We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Vine

Certificate of Excellence
$$
British, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
01962 854 616
Website
Add hours for The Old Vine and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 453 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 221
    Excellent
  • 156
    Very good
  • 48
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
A pretty swift lunchtime visit...

A warm welcome, a lovely pint of ale, a lovely setting, a 'snack' lunch in the bar what more could you ask? Sited on the periphery of Winchester Cathedral Green the Old Vine is in a beautiful historic setting. It was a 'damp old day' (in June!) so we popped in for a snack lunch. I had a splendid... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 5, 2015
DaiDavies2312
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Add Photo

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 NEW

Popped in here on the off chance during a short break to the city in February (catching up on reviews!). We were so lucky as we managed to get what was, the last table at the time. As others have said, the food and service were excellent. In fact, I'd give 6* if I could. Although the restaurant was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 NEW

We went for a girls lunch, we started with drinks in the bar, and decided to stay for a late lunch. We didn't order the food until about 2.15, but there wasn't any problems with a late lunch, and they were still serving people after us. The restaurant and bar area were both very busy, but the food came along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

We tried to book a table but there were none available. Always a good sign. We sat outside instead and drank the excellent real ales and the glorious view of the cathedral and the people walking past. The following day we were too early for the main food menu, but again sat outside and ate the fish finger sandwich, drinking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Wonderful! Very glad to hear that. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Ate here on a wet, Spring, Sunday lunchtime. We ate in the bar, full of people. Very busy but service was quick. Food was what you would expect from a busy pub. I had risotto with salad, not a bad meal choice, the rice was well cooked and the salad was fresh and well dressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

That's good to hear, glad you enjoyed your visit. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard (4 different main courses all excellent) and the service especially stood out – seamlessly done by different members of staff at different stages who were all very professional and charming; the pace was perfect which is not always the case on such busy nights in city restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Wonderful! Thank you for posting your comments, it's great to see you enjoyed your visit. Please visit us again soon. More 

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

I'd heard great things about The Old Vine and tried to visit twice before. Once it was closed for renovations and the next time I didn't make it before they stopped serving lunch. It's got a lovely old pub feel and we were greeted by very friendly staff. Unfortunately there was something wrong with the fizzy drinks machine that day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your visit. The soda machine was fixed on the same day so spritzers and other fizzy drinks are back on the menu. Sorry there wasn't enough dressing for your liking - I trust one of my colleagues fetched some when you asked. Likewise the temperature of your coffee -... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

A warm welcome, a lovely pint of ale, a lovely setting, a 'snack' lunch in the bar what more could you ask? Sited on the periphery of Winchester Cathedral Green the Old Vine is in a beautiful historic setting. It was a 'damp old day' (in June!) so we popped in for a snack lunch. I had a splendid local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Lovely food and atmosphere. We had the steak & ale pie & lamb chops. Both were delicious as were as our desserts. Service was attentive and the setting close to the cathedral is nice. Good selection of beers Would definitely come back if I was in Winchester.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thanks! We're pleased you enjoyed your visit. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

We went for lunch and after a frosty welcome a girl with plaits we were seated by a more cheerful chap. The restaurant is nice and menu had a great selection. We started by sharing the prawn and avocado salad which was yummy, followed by mussels for my partner and I had lamb chops. Good was very good although I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit. Bread v chips with mussels? All depends on customer preference, some prefer mussels served the French way, with lots of bread, others with chips and lots of mayo, as the Belgians like it. In any case if you prefer bread to chips, just let us know - we'll... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Ate here on the first night of a two night stay in Winchester and was delighted with whole experience. Next to cathedral in delightful old traditional building, very busy, but best of all food was excellent and good value. Great night

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! That's great to hear More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Vine also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Twyford, Winchester
 

Been to The Old Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vine

Address: 8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
Phone Number: 01962 854 616
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
Average Prices: USD 14 - 27
Cuisine: British, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: 01962 854 616

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 27
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Vine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?