We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Square Orange Cafe Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
20 St. John's Street, Keswick CA12 5AS, England
+44 17687 73888
Website
Today
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Coffee & Tea, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 335 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 234
    Excellent
  • 74
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great despite the shortcomings

Having read previous reviews we were expecting to have a long wait for a table. We were very lucky and got one straight away but still expected a wait for food. Sure enough it took about 30 minutes from ordering to the food arriving and we had a couple of Erdingers whilst we waited. Horror, one of... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 24, 2015
lizandjeff53
,
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Having read previous reviews we were expecting to have a long wait for a table. We were very lucky and got one straight away but still expected a wait for food. Sure enough it took about 30 minutes from ordering to the food arriving and we had a couple of Erdingers whilst we waited. Horror, one of the pizzas was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Popped in here based on TripAdvisor reviews and had a great value lunch. Great selection of Tapas and ciababattas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

Had a tapas selection here. It was all very nice but difficult to judge as most of the dishes were cold so not much cooking involved. Would go again, nice surroundings and relaxed atmosphere. Staff very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marykirk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We were wandering round Keswick at lunch time looking for somewhere a little bit "different" for a light lunch and stumbled upon this cafe-bar. What a delight! Delightful owner, great jazz playing (but quietly, so it didn't intrude into the conversation), beautiful soup and bread and one of the most tasty panninis (chorizo and mozzarella) and salads (which included olives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

Visited with family in early evening after reading reviews. not disappointed. tapas lovely and fresh , served quickly, nice bottle of wine . Only hiccup was we only got 7 dishes instead of the 8 we ordered but I only realised later after we left. It was certainly a genuine omission and not sure I had any room for anymore... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Waited ages for a table , service was terrible and the food very bland , no space at all as it's very small and people continue to squeeze through the door , no order as to who has the next table just seems like pot luck as there are no lists!

Was this review helpful? Yes
squareorange, Owner at The Square Orange Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but obviously we are disappointed that you did not have a positive experience. I must stress that we are a café bar and not a restaurant, so while I sympathise that you had a wait, I cannot apologise for there not being a member of staff to seat you in order. Surely you can see... More 

Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Very good food and ambience, with an interesting choice of music. Toilets delightful and something to behold!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Went hear for dinner one night whilst staying in Keswick. Lovely little bar with a nice atmosphere, we went on a Tuesday but can imagine it being very cramped on the weekends. Staff were friendly and food was nice, the pizzas were great and the tapas looked good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Nice place with character, got a really relaxed vibe. Good place for enjoying a chill out coffee or a glass of wine. Also good for a light meal, nice pizza and tapas. Dog friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Our new favourite place to eat and drink in Keswick. It's not very big and most people inside are return visitors. Great food from a small menu and vast selection of drinks. Great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Square Orange Cafe Bar also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Square Orange Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 20 St. John's Street, Keswick CA12 5AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 73888

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pizza
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Square Orange Cafe Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Square Orange Cafe Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?