We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 110 Kendal Restaurants

The Globe Inn

8 Market Place, Kendal LA9 4TN, England
01539 721852
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $11 - $16
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    7
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

Pop in had roast turkey dinner, I asked service and say yeah put more nice vegetable really good full, no need pudding myself.. Other day had chill con carne it's really lovely taste.. One night seen folk group it's nice meet people's are friendly.. Looking forward back again next year :) xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Bad reviews sabotage one review does not make me think they are genuine how nasty can some people be? I never thought trip adviser could be used to pass personal remarks how rude.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Went to the pub this afternoon. Chose the pub as it had a 5 star food hygiene rating. Big mistake. Informed by the waiter that there was a slice of pie left so ordered that. Food arrived quickly but it all went down hill from there. Pastry was soggy and the pie had little flavour. Then found a massive hair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
moneybox666
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Couldn't find anywhere decent to eat on a Sunday in late Novemberso we settled for The Globe mostly due to its 5 star hygeine rating. Landlord tried to make us feel welcome but his attire left a lot to be desired,really dirty and scruffy, with wild tatty hair. When we tried to order he didn't know what the soup of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We were walking past this place and I couldn't help but hear the music that was playing - I vaguely recognized it, and had to go inside and ask what it was. The landlord confirmed that it was the theme from Out of Africa. He also challenged me to request any piece of music - if he didn't have it,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very happy that people can enjoy their taste in music in this establishment. P.S we have both of your next choices including a live version of 'Living by Numbers' Thank you More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Dropped in Friday night after arriving in Kendal. It was dead but the landlord and the beer was spot on! Thwaites Lancaster Bomber on hand pulled....bliss :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thirsk
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Firstly I have to say the pub looks really nice and I loved the woodwork upstairs.... However, being greeted by a sticky table and a 15 minute wait before a waitress gave us the time of day was annoying, so we placed our order and off she toots... 5 minutes later we are told there is no tuna and would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ostrius, Thank you for your report on Trip Advisor. As you know constructive criticism can be useful if all the facts are reported. If however it is an unjust, scathing report it can be harm a small business in an already cut throat market. We take all reported problems om board and try and resolve them. Having a sticky... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

The Globe inn staff are great make you feel welcome to there family pub if you need something ask if you have a complaint don't just post on tripadvisor. I drink and eat in this family pub and it's clean tidy the food is good a in house chef who makes his own pies a must try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

went recently for a meal with my partner. the welcome we received was very friendly. Went upstairs for a meal, which was a classic pub feed. Portions very big and served nice and hot. Staff are great, serving with big smiles. The decor is a little outdated, maybe a makeover is in need (upstairs only). Because of the service and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

waitress first day, so had to repeat things few times. She did not know anything about the menu. Food arrived, fish looked like it was cheap, frozen, that had been deep fried. Burgers where all cut up into triangles in the bun. No taste to any of food. Place needs a good clean and modernising. Staffs presentation should of warned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Disappointed' Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We, as a team, are very sorry you did not enjoy you experience at our establishment. As you can see from our earlier customers they were very satisfied with the service, food and general ambiance of the Globe Inn. As for the fish, you have to deep fry it. 80%... More 

Travelers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Address: 8 Market Place, Kendal LA9 4TN, England
Phone Number: 01539 721852
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Average Prices: USD 11 - 16
Cuisine: English, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Globe Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?