We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17,295 London Restaurants

Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe

Gallery Road, Dulwich, London SE21 7AD, England
+44 (0)20 8299 8717
Improve this listing
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    10
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 NEW

A beautiful setting within the grounds of a historical, and ground breaking gallery! Take the time to enjoy this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We were in the area and decided to visit the gallery and have lunch afterwards. Amazing! Couldn't fault it. Service was first rate, friendly staff, attentive and very helpful when asked about menu. I had the goat's cheese salad. Delicious and so fresh tasting. Sometimes goat's cheese can be a bit overpowering but this was perfect, light and scrumptious. OH... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Have had lunch here on more than one occasion and was more than satisfied with the experience but a spontaneous breakfast today turned out to be a bad idea. We arrived towards the end of the breakfast service and sat outside - my husband's eggs Benedict we fine but no worth the price. My veggie breakfast included a tiny disk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZOEW1, Director at Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Meghan, We're really sorry to hear of your disappointment with breakfast. Clearly this wasn't up to our usual standards and we'd like to remedy that. Please do get in touch with Tom our General Manager dpg@creativetaste.co.uk We look forward to hearing from you More

new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I had lunch here a few weeks ago. The lettuce leaves hadn't been washed and still had some soil on the base of them. I pointed it out to staff to let them know. The waitress apologised and took away the plate. I hoped that they would make sure the lettuce would be washed properly in future. However on return... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZOEW1, Director at Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe, responded to this review

Dear hello8 On behalf of Tom, our General Manager and myself, please accept our apologies for the way in which your observation was handled. We have acted on the information you have provided and revisited our customer service training, and of course have investigated the preparation of the dish in question. Please be assured that the issues you have highlighted... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

My brother and I went to the super show at the Dulwich Picture Gallery about Ben and Winifred Nicholson today. When we came out it was lunchtime and we decided to eat a light lunch at the Cafe. Gallery and museum restaurant food is usually pretty predictable and overpriced and we had no high expectations but the food here was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ZOEW1, Director at Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the exhibition and your lunch. You're absolutely right, Wilfried our head chef is very passionate about the food he serves, thanks for acknowledging him! See you soon... More

Oxford
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I visit 3 times a year in line with the exhibitions and spent the entire afternoon there with some close friends soaking up the view of the gardens. The food was well prepared and very tasty. I had a goats cheese salad and summer pudding, my friends had a falafel and galette with heritage tomatoes followed by passion fruit cheesecake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ZOEW1, Director at Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Gail Thanks so much for your review, delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We'll see you again for Open Exhibition and Emily Carr in British Columbia! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We visited here for afternoon drink and cake on a Friday afternoon in August. Service so VERY slow.Then coffee brought but cake not for 5 minutes later by which time coffee getting a bit lukewarm.I commented on this to waitress but she told me I had only just got my coffee which wasn't true. Best not to speak back to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZOEW1, Director at Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe, responded to this review

Dear SallyAnne Very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience in the Cafe. We're keen to learn more so we can rectify this - please do get in touch, we'd very much like to hear from you Thank you dpg@creativetaste.co.uk More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had the most lovely breakfast here,the best I have had in a long time. The eggs were cooked to perfection and the service very good and extremely friendly. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ZOEW1, Director at Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Janet Thanks so much for your review, really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, we'll see you again! More

London, England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Decided to visit to visit for lunch today. We were looking for cafe food but struggled to find anything we wanted to eat on the menu. Father ordered the cold pea soup - would have been find if only it had been served warm! Rissoles my mother and I ordered served on an egg mayonnaise had virtually no flavour, distinct... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZOEW1, Director at Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Victoria We're very sorry to learn of your disappointment with our menu. We'd like to remedy the situation; please do get in touch with us Many thanks dpg@creativetaste.co.uk More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I like this restaurant . A friend and I regularly visit the restaurant prior to visiting the gallery.I have always found the food good, excellent service and the restaurant is light and fresh. However, recently the banquette has been moed away from the wall and the aspect when takeing tea has not been so good. I cannot see any reason... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZOEW1, Director at Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Tony I'm sorry to learn of your disappointment. We moved the banquette as it's former location next to the kitchen door made for a rather noisy dining experience. It now backs on to the kitchen door so has hugely improved the acoustics in the Café. I hope you visit again soon; please do make yourself known to Tom our... More

Travelers who viewed Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing