We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Vine

Certificate of Excellence
$$
British, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
01962 854 616
Website
Add hours for The Old Vine and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 403 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 192
    Excellent
  • 140
    Very good
  • 43
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Very good food.

Really good food, good portions, good selection on the menu. Very reasonably priced. Wine by the glass priced well. Nice Cosy atmosphere .Romantic.

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 4, 2015
wilba2015
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 NEW

Really good food, good portions, good selection on the menu. Very reasonably priced. Wine by the glass priced well. Nice Cosy atmosphere .Romantic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

We had a celebratory meal here which catered for varying tastes and diets within our group . varied, reasonably priced gastropubby style food in pleasant convivial surroundings with friendly and efficient staff. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was served with a smile. The food Itself was delicious and we all enjoyed our meals . reasonably priced drinks too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Busy little venue, popular with locals. It's slightly odd in terms of menu from the outside you expect pub classics, yet you won't find any - instead the menu is a mish-mash of tastes from around the world. Nothing wrong with that all at if your looking for a pub pie and chips, fish and chips or just a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we appreciate the feedback, although I'm not sure whose menu you were looking at to come up with your conclusion! There are lots of "pubby" choices on our menu: ploughman's (cheddar, blue, ham, pork pie, or combination thereof); a lovely steak and ale cottage pie with fresh veggies; scampi and chips; ham, egg and chips; a... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

we asked for a quiet table for two but got a table right in the heart of the room. We ordered the lamb stew which was tasty but not wow

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Although we do try to accommodate our clients' requests it isn't always possible so sorry if you were disappointed with your table selection. Did you ask to be moved? I'm sure the waiting staff would have tried to move your reservation had you asked. We hope you might try us again in the future. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Attentive staff, good choice of food on menu. Very nice atmosphere and if you can get a table by the window lovely veiws of the Cathedral grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we appreciate it. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Accommodating bar staff who managed to find us a table in the restaurant. Good selection of ales. Really tasty food, even for vegetarians. Lovely atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stopped to have lunch at the old vine whilst out shopping for the day in Winchester. It was packed! Definitely book so you are not disappointed - luckily we managed to get the last table available in the bar area. We had been recommended to stop and have lunch here and were not disappointed! The fish finger sandwich was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! Glad you had a nice time. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We unfortunately visited between the lunch and dinner hours, but nonetheless really enjoyed our "bar snack" food: ploughmans, pork pie, and chips. I would absolutely return for their dinner menu, the whole experience was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your visit. Just to clarify for prospective customers reading your review: the bar snack menu is only available between 3pm and 6pm on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. Our fulllunch service is 12 until 2.30pm (until 3pm Saturday and Sunday). We hope to see you again soon. More 

Wombourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

From the outside it does not luck like anything special but try the restaurant you will be pleasantly surprised - Great Menu ,great value and excellent beer including Leffe Blonde on draft .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theoldvine, Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thanks, we hope to see you again. More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Popped in for a spot of lunch. Ales lovely, ambience lovely. Reasonable priced, lovely staff. Good came out quickly and it was delicious. Nothing more to be said really other than we shall return. Would look to possibly stay there too it was that nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it! More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Vine also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: 01962 854 616

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 27
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Vine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?