently located on the borders of Wandsworth and Putney. We are your perfect local. Fresh, light and comfortable, your pub boasts a contemporary and stylish design. We are particularly proud of our stunning new Dining Room and the Tasting Table- we're looking forward to hosting your next party here. Our gorgeous garden complete with pergola and outdoor heating will serve you perfectly for all-year-round outdoors refreshment. Fresh and seasonal dishes celebrating the best of British produce have been lovingly crafted by our team of Chefs and combined to form our new menus. A quick lunch for health-conscious office workers, a mighty three-course dinner, weekend brunch or our selection of perfect Sunday Roasts, we've got you covered. We're a pub at heart and of course we love to welcome our neighbours over for a few drinks! Our team look forward to spoiling you with our enviable selection of Young's unique cask ales, world-class wines and spirits, London and American craft beers or perhaps a perfectly refreshing long drink?
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Queen Adelaide staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?