We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whistling Duck

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
British, Wine Bar, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lower Hatfield Rd, Riverside Garden Centre, Hertford SG13 8XX, England
+44 1992 514726
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Mon 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Tue - Sat 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Description: On the doorstep of the historic town of Hertford, The Whistling Duck is a...
On the doorstep of the historic town of Hertford, The Whistling Duck is a unique dining experience, complete with an A La Carte restaurant, lounge bar and tranquil riverside terrace. You'll find us tucked away on the banks of the meandering River Lea, overlooking the charming Hertfordshire countryside.

Head Chef Marlon Erne and his talented team craft a seasonal menu of Modern British cuisine, full of innovative dishes and outstanding produce. Marlon's training in the Philippines and love of full Asian flavours also makes a feisty appearance in a special dish or two.

Whether you're joining us for a relaxed lunch, business meeting, evening of fine food or a chilled glass of Prosecco on the terrace, we look forward to offering you a warm welcome to our riverside oasis.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 291 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 154
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lovely evening with friends

Met some friends here for dinner on Saturday night, the food was fab as were the staff. We were greeted when we arrived, and our drinks order taken very quickly. Whilst we sat in the lounge area, we were given our menus and able to peruse them at leisure whilst enjoying a drink and a chat, once we... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 6 days ago
SOLAZZO
,
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Met some friends here for dinner on Saturday night, the food was fab as were the staff. We were greeted when we arrived, and our drinks order taken very quickly. Whilst we sat in the lounge area, we were given our menus and able to peruse them at leisure whilst enjoying a drink and a chat, once we had placed... More 

Helpful?
Thank SOLAZZO
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good meal nothing special, atmosphere is lacking a bit unless you get a seat near the river. food arrived quickly and staff were pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank kiwiNic94
Dane End
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for Sunday lunch and was very nice with a really good standard of food. There has been a recent change of management (the assistant manager was very welcoming) following the previous retiring, and whilst it was good before there has definitely been a slight improvement in food and service. The crab & crayfish starter was lovely (very tasty), as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisG_N10
Southeast Romania, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Scallops beef chickenduck breast steak risotto childrens meals all food was best quality lovely selection of vegetables all served hot and for a change hot plates Sunday after Xmas not very busy shame service let them down one fish cakes missing came after the rest of the table had finished staff never came near the table very often we gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandranicholls0612
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

We went to The Whistling Duck last Sunday for lunch with a party of six family members and whilst the food was excellent the service was poor. Having sat down and ordered a bottle of champagne we were then ignored for quite a time. We had to ask for rolls to be brought to the table and eventually our order... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank David I
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

We had a Xmas party of 28 people. The food was excellent, really well cooked and presented, the service was brilliant, the staff were courteous and efficient, and a great night out had by all. Well done guys

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl R
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

My first visit here but I will definitely be coming back. I had a lovely evening the food was amazing and the service was excellent from friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Nicky C
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015 via mobile

food was amazing, lovely manager and the disco was great for the younger girls, lovely staff and great atmosphere! definitely coming again!

Helpful?
Thank Jess B
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015 via mobile

Amazing. We went for a meal on the 4th of December for a Christmas meal with friends. Food was delicious!! Staff were amazing and everyone made it such a lovely atmosphere. The disco was such fun also! Thank you to everyone you made it such a good evening.

Helpful?
Thank beccamp_x
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

I booked a Xmas party for 21 of us to enjoy but unfortunately this establishment fell very short of the mark. I found the manager to be rude, unaccomodating and not very good at even trying to appease her customers. We spent about £800 in total. There was errors with dishes which the manager didn't even want to change rectify... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nikkigh2015
WhistlingDuck, Owner at The Whistling Duck, responded to this review

Within the terms and conditions of our Christmas party bookings we require the menu choice two weeks before the event. We received this SIGNED by yourself giving these choices. you come in with an amendment after this date which we accomodated however on the night you had completely changed the order! We order all our food in fresh that morning... More 

Travelers who viewed The Whistling Duck also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Whistling Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lower Hatfield Rd, Riverside Garden Centre, Hertford SG13 8XX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hertford
  • Phone Number: +44 1992 514726

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 24 - 64
  • Cuisine: British, Wine Bar, Gastropub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children

Description

On the doorstep of the historic town of Hertford, The Whistling Duck is a unique dining experience, complete with an A La Carte restaurant, lounge bar and tranquil riverside terrace. You'll find us tucked away on the banks of the meandering River Lea, overlooking the charming Hertfordshire countryside.

Head Chef Marlon Erne and his talented team craft a seasonal menu of Modern British cuisine, full of innovative dishes and outstanding produce. Marlon's training in the Philippines and love of full Asian flavours also makes a feisty appearance in a special dish or two.

Whether you're joining us for a relaxed lunch, business meeting, evening of fine food or a chilled glass of Prosecco on the terrace, we look forward to offering you a warm welcome to our riverside oasis.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Whistling Duck staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?