We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kalamaras Greek Taverna

66 Inverness Mews, London W2 3JQ, England
+44 20 7727 9122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,637 of 17,213 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $46
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Founded in 1966 and hidden in a quiet mews off Queensway, we offer fantastic authentic Greek food with a warm welcome and friendly service. Over the years we have had many famous people regularly dine here including the Beatles, Peter Sellers and his friends, racing drivers Graham and Damon Hill, also many actors and actresses, such as Telly Savalas (Kojak), Faye Dunaway, Irene Pappas, Mick Jagger and many other well-known names of the 60’s, 70’s and the present day. But it is not just the stars; many people have always loved dining here: members of the local, international and Greek Bayswater communities, as well as students and tourists who visit London. They all like the friendly and informal atmosphere and the healthy Greek food. We invite you to join us and carry on the glorious tradition of Kalamaras.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    71
    12
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

Value for money - yes. Service with a smile - yes but slow at times. Authentic Taste - absolutely. Would I eat here again - more than likely. This restaurant was no different then walking into a Greek Taverna in Athens except the only difference was it was in the heart of Bayswater London. The food menu was extensive and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

The ultimate test of a restaurant is 8 pm on a Saturday night. Sadly they fell a little short. Service staff were very pleasant but were under pressure as they tried to squeeze in a lot of people who hadn't booked which inevitably impacts those who had the manners to do so. The hummus was nice but the chicken souvlaki... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

No complaints ...everything was standard greek fare.. Tasty and fresh. Horiatiki salad was very good. Grilled Octopus was good and lamb was cooked perfectly..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sliema, Malta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This lovely Greek restaurant is nicely tucked away very near to the busy Queensway at Bayswater London. My wife and I found it by chance and decided to have our concluding dinner to our London holiday over there. We did not regret it. We experience Greek hospitality and culinary delights at their best. Everyone concerned was eager to please and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The physical restaurant itself is quite pleasant and the staff are very friendly and helpful. This partly makes up for the poor food as the attached pictures show. Lemon and oregano roasted chicken with roast potatoes and rice was part of a pre roasted chicken which had been re heated and a gloomy sauce poured over. The sauce did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamaras Greek Taverna, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal in our restaurant and always listen to our customer feedback very seriously so we can try to improve all our clients’ experiences. With regards to your comments regarding the re-heating of food, we must advise you that there are certain foods in the Greek cuisine that must be... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

real Greek tavern.i wend last Friday it was great. SERVISE is ok and the food typical Greek. I loved it was real good I think I go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excellent food. The staff could do with more empathy with patrons. They rarely smile and appear irritated (never rude, but the storm clouds are clearly visible) if you do not quite understand their thick Greek accent!

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I found this place by mistake last summer and gave been back since on purpose! Please check it out, I would love to sy it's like eating on the islands, but the truth is, it's much better! Love and luck to you all. Jason

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I ate here twice recently, both with friends (An evening meal for four) and then was no impressed by the cooking we had the restaurant arrange to do a catered lunch for myself and ten work colleagues when working near by. The menu is very traditional Greek fare with a great deal of Meze and meat and fish portions to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nice food (good not great, and a cut above other offerings on Queensway), nice ambience and friendly staff. BUT charged a cover charge for each of us and 10% service fee without telling us upfront. For that reason alone we'd never recommend this restaurant. The service fee is a tip but nothing was done to deserve it other than staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Kalamaras Greek Taverna also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Kalamaras Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalamaras Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing