We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Common, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8BX, England
+44 1892 618854
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Wed 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 266 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 142
    Excellent
  • 80
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Lovely surroundings, good food and drink

We found this by accident but it was lovely - very nice to sit outside on their patio by the caves, lovely seafood platter we shared for lunch, and the staff were really friendly. Would definitely go back.

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 20, 2015
308jop
,
Horsham, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We found this by accident but it was lovely - very nice to sit outside on their patio by the caves, lovely seafood platter we shared for lunch, and the staff were really friendly. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMountEdgcumbe, Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Hi 308jop, Many thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We love to hear your feedback and your positive comments have been passed on to the whole team. We are glad you accidentally found us and look forward to another intentional visit soon! Best Wishes, Mount Edgcumbe More 

Kalgoorlie, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

the pub is in a pleasant location, and we were able to sit outside and enjoy views of the common and rocks. We had a seafood platter share for lunch, which included a generous amount of smoked salmon and pate. Bar staff were pleasant. Fairly good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMountEdgcumbe, Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Hi Gill, Thank you very much for reviewing the Mount Edgcumbe, we really appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Mount Edgcumbe More 

Pembury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Went here last night for a friends birthday, lovely pub, friendly staff and fantastic food. My Friend got a glass of bubbly as it was her birthday. The food was amazing and the service was great. Will definitely be going back soon. Loads of seating out side for a sunny day

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMountEdgcumbe, Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Many thanks for reviewing the Mount Edgcumbe! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us celebrating your friend's birthday. Your positive comments have been passed on to the whole team - It is always a pleasure and we look forward to your return! Best Wishes, Mount Edgcumbe More 

Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

The venue is wonderful especially on a sunny day and the staff were efficient and attentive to our table, however overall I thought the food was rather disappointing for this class of establishment. Both for me and my sister, the ham hock terrine starter was dry and rather tasteless even with the chutney provided - there were very few toasts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMountEdgcumbe, Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Dear Ross, Thank you for reviewing the Mount Edgcumbe and giving your feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoy our venue and our service. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal as you had expected, I can assure you that our chefs use high quality, fresh local ingredients and prepare all of our... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Lovely surroundings and the perfect evening for a Pimms on the patio but sadly what arrived was a huge disappointment. A pint glass filled to the brim with weak Pimms and a few bits of fruit floating around was not what I would expect from here. Come on you can do better .... Check out all the pubs around you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMountEdgcumbe, Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Hello Fran, Thank you for reviewing the Mount Edgcumbe and passing your feedback over to us. It is a shame that you did not enjoy your glass of Pimms in our garden- it seems that this was a one off - the description of your beverage does not reflect our usual serving style of Pimms, which is normally served with... More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We joined old friends here and had a splendid lunch for six of us. There is an excellent interesting menu, the presentation was superb, the service helpful and friendly, and the ingredients of great quality. Between us we enjoyed Starters of chilli squid, asparagus soup, and beetroot salad, and for mains battered haddock and delicious minted mushy peas, salmon, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMountEdgcumbe, Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Hello JJ, Many thanks for your lovely review of the Mount Edgcumbe. We are very pleased to hear your positive comments on our food and service, this has been communicated to our whole team who endeavor to provide a high quality experience for all of our customers. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Mount Edgcumbe More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We went for a family celebration and the service was first class. The food was outstandingly good and attractively presented. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The table was not cramped or too close to others which made for a very relaxed evening. I would definitely go back sooner rather than later.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMountEdgcumbe, Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us, and your compliments have been passed on to our chefs. We value our customers and it is pleasing to hear that that is reflected in our service. You are welcome any time to come and relax with us! Best Wishes, Mount... More 

Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Had a lovely meal here. Very reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and the hotel is situated in lovely surroundings. Would certainly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMountEdgcumbe, Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Hi there Mrslatic, Many thanks for your valued comments, we take pleasure in offering our customers high quality food and service, and hearing your feedback is important to us. Hoping to see you again! Best Wishes, Mount Edgcumbe More 

Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Visited for dinner with my work colleague. The service was wonderful and everyone was very friendly and helpful with detailed knowledge about the food so you know they would (and probably do) eat it themselves. Lovely rustic feel to it and the option to sit inside or outside or in the cave! Menu choice was good, and quite varied, quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMountEdgcumbe, Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, Thank you for reviewing the Mount Edgcumbe, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are sorry that your colleagues' steak was incorrectly cooked, however I am glad to hear that it was rectified appropriately as we do indeed prioritize customer service here. Thanks again for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing... More 

Macroom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I have visited here with some family while on hols. Lovely location, great staff and lovely food. I will definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMountEdgcumbe, General Manager at The Mount Edgcumbe, responded to this review

Dear Tish , Thank you very much for your review. We are all very pleased to hear that you had a lovely time when you last visited us . I will pass your kind words to both the Kitchen and Floor teams. Many thanks, The Mount Edgcumbe Team. Kind regards, Valentine. More 

Travelers who viewed The Mount Edgcumbe also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Mount Edgcumbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Edgcumbe

Address: The Common, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8BX, England
Phone Number: +44 1892 618854
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Royal Tunbridge Wells
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Average Prices: USD $8 to $47
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Common, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Royal Tunbridge Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1892 618854

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $8 to $47
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Mount Edgcumbe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Mount Edgcumbe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?