We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
123-124 High Street | Below Bar, Southampton, England
023-8033-1849
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 652 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    47
    20
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 NEW

Noisy on a Saturday , very quiet on a Sunday , take your pick , either way the food is always good. Even the basics. having spent 4 weekends in Southampton this was by far the most popular restaurant that we used

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

We went to Lupa for my friends birthday upon my recommendation as I had eaten there before and was very impressed with the food and value. There were 4 couples and it seems that each time we all get together, at least one of us will have a poor experience with the food. As Lupa was a recommendation of mine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I came here last night with some work colleagues. We were offered drinks at the bar while waiting for people to turn up. The place was warm and had a fairly modern feel to it. The food was spot on! Portions were definitely enough. Mozzarella garlic pizza for starter made me half full already. But salmon spaghetti was to die... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Popped into Lupa for a quick lunch with my daughter and found it very clean and staff very attentive. Food was fantastic. If you like pizzas the Italian way this is the place. My daughter who is very hard to please was delighted and it was too much for her in the end. To top it all with drinks it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

I visited Lupa with my friend a week ago. Restaurant is well designed, service was efficient and professional. We went for a 2 course meal, which was offered on first page. I ordered mussels for starter and salmon for the main. Food was just delicious! Overall service and kitchen impressed me a lot, making my experience very satisfying. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Popped in on a weekend to take advantage of the lunchtime meal deal which seemed very good value. At the time there were only a few other tables in and it took a while to be seated, drink orders were taken incorrectly. When the food came the hallmark tasted wet and lacked any seasoning and the main dishes were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I've now visited Lupa on four different occasions over the past few months and I can honestly say the food, service and atmosphere has always been spot on. During my last visit I was accompanied by a friend that is gluten intolerant and to her surprise the waitress was very knowledgeable with what my friend could safely eat (still lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Winnersh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Went here for a Christmas meal with family and therefore had to select from a specific menu. Spaghetti for starter was very bland put the steak for main was very good however I would have expected more than 6 chips!!! Creme brûlée for dessert was ok but could have been warmer. Staff very friendly and always good entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Absolutely disgusting they charged me £40 in hidden gratuities! Didn't realise at the time of paying as it was dark and the waitress was waiting over me for the money. When I questioned it the next day the 'big' boss was absolutely rude to me and refused to refund half! 4 of us had to sit seperatly to the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
lupaSouthampton, Owner at La lupa, responded to this review

Theresa - I take issue with your comments and lies. The service charge is a DISCRETINARY 10% for all parties of 6 diners or more. You had a party for some 30 diners. The seating arrangements had been made to ensure you all sat together. However, you turned up late by which time the others had spread themselves across the... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

A run of the mill, Italian Restaurant, typical of a franchised chain. Poor lighting made it difficult to see/read the Menu, which is a pre-requisite when ordering food. This coupled with loud piped music didn't make it overly pleasurable. The pasta was OK, but the portions were too big, resulting in the meal getting cold, too quickly....resulting in an inedible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed La lupa also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to La lupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La lupa

Address: 123-124 High Street | Below Bar, Southampton, England
Phone Number: 023-8033-1849
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisine: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La lupa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?