We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Esquina

40 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DP, England
02380225227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 610 restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Vegetarian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: La Esquina is a small, family run restaurant, serving a wide range of traditional and tasty Spanish tapas. Tapas are small dishes of delicious food, ideal to mix and match to your own preferences. A tapas meal is a very casual and sociable way of eating. Ideal to share and enjoy different tastes and textures. Choose from our comprehensive menu or add dishes from our specials board. Many of our dishes are suitable for vegetarians and almost all of our dishes are gluten free. Apart from our hot and cold tapas selection we also have some delicious home-made desserts. Tapas eating is great to celebrate all kind of occasions in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. We are more than happy to cater for small or large groups and to discuss your individual requirements with you. To accompany your meal we have a great range of Spanish wines as well as Spanish beers and cider. We are open Monday to Saturday from 11 a.m. so why not call in for a coffee, (light) lunch, business meeting or dinner with friends or family? Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you soon at La Esquina.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    131
    46
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

Good service, nice tapas. I've seen some criticism of the dessert menu, but we liked the options - chocolate orange mousse, Bailey's cheesecake and tiramisu were all enjoyed by our group. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Great atmosphere; if you want a "feel good" dining experience in Oxford Street this summer head for this restaurant. Everything about it is a pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We dined here as a group of four and having been here on many occasions found the service ,food and ambience to be perfect as it always has been . We chose a number of hot tapas dishes including the scallops and chorizo from the specials board which is a must if you like scallops . Even though there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Started our evening with a glass of Sangria, olives and bread outside enjoying the sunshine. Lovely waiting staff, service had a great pace throughout the evening. Great variety of Tapas, excellent quality and superb value for money. Highly recommended, without reservation! Debbie & Gerry

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and recommendations. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found our menu to offer a good selection of dishes at a good value price. Also lovely to hear that you were able to take advantage of some 'alfresco' dining on our terrace! We hope to see you again soon. More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Everything about La Esquina is just great. It's unpretentious, welcoming, comfortable, affordable and the food is the best Tapas I have ever eaten in or outside of Spain. Gluten and dairy free requirements are very easily provided and with no reduction in flavour. I loved the atmosphere in this restaurant - and so does my daughter who is a regular... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. It's great to hear that we have become a 'favourite' place for you and your daughter. Also it's really good to hear that you find our food authentic to Spain and tasty! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you and your family again soon. More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you are looking for a posh dinner, posh table cloths, expensively fine wine and dining, this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for an authentic recreation of Spanish Tapas in a small restaurant/cafe, then this definitely is. Nothing is rushed, but then neither would it be in Spain, but equally, the staff are as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive and detailed review. It's great to hear from customers who really appreciate what we do at La Esquina - as you rightly say, we have tried to re create the authentic feel of a Spanish tapas bar here in Southampton. We truly value your comments and feedback and hope we will see you again soon. More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We are here on a busy Saturday night and despite the rush, the staff, especially the chef, went out of their way to be accommodating to our specific food requirements. The food was wonderful and there were empty plates all round! Service was quick and the portion sizes good for a tapas restaurant. Definitely a recommendation to any gluten intolerant/celiacs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and recommendations. We're glad that we were able to cater to your specific dietary needs and help you to get the most out of your meal. Once we identified what you needed, it really was very easy to adapt our dishes to your needs and cook them separately. We would be delighted to see... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Its been a long time since I have had such a bad experience at a restaurant, especially with the staff - in this case being the manager. We went to this restaurant based on fairly decent reviews and it being highly ranked. (I'd like to make this point as the manager thought we never wanted to come to the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review

To anyone reading this wordy review all I can say is that I'm sure every restaurant will have those customers who think it is acceptable to: be seated on a busy night without making a reservation order only a few dishes for a table of 4 people drink only water with their meal be rude to waiting staff expect to... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

With only a few people in the restaurant, the several waitresses had no reason not to be attentive. Despite ordering well before a group of 10, the other group had ordered, eaten and left before we even received our second dish of 15 dishes ordered. Waiting 2 hours for our first tapas dish to come out and then a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review

I'm not quite sure exactly when you visited our restaurant so it is quite difficult to respond to your somewhat vague comments. However I do know that no customer would wait 2 hours for their food however busy or quiet we may be, so this is surely a huge exaggeration. As you say, there were several waitresses that you could... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The food took 1 hour and 20 minutes to arrive. We were originally warned the food would take 20 minutes, which isn't really anything to be concerned about. 40 minutes passed and each time we asked 'how much longer?', we were told 'another 10 minutes'. The food was nothing special and frankly not worth waiting for. When my friend confronted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review

so lets talk attitude,your friend is possibly the worst person Ive met,not even wanting to listen to anything I had to say,in fact, you people were not the only ones being served since the restaurant and terrace was full as you know. If you think that Im going to move you up in front of others who are waiting patiently... More

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire

Been to La Esquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing