We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Memsaab

59-59a Highcross Street, Leicester LE1 4SH, England
01162530243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 823 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $47
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Indian
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    62
    26
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

I've only ever drank here I've never eaten but the atmosphere and cocktails are wonderful, the staff behind the bar are great at their jobs, very engaging The cocktails are always great and the live music very nice Shame it's so expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

OK, it was Saturday night after a visit to the cinema, so peak time (9.30pm arrival) and the restaurant was very busy. You could say a lively atmosphere but the noise in the restaurant was deafening, so much so we four couldn't hear each other speak. We may just be getting old, but it was actually very wearing. We have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dover
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Dined here last Thursday and what a memorable experience it was. Jay took care of us from start to finish and made sure that the chilli heat of our dishes was exactly what we wanted. Food was wonderful, service was impeccable and table linen was immaculate. Regarding the meal, the dahl and plain nan was the best I've tasted and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MemsaabTeam, Manager at Memsaab, responded to this review

Dear RosieB, Thank you for your visit and review. Your comments will be passed onto the staff member and we will definitely commend Jay for making your evening a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you soon More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Had heard mixed reviews of Memsaab therefore hadn't been before but thought we'd give it a try today after a change in lunch plans. On arrival we were seated in the bar area for approx 5 mins whilst our table was made ready. We ordered from the lunchtime menu at £7.95 per person for starters and mains (with choice of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MemsaabTeam, Manager at Memsaab, responded to this review

Dear Deepavee, Thank you for visiting Memsaab and you review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to serving you again, More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The food was ok (not great) but after ordering light (1 starter, 1 main, 2 sides plus drinks for 2 people), we were told that there was a minimum spend of £10 per head. The waiter said he'd let us off this time!? This despite the fact that the bill came to £30 for 2 people. Didn't feel very welcome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MemsaabTeam, Manager at Memsaab, responded to this review

Dear FredK, Thank you for your feedback. Many restaurants do have a minimum cover spend, i.e. a minimum charge. Our is £10 per head. It is our policy and that was what the waiter was informing you about. He used his discretion and said it was fine and it would be waived off for you on this occassion , even... More

Leicester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I remember mends abs tiny beginnings in Leicester. I have to say the food was better the but you potentially were the only customer in. Now the food is a little more standard got the masses. The bar area is cute and the large glass sides upstairs add to the decor. The staff are very friendly and courteous. The one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MemsaabTeam, Manager at Memsaab, responded to this review

Dear labella30, It is nice to have customers who have been with us from our start. As for the magician , please let us know on your next visit that you would not like to be entertained and we will ensure that he does not perform at your table . More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The service is very good at Memsaab. Nice bar area where you can have a few drinks before dinner. The upstairs dining area is nice and airy. Tables on the balcony as well, so its nice to have dinner up there on a summers night. The food was average, nothing special for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MemsaabTeam, Manager at Memsaab, responded to this review

Dear PriSach, I am glad that you have enjoyed our food and service, please make us aware on your next visit of your expectations on the food and we will ensure that you are wowed by our food as well. Please ask for the Manager whilst booking. More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Whilst our initial qaiter was really good and took time to understand a food allergy the other waitera that touched our table were poor and just doing the basics. Food was tasty but it took an hour to get the bill - others may have walked and they also put the tip on the bill so just watch out for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MemsaabTeam, Manager at Memsaab, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy682, Thank you for your visit and comments,we will investigate into the matter as to why service was not of set standards, it would be helpful if you could give us some more details of your visit. you can email us on contact@mem-saableics.com As for the service charge; it is totally discretionary and states on the bill. The only... More

Macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Went there on a Friday night with family. Small room upstairs. Décor was nothing special. Popadoms came very quickly with chutney trays. Ordered 5 starters and none of them were much good. How can you justify charging £5 or more for 3 pieces of dry chicken or lamb. Or £5 for 4 small pieces of fish ! Taste was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MemsaabTeam, Manager at Memsaab, responded to this review

Dear Jsuman, The prices we charge are for the quality of meat ,fish which we buy and the ingredients which we use. you can get cheap fish which is served cheap in restaurants, but we don't do that. I would reiterate that this is not a hype but judged by our customers, who do patronize us. I am dissapointed to... More

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We came here for lunch and had good quality food, but the atmosphere is strange. Understated simple food like garlic chilli chicken and rogan josh, "rice" or "nan". The starters were nicer and the home made pickles were excellent. It hardly seems Indian; maybe the Anglo-Indian is deliberate but that is not stated on the menu anywhere. You can get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MemsaabTeam, Manager at Memsaab, responded to this review

Dear Johnadesire, Thank you for your visit and review. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and the quality. The atmosphere we keep is simplistic and plain , our is a listed building , we avoid any overpowering decor which you would find in a typical Indian restaurant( red carpet and flock wallpaper). Our food is freshly made and... More

Travelers who viewed Memsaab also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Memsaab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memsaab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing