We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Cirencester Restaurants

The Fleece at Cirencester

Market Place | GL7 2NZ, Cirencester, England
+44 1285 658507
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 93 Restaurants in Cirencester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    74
    36
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW via mobile

I booked the Fleece restaurant on a Tuesday night for a gathering of myself and 5 friends as a Christmas get-together. The experience did not start particularly well when I booked over the phone and asked for a confirmation email of the details to be sent, this email did not arrive until I had phoned a further two times to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

We chose The Fleece from the Alistair Sawdays directory and The Fleeces’ web site for a pre Christmas family lunch on 17 December. What a disappointment. We arrived to find that the table we had booked by e-mail had been reserved although we had received no acknowledgement; but everything went downhill from there. * Ordered drinks and waited 10 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

The visit was not planned & so we managed to get seated. The service & food was excellent. I would definitely go again and recommend to others. The place was very clean including the toilets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW via mobile

We called here prior to a concert at the church. We were agreeably surprised by the decor and menu. The mushroom burger was very tasty and the Gloucester old spot sausages and mash went down a treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review and thank you for your lovely comments about our food. I am very glad you enjoyed your pre-concert treat and we did the job of filling you up on your way, It is lovely to know we are used by locals as well as visitors to Cirencester. Thank you again, hope to see you... More 

s glos
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Visited for coffee during Xmas shopping went back for light lunch I loved it so much ! The decor seating etc is fabulous . We ordered a starter plate of squid it was delicious and the presentation was so good (I eat with my eyes hubby tells me off ) I had soup unfortunately it was like drinking hot flavoured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your visit to us. I am very happy to know that we did well on the coffee so much that you stopped for lunch! Although I am disappointed that the soup was not so good, I am happy that we dealt with it quickly and efficiently... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We visited as a family gathering for Christmas, the enjoyment of which was much reduced by the experience. A number of things were wrong, that could and should reasonably have been much better: -the table, though booked over a month in advance was not ready. - the table was NOT in the restaurant as booked, but in the main bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello We need to apologise to you and your party for so clearly disappointing you on your visit to us. It is evident that we did not deliver on many aspects. I do very much appreciate you pointing out that not all was bad, and the standard of food was good. Whilst you were told on the occasion that we... More 

oaksey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

we have been regulars at the Fleece since it was reopened a number of years ago. Always enjoyed the Atmosphere, good service and quality of the food and drink. sadly, the place has deteriorated considerably over the last few months. Having just opened an office a few doors away, my wife and I have been calling in regularly lately and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello I am very sorry on reading this review that we have not been getting it right for you. I greatly appreciate you are a local and a loyal guest of The Fleece and I am disappointed that we have been letting you down. We are amid some changes to our team however nothing should effect the service we provide.... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

The Fleece has space, atmosphere, variety, position, and is one of the places I enjoy spending time at in Cirevester. A quick cup of of tea or a drink or a bite. Full dinners and accommodation always available

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to post a little review of us at The Fleece. I am so very glad that you are a returning guest, we greatly appreciate your custom and I am happy that you continue to choose us. Many thanks for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

9 of us went to the fleece hotel in Cirencester for our staff meal we were shown to our table and sat down the waitress came and asked if we were ready to order we explained that we had all pre- booked our choices earlier in the week and were told that they had lost the list so we all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello I am so sorry that your visit to us for a Christmas celebration went so horribly wrong and that we let you down so very much. This is not what we are about at all and I am extremely embarrassed on reading your review. There is nothing worse than being cold when you are out for a meal and... More 

UK
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We ate here for a Christmas do with our team at work. We were there on a Monday evening early in December, and we arrived quite early as we came straight from work. The food was lovely; generous, hot, delicious and well presented but from beginning to end the service was dreadful. We booked a few weeks before, we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello I am very embarrassed on reading your review that this is what we provided you with on your Christmas Party. This is not our standard and I am extremely sorry that we did not get it right for you. We do spend a lot of time with our staff doing training on service and menus so that we always... More 

Travelers who viewed The Fleece at Cirencester also viewed

 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Address: Market Place | GL7 2NZ, Cirencester, England
Phone Number: +44 1285 658507
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cirencester
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fleece at Cirencester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?