We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mrs Knott's Tea-Room

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
South Foreland Lighthouse, The Front | St Margaret's Bay, Dover CT15 6HP, England (Formerly Mrs Knott_s Tea-Room)
Website
Today
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 95 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 59
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Tea Room Well Worth A Visit

This is the first time that I have visited the Tea Room following a long walk along the clifftop and visiting the new underground gun emplacement tunnels. It was good to sit and enjoy afternoon tea with a variety of cakes. A very clean and efficient place with friendly staff.

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 30, 2015
contentedlady2015
,
Ripon, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

This is the first time that I have visited the Tea Room following a long walk along the clifftop and visiting the new underground gun emplacement tunnels. It was good to sit and enjoy afternoon tea with a variety of cakes. A very clean and efficient place with friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Lovely tea room, a step back in time. The homemade cakes were lovely and the tea was nice. On the top of the white cliffs it's got a beautiful location and a very relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Absolutely lovely tea room in picturesque surroundings. Feels like a step back in time. However, at 15.30 an egg sandwich which I couldn't even see was the only savoury left and the only place that has EVER charged me for tap water. For the sake of 5 pence I am not sure that it is worth making this terrible impression,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NT_WCSFL, Manager at Mrs Knott's Tea-Room, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your response I am sorry to hear you're under the misunderstanding that you have been charged for water as we do not and have never charged for water. I have asked all my colleagues to be sure of what I am saying is true as I am not there every day and none have charged... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Perfect tea for two on a Sunday afternoon served by very obliging volunteers who put their heart and soul into it. Good loose leaf tea, so rare these days and tasty home made cake. Couldn't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

A Tea Room with great ambience and charm – and the food is excellent - however, we did find that cream teas, pork pies and sausage rolls, the traditional British tea fare, were all gone by late afternoon – so my suggestion is too get there by early afternoon, if you desire something more substantial and traditional than the tea,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We stopped on our tour for a cup of tea and it was a delightful surprise. Homemade cakes and exquisite tea and coffee all served on beautiful China and super lovely service. Worth taking a trip to

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Love mrs Knotts. We always walk across the cliffs and do it in all weathers. Today it was sunny the sky larks were in full voice, and the fields full of swaying broad beans. The views of the harbour from up here are very cool giving a different perspective. Mrs Knots is magic. Tiny crammed full of oldy worldly evocita.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

The tearoom is on the bottom of an old lighthouse. There is a small inner yard to sit and lots of space outside. Inside are two rooms with chairs and tables and one to make orders. The staff was really nice and helpful. We had cream teas that came with two huge scones, clotted cream and jam of our choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Faversham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Cream tea comes (loose leaf) in an old fashioned tea pot with pretty, vintage cups and saucers. Two generous scones, clotted cream and jam can be consumed while listening to old 78s. Perfect refuelling before the windy, cliff top walk back to Dover. An excellent place to bring foreign visitors for a taste of 20th century England.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
deal
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Have visited this tearoom many times. and it never fails to please. Today I took 2 friends who live locally but had never visited before as they never knew of its existence! They loved it and thought it was a great place . Cheery staff. Glorious cakes . Fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Mrs Knott's Tea-Room also viewed

St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover
 
St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover
 

Been to Mrs Knott's Tea-Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs Knott's Tea-Room

Address: South Foreland Lighthouse, The Front | St Margaret's Bay, Dover CT15 6HP, England (Formerly Mrs Knott_s Tea-Room)
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dover
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: South Foreland Lighthouse, The Front | St Margaret's Bay, Dover CT15 6HP, England (Formerly Mrs Knott_s Tea-Room)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dover

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mrs Knott's Tea-Room and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mrs Knott's Tea-Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?