We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mrs Knott's Tea-Room

Certificate of Excellence
Tea Room
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
South Foreland Lighthouse, The Front | St Margaret's Bay, Dover CT15 6HP, England (Formerly Mrs Knott_s Tea-Room)
Website
Today
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Coffee & Tea, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 77 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 48
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Fantastic tea room

We went to Mrs Knotts tea room on the 23/05/2015 after our tour of the light house. The lady serving on the till was a delight. We had a cream tea for £4.95 you get 2 scones, clotted cream, jam, butter, and a pot of ( loose leave) tea served in bone china, we also had a hot chocolate which... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 23, 2015
laura211990
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

We went to Mrs Knotts tea room on the 23/05/2015 after our tour of the light house. The lady serving on the till was a delight. We had a cream tea for £4.95 you get 2 scones, clotted cream, jam, butter, and a pot of ( loose leave) tea served in bone china, we also had a hot chocolate which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

Great find, quaint, nostalgic with great food and snacks, after an hour walk it's just what we needed. We will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Wonderful coffee and scones. Even able to provide Mint Tea. The cheese scones were that good we had to take some away with us. The Fruit Scones Jam and cream a superb indulgence. Exceptionally nice staff made us feel very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wevelgem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Very cosy and delicious ! Great English tearoom. Great location . We had tea and brownie. Self serving, but that didn't bother us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

This was our second attempt to visit Mrs Knott's - be warned its a long blustery walk to find its closed!! Today the sun was shining (and the wind blowing) and when we arrived the cup of tea - served in beautiful china tea pots and cups - very welcome; and the huge slice of home made sponge was amazing!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theydon Bois, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Beautiful views but worst cup of tea ever!! The waitress was pleasant which is more than I can say for her leggings, which had more holes in than the tea strainer she gave me to use and really perhaps with hind sight you shouldn't wear white knickers under threadbare holey black leggings, just as well we were not eating, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NT_WCSFL, Manager at Mrs Knott's Tea-Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and I am sorry that you found the tea not to your taste. If you had informed a member of staff we could have rectified that issue. However I find your later comment completely inappropriate and question why you thought it was necessary to post it in the first place. It would have been more... More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

What a superb location for headroom. Fantastic views across the channel homemade cakes and biscuits tea and a lovely atmosphere. A good dose of nostalgia with a original gramaphone playing, an ambieance of the 40's makes this a great place after long walk along the cliffs. Well done to the NT you've hit the right spot in so many ways.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coventry
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Worth a visit - if for nothing else to have look round! An old world tea room with charm and character. look at some of the old newspapers... brought back lots of memories - also a great place after a blustery walk on the white cliffs... tea and cakes - yummy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walmer, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

This is a quaint tea room in the South Foreland Lighthouse with amazing views over the channel. The prawn sandwich was the best ever. Served in doorstep slices of fresh brown bread (although you can choose white) with potato crisps and a delicious small salad. I would love to keep this place a secret but the better half of me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

After a chilly, wind-blasted stroll along the Dover clifftops on New Year's Day, any café would have been a godsend, but it was a delight to find Mrs Knott's tea room at the base of the south foreland lighthouse. The tea (leaf, made in bone china teapots and served in bone china cups) was fabulous, as were the scones. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Mrs Knott's Tea-Room also viewed

 
St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover
 

Been to Mrs Knott's Tea-Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: South Foreland Lighthouse, The Front | St Margaret's Bay, Dover CT15 6HP, England (Formerly Mrs Knott_s Tea-Room)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dover

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Tea Room
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mrs Knott's Tea-Room and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mrs Knott's Tea-Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?