We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 91 Ambleside Restaurants

Lucy's on a Plate

Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BU, England
+44 (0)1539 431191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 91 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $16 - $47
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Lucy's on a plate has been operational now for over 20 years and offers a unique and quirky dining experience - everchanging but the ethos remaining the same - catering for a variety of different palates - especially popular for the range of gluten free dishes and delicious desserts ... over 30 desserts daily made on the premises from Borrowdale Sticky Banana Pudding through to Apple and Almond Eve's Pudding as well as innovative and inventive temptations. Ensure you book for the evening menu and you could find yourself mentioned in dispatches-great for birthdays and special occasions - there's a lovely large table for bigger groups (up to 16) and special celebrations are most welcome, without destroying the romantic ambience in the evening - the menu is changed daily with a wide range of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes(gluten free again marked clearly on the menus)! Join us for Brunch and Lunch at Lucy's from 12pm, Sunday Lunches (on Sundays of course!) and lots of choice throughout the week. Lucy's chooses locally to cook globally. Dine or drink ... with friends, family, loved ones or on your own - Lucy's is a place that once discovered - you'll never forget.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    247
    153
    144
    144
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

We have eaten in Lucys many times over many years and never had a bad experience. On this occasion we were travelling home from Keswick and decided to stop in Lucy's for Brunch. The menu was different from our previous visit but as always innovative and covering all tastes. My husband wanted a breakfast and so settled on the stacker... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

I have been to Lucy's On A Plate several times over the past few years but probably wouldn't go back. It remains a very charming place, and in fairness, two of our party were satisfied with their choices. The menu offers a wide and varied selection - so I may have just chosen badly.....my starter was a very small pot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

We ate here last night and though the food was ok it wasn't anything special. When it first opened it was something really special but there are so many other great resteraunts in Ambleside now it needs to up its game to compete especially when charging London prices. The staff were friendly and service relatively quick but the place lacked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 NEW

Staying in Grasmere, we decided to venture further afield. There was 'no room at the inn' at the Britannia at Elterwater. So to the bright lights and big city of Ambleside. Lucy's was just right, helpful and attentive staff. Avoid the local lager, peroni so much better. The pater starter was lovely. Venison burger and chicken also good. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I've been to a couple of places in the Lucy's chain in the past and always had a good experience but I don't think I will return. This Sunday we popped in for tea and cake after a walk in the Lakes and had the most terrible service. The waitresses were surly, never smiled ONCE and took the orders randomly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucyonaplate, Guest Relations Manager at Lucy's on a Plate, responded to this review

Dear KLondonK, Thank you for your review and I am disappointed to note your comments regarding your afternoon tea at Lucy's on a plate on Sunday just gone. I am especially saddened to think that you have visited us with enjoyment on other occasions, but have summarily dismissed visiting us again following this particular experience, something that I feel is... More 

St. Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We were a party of 10 and we were given a really warm welcome by the staff even though we had not booked for dinner. On arrival, a small room was quickly prepared for us and the table layout was ideal for our group. Drinks and food were excellent and served without fuss. I would like to thank all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

Having been to lucys a number of times before, I was keen to visit once again for my birthday. The restaurant appeared to be full with tables very close to each other - subsequently realised there was another room not being used. Whilst waiting for our food, two tables left due to lack of attention by the waiting staff -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucyonaplate, Guest Relations Manager at Lucy's on a Plate, responded to this review

What a cheek ... and I don't even think you are a genuine reviewer. First of all, I think that your 'personal' and inaccurate comments regarding 'Lucy' are extremely insulting and untrue. Secondly, your review indicates to me that it is highly unlikely that you have ever visited Lucy's on a plate otherwise you would be familiar with the layout... More 

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We had beautiful chocolate cake and scones after a long walk. Lovely atmosphere with the real fire. Great service very homely. Would definitely recommend for lunch or a coffee stop,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Having visited Lucy's on a Plate several times previously, I had arranged for a note on the evening menu to thank my mum for her help with my ironing. This is such a lovely, personal touch and one which my mum is still talking about a week later. Lucy and her staff chatted to my mum throughout the evening and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Lucy's is a great place to eat out day and night. Very busy so try and book first. There are plenty of car park spaces in the local roads outside Lucy's. I find Lucy's very good as they can suggest meals for me that are gluten free.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Lucy's on a Plate also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Lucy's on a Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucy's on a Plate

Address: Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BU, England
Phone Number: +44 (0)1539 431191
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Ambleside
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 16 - 47
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lucy's on a Plate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?