We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 110 Kendal Restaurants

The Globe Inn

8 Market Place, Kendal LA9 4TN, England
01539 724042
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    7
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Dropped in Friday night after arriving in Kendal. It was dead but the landlord and the beer was spot on! Thwaites Lancaster Bomber on hand pulled....bliss :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thirsk
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Firstly I have to say the pub looks really nice and I loved the woodwork upstairs.... However, being greeted by a sticky table and a 15 minute wait before a waitress gave us the time of day was annoying, so we placed our order and off she toots... 5 minutes later we are told there is no tuna and would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ostrius, Thank you for your report on Trip Advisor. As you know constructive criticism can be useful if all the facts are reported. If however it is an unjust, scathing report it can be harm a small business in an already cut throat market. We take all reported problems om board and try and resolve them. Having a sticky... More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

The Globe inn staff are great make you feel welcome to there family pub if you need something ask if you have a complaint don't just post on tripadvisor. I drink and eat in this family pub and it's clean tidy the food is good a in house chef who makes his own pies a must try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

went recently for a meal with my partner. the welcome we received was very friendly. Went upstairs for a meal, which was a classic pub feed. Portions very big and served nice and hot. Staff are great, serving with big smiles. The decor is a little outdated, maybe a makeover is in need (upstairs only). Because of the service and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

waitress first day, so had to repeat things few times. She did not know anything about the menu. Food arrived, fish looked like it was cheap, frozen, that had been deep fried. Burgers where all cut up into triangles in the bun. No taste to any of food. Place needs a good clean and modernising. Staffs presentation should of warned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Disappointed' Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We, as a team, are very sorry you did not enjoy you experience at our establishment. As you can see from our earlier customers they were very satisfied with the service, food and general ambiance of the Globe Inn. As for the fish, you have to deep fry it. 80%... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

Worst food ever!!!!!! If you like food from ice land and don't mind paying for someone to deep fat fry it for you, then this will be heaven for you!!! Service was not desirable! The place was overall, plain dirty!!! I went there based on trip adviser review! So I'm compelled to add my own !!! Avoid this place if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

What a great wee pub. After a long day walking it was great to sit and relax with a drink. Friendly landlord/ lady and the music was spot on-1989's rock and pop.We returned a few times and on our last visit had food. Brilliant comfort food-homemade, good quality ,plenty of it and really tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Widnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stumbled upon The Globe Inn while we were looking for a cosy country pub and it was everything we were looking for. The landlord and landlady couldn't have done more for us and even asked us if we had any music requests. They made us feel completely at home and the homemade pies were delicious. We'd definitely recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Stopped off for a couple of pints of Thwaites bitter. Gorgeous pint. Chilled, perfection. Landlord & Lady friendly, but I suspect they are Lancastrians ;D. Thanks for a perfectly kept pint. Didn't eat, but the meal area upstairs looked very nice & open.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lancaster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We called here at 1.30pm on Saturday for a light lunch having previously been 6 months ago. We ordered a pint of lager shandy, pot of tea and 2 x chilli chicken wraps and chips. Drinks promptly came but the milk jug had a stale ring of cream around the inside, politely I asked for fresh milk in a clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Address: 8 Market Place, Kendal LA9 4TN, England
Phone Number: 01539 724042
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal
Cuisine: Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing