We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Vine

Certificate of Excellence
$$
British, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
01962 854 616
Website
Add hours for The Old Vine and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 418 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 202
    Excellent
  • 143
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great location, lovely food

Had a wonderful weekend, friendly staff, busy bussing atmosphere. The Food was excellent. The view out of the window to the cathedral was lovely. Would definitely eat here again when we visit Winchester in the future.

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
Niki M
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

We liked the menu, but were told "we're not family friendly, try elsewhere." We have a quiet 2 month old that sits on our laps. Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

I'm sorry we weren't able to accommodate you on your visit. As we are a hotel and restaurant primarily for adults we have a minimum age policy of six years in the bar and restaurant, but we do have a separate area for families that is perfect for accommodating guests with younger children - in fact we have a christening... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

Had a wonderful weekend, friendly staff, busy bussing atmosphere. The Food was excellent. The view out of the window to the cathedral was lovely. Would definitely eat here again when we visit Winchester in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

A beautiful building with friendly atmosphere and friendly helpful staff. We had food from lunch menu which was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Great! Thanks for your comments. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

Had dinner at The Old Vine with friends and can definitely recommend it. The service was good, the ambience great and the food very good. I can whole heartedly recommend the Banoffee Cheesecake, which was second to none!

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thanks, glad you had a good time. The cheesecake is delicious, isn't it?! More 

Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Lovely food, nice atmosphere in pleasant surroundings. I would always recommend booking for any evening meal, however you can get a table at lunch time. Menu selection was very good and generally service was good. On our visit we were seated at 6 and all finished ready for drinks in Winchester just after 8.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

That's good to hear! Thanks for taking the time to post your comments, we appreciate the feedback More 

Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Visited Winchester with a friend, travelling from Chistchurch by train. Thoroughly recommended for a day out, train to Winchester, browse the shops, tour of the cathedral, walk across the grass to the Old Vine, long, lazy lunch from the bar meal menu, ham, egg and chips, creme brûlée, a nice bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon, more shop browsing, train home. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! Glad you had an enjoyable visit. More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I was on my own passing through Winchester and wanted something tasty for lunch. The Old Vine is just opposite the museum and cathedral, a lovely building and absolutely packed at 13.30 on a pleasant Thursday in early March. But there was one table left so I was immediately seated, given a menu and asked what I would like to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, General Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review

That's great to hear! We hope you'll visit us again some time. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We went to The Old Vine for a weekend evening meal for four. The menu was excellent with a wonderful variety on offer. All four of our starters were superb and thoroughly enjoyed, good flavours and beautiful presentation. The squid was well cooked and a pleasure to see that is was plentiful. The mains were again excellent. Fish cooked extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Oh dear, what a shame. I'm sorry you were let down by the service on an otherwise enjoyable experience. I'll pass on your comments to the restaurant manager, particularly regarding the tip. It's always best practice for staff to return any change in its entirety and allow the customer to leave a tip as desired. Avoids any embarrassment. Once again,... More 

England's Green & Pleasant Locations
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Our group had a delicious and inventive lunch - including Lentil soup with Moroccan spices; Ham Hock Salad; Fish Finger Sandwich; Falafel & Salad. Tasty, wholesome food. Great service. Toilet and hand basin facilities good, but expect to queue when the restaurant is busy. Very popular venue so booking is recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your visit. More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

If you are lucky enough to get a table, then make a resevation, but make sure you visit this lovely pub/restaurant. Good food, reasonably priced, fast service and pleasant atmosphere. The most popular sandwich around is the fish finger sandwich and looked yummy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, General Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, it's appreciated. And yes the fish finger sarnie is definitely our most popular lunch item - outsells the next bestseller by 2 to 1! More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Vine also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: 01962 854 616

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 27
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Vine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?