We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Cirencester Restaurants

The Fleece at Cirencester

Market Place | GL7 2NZ, Cirencester, England
+44 1285 658507
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 93 Restaurants in Cirencester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $76
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Fri 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: British, Brasserie, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Cirencester, we're a popular bars and restaurant for all occasions. From a relaxed, heart breakfast in the morning, cakes and sandwiches for lunch with friends to a big family dinner in the evening to celebrate a special occasion. Our food is our passion. Our menu is forever changing to reflect the best produce form the local area and the seasons. To wash down your dinner we have an enviable selection of real ales on the bar alongside world wine and some great cocktails!
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    75
    38
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW via mobile

A fantastic Sunday Lunch for us with our 4 month old, friends and their two children. The staff were friendly and efficient and the Sunday roast was absolutely outstanding. To have roast beef cooked to order was a real treat and melt in the mouth. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and didn't feel rushed to finish or pay the bill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We had dinner at the hotel across the road which was really average, small portions and no atmosphere. Had read about the Fleece and decided to go for a drink. What a difference, great atmosphere, fun and engaged staff. We were still hungry so had a very good mixed fish sharing platter. I know where we will go for dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Love the food here, the place is also always busy. Staff are friendly and the service is prompt, My only complaint is the new seating in the coffee area at the back of the bar area, This is not so comfortable and the seating near the fire at the far end is really odd and noone seams to use it,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

The food is fantastic and haven't had a bad meal yet. Fish and chips are superb and so is the burger. It's just the waiting times and over staffing. Doesn't seem to be any sense of delegating. Drinks orders sat at the bar but bar staff being told to leave bar to take drinks to tables; I had to wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cirencester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We had a lovely lunch at The Fleece today. The food was lovely, service good, staff friendly and efficient. Couldn't fault a thing. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I spent a few mid-week evening's in The Fleece when it was refurbished a few years ago and used to enjoy the ambiance and the food. Unfortunately, it has gone down hill at a rate of knots! The service is extremely slow, despite having a number of staff who have worked there for quite some time. Although the burgers are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Cirencester has much to offer even on a long weekend, but so many small things let our stay down and we would be highly unlikely to return to The Fleece.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello I am very sorry that you felt you had to post this review after staying with us. There is little detail so I am unable to comment, I can only apologise that you felt so disappointed. Please will you email me your contact details so that I may talk with you personally about your stay. manager@thefleececirencester.co.uk I look forward... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I don't write regular reviews but I do read them and nearly cancelled a booking we had arranged before Christmas because of previous reviews but am glad we didn't. We have been to the Fleece before and thought it a good place to take our parents whilst visiting our son for a Christmas treat. Ages 21-85. So catering for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello What a wonderful complimentary review. It is lovely to read open-minded comments and I cannot thank you enough for posting your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit and very much hope to see you again when you are next in Cirencester Many thanks Paul More 

Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Fleece restaurant on a Tuesday night for a gathering of myself and 5 friends as a Christmas get-together. The experience did not start particularly well when I booked over the phone and asked for a confirmation email of the details to be sent, this email did not arrive until I had phoned a further two times to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello I am very sorry that you feel you had to post this review after your meal with us. I offer my sincere apologies that you and your party did not receive an acceptable level of service as a minimum expectation. We clearly let you down from the outset. Please will you email me your contact details so that I... More 

Keynsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We chose The Fleece from the Alistair Sawdays directory and The Fleeces’ web site for a pre Christmas family lunch on 17 December. What a disappointment. We arrived to find that the table we had booked by e-mail had been reserved although we had received no acknowledgement; but everything went downhill from there. * Ordered drinks and waited 10 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello I am very sorry that you feel you had to post this review after your meal with us. I offer my sincere apologies that you were let you down from the outset. This is not our usual standard and it is not acceptable. Please will you email me your contact details so that I may talk with you personally... More 

Travelers who viewed The Fleece at Cirencester also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Address: Market Place | GL7 2NZ, Cirencester, England
Phone Number: +44 1285 658507
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cirencester
Open Hours:
Sunday 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 15 - 76
Cuisine: British, Brasserie, Pub, Gastropub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fleece at Cirencester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?