We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Carpenters Arms

$$$
English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
High Street | Fiskerton, Lincoln LN3 4HF, England
01522751806
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 75 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Chef needs an award

Food absolutely outstanding. Ale was superb! The only slight let down was the dated decor. Found this pub on the way home on the off chance and I'm really pleased we did! Definitely recommend just for the food and ale alone!

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 3, 2015
EmTommy
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Good choice of food and selection of beers. We really enjoyed our meal and will go again when we return to the area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MandDMcCarthy, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit, we are pleased you liked us and look forward to your return in the near future. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

After reading the review by Paul W, I fee incensed to write my own review, I have been dining out for many years at the Carpenters Arms,and have taken many relatives and friends their, a group of us, 7-10 ladies dine here regularly and you get nothing but 100% quality, fresh, home cooked food, and the service you receive from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MandDMcCarthy, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely comments. It means a lot to us to have our regulars and shows that we are doing something right. Dot and Mike really appreciate the good feedback and look forward to seeing you ladies soon. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

My wife and I recently ate at the Carpenters Arms along with four friends. We all made a different selection from the menu and none of us were disappointed. The food was freshly cooked, very tasty and good value. The most enjoyable thing about all the meals was the selection of vegetables, many restaurants give the usual of garden peas,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MandDMcCarthy, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hello, it was lovely to read such a positive review! We pride ourselves on our home cooked meals and reasonable prices. Our vegetables are fresh and we do try and give as large as variety as possible. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and thank you again for your feedback. More 

Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Unfortunately our visit to this establishment was less than satisfactory. The service was very confusing at best and downright poor to be honest. In my opinion the food was reheated from frozen, if not then the chef has no place in a kitchen, all of the food was bland and lacked flavour. For example my wife's white wine and mushroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MandDMcCarthy, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hello, we are sorry you did not not enjoy your experience at The Carpenters Arms. We can assure you our food is freshly cooked and our Toad In the Hole dish is one of our most popular ones. We do pride ourselves on our reasonable prices and service standards and am disappointed you did not feel that we lived up... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

We visit are local pub twice a week and it's always 1st class. The food, the service, the staff are fantastic. Dot and Mike who run the pub are very hands on and will always pop over from behind the bar to ask people how the food was and how they are. A great village local.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MandDMcCarthy, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoy visiting us, we work hard to make sure everything is just right and always enjoy hearing we do so. Look forward to seeing you next week. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Just had another outstanding meal. I know it has changed hands but the food is still as good, not sure it is right for the bar staff to be waiting on as well. But all in all a superb meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MandDMcCarthy, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you have enjoyed our meals on several occasions. You will pleased to know that Dot and Mike are back and working hard as usual! Look forward to welcoming you back to The Carpenters Arms soon. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Booked 2 weeks in advance for a Saturday evening - table for 4 at 7.30pm we had all been previously (approx 10 previous visits) and have always had to book a table otherwise you could not get in. We all arrived and was surprised to see how few people there were in the restaurant- approx 12 which included our party... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MandDMcCarthy, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your comments which have been fed back to Dot and Mike. I can assure you they are back and the restaurant is as full as ever! You will be pleased to hear that normal service has resumed! More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

We love the Carpenters arms. The food is wonderful beautiful home cooked the service is excellent and Dot Mike and the team work so very hard to being a feeling of home. Excellent value couldn't fault it. Will return many times. Barbara Fox Leicester

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MandDMcCarthy, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. It is always nice to hear good feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to you returning. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We returned here yesterday looking forward to a nice hearty bowl full of liver, onions & gravy which we have had on 2 occasions last year & thoroughly enjoyed it. We noticed it was still on the specials board & happily placed our order at the bar. It was a freezing cold day outside & a lovely steaming big bowl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MandDMcCarthy, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Sorry to hear you were not happy with the new presentation of our liver dish. However we can assure you it is the same portion size and ingredients, just on a plate. It was changed due to other customer comments. Next time you visit us, if you would like it in a bowl please ask... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Food absolutely outstanding. Ale was superb! The only slight let down was the dated decor. Found this pub on the way home on the off chance and I'm really pleased we did! Definitely recommend just for the food and ale alone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
micheal m, Family Member at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hello, We are pleased you found our food and ale outstanding. We pride ourselves on traditional home cooked food and we have recently been featured in the Camra's Good Beer Guide 2015. Look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Travelers who viewed The Carpenters Arms also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: High Street | Fiskerton, Lincoln LN3 4HF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Lincoln
  • Phone Number: 01522751806

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 25
  • Cuisine: English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Carpenters Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?