We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Moat Tea Rooms

67 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HJ, England
01227 784514
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 283 restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Most recent review
- Jul 27, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    57
    19
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW via mobile

Had a very nice lunch today. Great selection of speciality teas and coffees. Lots to pick and choose from the menu. Tucked away in a quiet corner of the city a pleasant break from the hustle and bustle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Croydon UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

We visited today for tea with our daughter, partner and baby granddaughter. My husband had tried to have lunch here, but they were full - instead they kindly reserved a table for us for tea. Even though we had a buggy and there isn't much room downstairs, staff were kind and accomodating and couldn't have been more helpful. Tea was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I took my girlfriend here for cream tea and we had a fab experience, the staff were very warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. It's a very quirky old building which helps to build a great level of character to the whole experience! I'd reccomend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

gorgeous, quaint, tasty.. and i'm not just talking about the staff ;) had a lovely afternoon here for my birthday, tried quite a selection of cakes as they all looked so darn good i couldn't decide, all home made as well! exceptional customer service, quite a different experience from going to a coffee shop chain and just being another customer,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My Son took me here for afternoon Tea for my 50th Birthday. I have always wanted to go for afternoon tea and It was everything i hoped for and more, When the staff found out we where there for my 50th they brought us a bottle of champagne to the table compliments of the manager.. The staff were so friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was recommended to the moat tea rooms by a friend of mine. She raves about it so I thought I'd give it a try. I love that it is a small family business and found the staff so friendly and the service was amazing! I was greeted as soon as I walked in and chose to sit upstairs. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have been coming to the Moat Tea Rooms for more than 5 years now and we have always had good service and good quality creams teas, good value for money. We always come with a group of about 50 students (2x25) and they always appreciatie what they get, which is a typically English cream tea in a typically old-fashioned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The scones were very poor quality and served with Elmlea instead of clotted cream. Elmlea?! Was quite expensive too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KpSandhu, Owner at The Moat Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Hello there, I'm sorry to here you didn't enjoy your time with us. For your information we only serve clotted cream, I'm very confused to why you thought it was otherwise. Please advise me of the day you came to see us, so I can investigate further. Otherwise, if your willing to give us another chance, please come in again... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Wonderful quaint little teahouse. Quirky, but with wonderful atmosphere. Large variety of teaser and coffees , Aldo Good freak homemade cake selection. Well worth a visitare when you come into Canterbury. Full market.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Step back in time and indulge yourself. I was treated to special afternoon tea as a christmas gift by my sister and what a delight it was. So go and treat yourself or treat someone else, it really is a special experience. No clunky mugs or paper cups - quintessentially British at it's best.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Moat Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
 
Canterbury, Kent
Canterbury, Kent
 
Canterbury, Kent

Been to The Moat Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moat Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing