We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 651 Southampton Restaurants

Chilworth Arms

Chilworth Road | Chilworth Southampton, Southampton SO16 7JZ, England
023 8076 6247
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #124 of 651 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $15 - $35
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    116
    63
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

The restaurant gets busy but we were lucky in that it was a quiet night so we were able to get a table without booking. I ordered the gnocchi and it was absolutely wonderful, light and with delicate flavours it was one of the nicest meals I've enjoyed in a long time. The restaurant is always lively and I particularly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

On arrival one lunch time we were told that the restaurant was full but we were welcome to eat in the bar. We ordered our drinks and meal and were told that there was a slight delay. We waited for 40 mins for our first course which was very pleasant but we felt a little overpriced. .Because of the wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
uklovell, Manager at Chilworth Arms, responded to this review

Dear VEEamy Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had to wait 40 mins for your food on a busy lunch time visit. The pricing of our dishes are set by our head office, this is something out of our control. Look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards Adam Lovell More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW via mobile

The food is lovely and a good range if choice within a reasonable budget. The atmosphere is lively and seems a good place to meet friends for a drink or even a afternoon dinner. I had the pizza of the day and thoroughly enjoyed it- my partner had the fish and chips. The staff are obviosuly very busy but hardworking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uklovell, Manager at Chilworth Arms, responded to this review

Dear PeneloeFatkin1987 Thank you for you review, I am pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your food with us. I would also like to thank you for noticing the hard working team. I will praise the waitress that looked after you on your visit, she will be very pleased. Thank you so much for your high recommendation. We look forward... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Nice meal but the staff were not that attentive. I didn't like the lady that seemed to oversee the restaurant and bar area in jeans, I feel this is an unprofessional look. We ordered our meals separately and paid separately which seemed to be an issue as the bar man asked another member of staff how the kitchen would know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uklovell, Manager at Chilworth Arms, responded to this review

Dear "Mrs" Thank you for taking the time to do a review for The Chilworth arms. I am pleased to hear you had a nice meal with us and apoligise for the confusion with your ordering. As for the uniform my team wear our uniform policy is in fact Jeans for a casual professional look. I am sorry if you... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I work near this place. You would think pubs and restaurants would welcome walk in business these days. Not this place. They arrange during the week to have half the place usable and once that part is full begin turning people away saying its fully booked. you can see half the tables are empty - they just don't want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
uklovell, Manager at Chilworth Arms, responded to this review

Dear Simon K Thank you for your review for The Chilworth Arms. Can I assure you that when we say we are fully booked we are indeed fully booked, this is not to turn guests away, The empty tables you may have seen on your visit were actually reserved for our bookings. For future reference If you can not get... More 

Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

When we arrived at 4pm and were unable to find a single member of staff I guess we should have walked back out again; could have, should have, would have ....didn't! It distresses me too much to go into the minutaie of our meal, suffice to say the cod and chips were almost award-winning; the smallest porions of fish ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uklovell, Manager at Chilworth Arms, responded to this review

Dear Gffryt Thank you for taking the time to review The Chilworth Arms If you would like to call myself on 02380766247 we can discuss further, Regards Adam Lovell More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

The pub and restaurant are a nice environment and the menu looks good. However I had the crispy duck salad which was more burnt than crispy and a friend had the corn beef hash which ended up with a burnt egg! When mentioned to waiter response was " that's not good" ! Would only eat there If I couldn't find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uklovell, Manager at Chilworth Arms, responded to this review

Dear Simon M1234 Thank you for your review, I apologise for the quality of food you received on your most recent visit. I would like to discuss the issues with you and find out why this was not resolved on your visit. If you would like to call myself to discuss further on 02380766247 Regards Adam Lovell More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

My wife and I ate here on Christ,mas Day and were not disappointed. We were given a warm welcome by Vicky and, as we were earlier than booked, headed for the bar. The atmosphere was buzzing and everyone was in good spirits. It was nice to see 3-4 staff behind the bar as it was busy! After finishing our drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uklovell, Manager at Chilworth Arms, responded to this review

Dear warthog4ever Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear Vicky gave you a warm welcome, and Barbara and Johanna looked after you to give you an enjoyable Christmas Day lunch. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards Adam Lovell More 

USA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

While the sign may say "Chilworth Arms," this place is anything but your local sleepy little pub. They have a great variety, including some real vegetarian dishes which provide variety to the palate - an unusual occurence. A great meal and good staff, great drink choices - all in all and excellent experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
uklovell, Manager at Chilworth Arms, responded to this review

Dear BlueHenFlyer Thank you for your Review. I am very pleased to hear you had a great meal and an excellent experience on your most recent visit. Its good to hear you were looked after by the Team. I will pass this onto them :) We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards Adam Lovell More 

Southampton UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

It was Boxing Day and few pubs were open and doing meals, so we ended up here without booking a table and hoping for the best. The menu looked quite broad and in parts quite imaginative while also being reasonably priced. They had a Boxing Day deal of three courses for around £25 as well as a more extensive menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uklovell, Manager at Chilworth Arms, responded to this review

Dear fidler Thank you for your review of The Chilworth Arms I am pleased to hear you were satisfied with the service you received from the team and enjoyed your most recent visit. Regards Adam Lovell More 

Travelers who viewed Chilworth Arms also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Otterbourne, Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Chilworth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilworth Arms

Address: Chilworth Road | Chilworth Southampton, Southampton SO16 7JZ, England
Phone Number: 023 8076 6247
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 15 - 35
Cuisine: Mediterranean, Contemporary, British, Gastropub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chilworth Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?