We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Globe Inn

$$
English, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
8 Market Place, Kendal LA9 4TN, England
01539 721852
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Good for:
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 97 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Nice home cooked food

We popped in here for dinner on a Friday night and were warmly welcomed by the landlord. Nice menu and a good range of specials were on offer. I took a meal off the specials board while my friend opted for one off the regular menu. Both meals were excellent, and very good value. Both opted for... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 30, 2015
hugzee
,
Mold, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

We popped in here for dinner on a Friday night and were warmly welcomed by the landlord. Nice menu and a good range of specials were on offer. I took a meal off the specials board while my friend opted for one off the regular menu. Both meals were excellent, and very good value. Both opted for dessert and again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The hospitality shown to my wife and I late on a Friday night while waiting for transport to arrive was exceptional and very much appreciated. I will return for a meal and a couple of pints on my next visit to Kendal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

My wife and I stumbled across this little gem last week whilst on a long weekend at the lakes. We were welcomed by the landlord and locals with open arms when we dropped in for a drink and ended up returning for dinner the following night. The food was real home cooked no nonsense and very tasty. There was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We popped in for a pint during our recent weekend break to Kendal. The pub was presentable and the beer good but we were disappointed by the service we received. My husband was served by two people, who we assumed were brother and sister due to how they were communicating with each other and both appeared to be having a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your drinking experience with us. I have spoken to the staff concerned and unfortunately can not remember the situation you have described. As you can see from previous comments left by customers, people are very happy with the service they receive. In fact it is one of the main aspects that they comment... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We visited today (9/3/15) and had lunch after ducking in to avoid the rain. What an amazing accidental find! The owners who greeted us could not have been any friendlier or more helpful. We had roast beef and a mixed grill. Both meals were delicious and really great value for the food we had. We would 100% visit again and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

Visiting Kendal and went in on off chance. Great choice of beers/cider, staff and customers friendly. My friend had an enormous rag pudding with all the trimmings. Could perhaps include a veggie option in the main meal selection as the food I saw looked good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We only popped in for a quick drink Ended up staying for hours Made new friends The landlord is super friendly with a lovely mop of curly hair (lol) We will definitely be back Many thanks Paul and Claire

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Very friendly landlord & guest rabbits. We had some nice ciders & we released the kraken( rum) would recommend a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

As I live in the area I call in from time to time and probably would do so more often if I lived nearer. You always get a friendly welcome and well kept real ales. It is also one of the few pubs that do food. They do it really well and at a reasonable price. I can't relate to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We have been to Kendal twice in the past two years and both times visited the globe and were met with such friendship and hospitality as if we were family, and on our last visit in the summer we were invited to attend Vivienne's birthday bash, even our dog Oscar was invited, we cannot praise this establishment enough and cannot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 Market Place, Kendal LA9 4TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal
  • Phone Number: 01539 721852

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 15
  • Cuisine: English, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Globe Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?