We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold, England
01451 870934
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Talbot and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 237 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 118
    Excellent
  • 74
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Never mind how its looks at the back door, its fine in the restaurant

We went in to get out of the cold wind, and we found a cosy pub and tearoom combined, with a great view of the town square. A very nice warm cup of hot chocolate each, and we were also enjoying people watching, as they walked past the window. A very pleasant way to pass a half hour. The menu... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 27, 2015
Gourock186349
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We seem to travel through Stow a lot and we like to try a different place to eat every time. We were there on a Sunday about 3pm and I can not fault anything about this pub! The girl behind the bar and on the floor was wonderful, not too pushy and so friendly. We both opted for the roast,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank charly989
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Dear Charly, Thanks so much for the great feedback, we are thrilled you enjoyed lunch and look forward to your return, cheers kevin More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always had a drink in here past couple of years. Booked a sunday lunch so glad we did. Fantastic food so fresh and a really good portion size. Presented well and asked if we wanted more veg but not needed. Homemade apple sauce and horseradish. We went with our baby who was well looked after and our two dogs. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank sal-red
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Hi Sal Red, so glad you enjoyed Sunday Lunch thanks so much for the great feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back !! best kevin More 

London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in whilst visiting Stow. The Talbot seems to straddle that difficult balancing act between traditional pub & restaurant. I had an excellent pint of Swordfish my wife a Coke. We were sat near the servery & found the staff cheerful& friendly. The food looked & smelled delicious. Felt very at home here & next time will indulge in food.

Helpful?
Thank Sjc462
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Dear Sjc thanks for the great feedback,l glad you enjoyed the Pub, Be great to see you back and eating with us soon !! Cheers, Kevin More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

No one even bothered to show us to our seats, and we were totally ignored when we sat down. They had run out of soup and the coffee wasn't particularly good. Waiters were very unfriendly.

Helpful?
Thank Estelle V
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Dear Estelle, You sat at a bar stool we generally don't show people to the bar stools, we are a pub, Sorry the soup sold out we did 65 for lunch that cold Saturday and soup was popular, Apologies you did not enjoy the coffee, it really is quite good in our and others opinion, Apologies again if you thought... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We wanted to visit one of the many tea-rooms for lunch but found they were all heaving so we decided to pop in here instead and were so glad that we did. The menu is diverse and interesting with a wide range of price points. Everything is homemade, right down to the mayonnaise, and the quality is superb. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank PurpleLime
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Dear PurpleLime we are so glad you decided to join us, great feedback thanks so much, look forward to your return, best kevin More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We went in to get out of the cold wind, and we found a cosy pub and tearoom combined, with a great view of the town square. A very nice warm cup of hot chocolate each, and we were also enjoying people watching, as they walked past the window. A very pleasant way to pass a half hour. The menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gourock186349
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Dear Gourock, Thanks for taking the time to post, sadly we are a listed building so cannot do much out the back, We do however keep it clean and swept each day, Hope to see you back for a meal !! More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Very welcoming. Dog friendly. Great food (Sunday lunch is a treat and love the way it is served), drinks and snacks. Limited menu but that's better as you know it's all fresh. Not overpriced. Great service (always with a smile). Never had any bother with poor service/attitude. Drinks are reasonably priced and competitive with others in the area. (Beware as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Angela A
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Dear Angela, So happy you enjoyed your experience with us!! Thank you for the great feedback Hope to see you back soon !! Best Kevin More 

Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely evening with local friends, 6 of us, marred by the disappointing food. Felt compelled to complain and received an unapologetic response. One main course had to be sent back and the desert was massively over 'deconstructed' to the point that it looked like a child had put it together. No service to speak of. Overpriced I'm afraid.

Helpful?
Thank EmmaBirch
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Sorry you did not enjoy your evening with us, we did apologise and took the dessert off the bill, We have professional chefs in the kitchen i think your child comment is a little harsh I also gave you £10 off your bottle of prosecco as your party was from my daughters school (prior to your complaint) Not... More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

We went in on a Thursday and it was steak night, I wasn't sure if to risk it as I'm not (wasn't) the biggest steak fan, I decided to go for the fillet and it was the nicest steak I've ever had. My husband had the rib-eye which was also delicious, we ordered both the side options and shared them,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty R
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty awesome feedback, thanks so much, look forward to seeing you back !! Best Kevin More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

It was a Sunday lunch four adults had roast meals two children at fries and chicken nuggets my daughter put thespoon in the cabbage and pulled out a long hair, The attitude from the manager was disgraceful, he said no one in his kitchen as long hair, in other words blaming it on to us for planting it there, he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
TalbotLandlord, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Strange the review says nothing about the great lunch you had (and indeed ate) Anyway lets look at the facts, I did not actually even speak to you i spoke to the lady with you as she wanted to buy alcohol for a 16 year old You table complained after finding a hair on the TOP of your... More 

Travelers who viewed The Talbot also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Stow-on-the-Wold
  • Phone Number: 01451 870934

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Spanish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Talbot and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Talbot staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?