We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Vine

Certificate of Excellence
$$
British, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
01962 854 616
Website
Add hours for The Old Vine and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 424 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 206
    Excellent
  • 145
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
1 night stay in Winchester

We booked in advance, luckily as it was a very busy place. The service was very good, the food too was very good. The prices were very reasonable. Good evening had by all.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2015
Sheilab2948
,
Kettering, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 NEW

Have been many times to this pub/restaurant as the pub has a unique quirkiness about it and the restaurant provides a relaxed area for socialising and eating quality food/wine/beer. Yet again maintained its star rating and a place we never tire off going to

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 NEW

I had seen this restaurant through a search engine and the reviews and the menu all looked good. We arrived at 12 having not booked a table, it was a busy Saturday so we knew we were taking a risk. The waiter was very helpful and although the restaurant was fully booked they had a table that was a much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! So pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We booked in advance, luckily as it was a very busy place. The service was very good, the food too was very good. The prices were very reasonable. Good evening had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Lovely! Very pleased you enjoyed your visit. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Amazing restaurant ! Just in front of the cathedral. Everything was perfect : food, service, decoration... And not expensive ! The risotto was perfectly cooked, and the food was fresh and well-prepared ! We recommend this restaurant for a lunch or a dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

That's great to hear - we hope to welcome you back very soon. More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Four of us spent ten days traveling around England and we were surprised by how much fun we had in Winchester.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! Feedback always welcome. More 

Helston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Popped in for a quick lunch - fab cauliflower and stilton soup for me and falafel salad for him. So enjoyed it that we went again in the evening. I had fantastic risotto and hubby had haddock chowder. Everything we ate was flavoursome and beautifully cooked. The wine was excellent too and all reasonably priced. I would advise booking as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Brilliant to hear! Hope to see you again very soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We liked the menu, but were told "we're not family friendly, try elsewhere." We have a quiet 2 month old that sits on our laps. Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

I'm sorry we weren't able to accommodate you on your visit. As we are a hotel and restaurant primarily for adults we have a minimum age policy of six years in the bar and restaurant, but we do have a separate area for families that is perfect for accommodating guests with younger children - in fact we have a christening... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Had a wonderful weekend, friendly staff, busy bussing atmosphere. The Food was excellent. The view out of the window to the cathedral was lovely. Would definitely eat here again when we visit Winchester in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

A beautiful building with friendly atmosphere and friendly helpful staff. We had food from lunch menu which was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Great! Thanks for your comments. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Had dinner at The Old Vine with friends and can definitely recommend it. The service was good, the ambience great and the food very good. I can whole heartedly recommend the Banoffee Cheesecake, which was second to none!

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review

Thanks, glad you had a good time. The cheesecake is delicious, isn't it?! More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Vine also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: 01962 854 616

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 27
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Vine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?