We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 344 Cheltenham Restaurants

The Royal Pub and Restaurant

54 Horsefair Street | Charlton Kings, Cheltenham, England
01242 228937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 344 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We visited The Royal recently for a Christmas meal and had a great time. The food was up to the usual standard and the service was good. We use The Royal quite regularly, which speaks volumes. A good safe bet in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Fantastic food, friendly staff. We were made very welcome as soon as we walk through the door. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
east sussex
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch with my father. Good menu choice and some at excellent prices. Also good selection on real ales. Food was fine, serve very good with a friendly atmosphere. Full of locals and a nice ambience. Would visit again. Probably worth booking as gets quite busy at popular times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

The staff spend far more time serving coffee than they do drinks. Last night 3 of the 4 beers on tap ran out leaving the weakest, blandest left. DO NOT go there is you want a proper pint! They are not cheap, the service is appalling and frankly they don't give a damn. Last time I'm going there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Always a joy to visit The Royal but I do wish they weren't so desperate to be family friendly. I don't want to go to the pub to listen to screaming kids or have them running under my feet - and prams and buggies by the fire? Take the kids home at 6 and let the adults enjoy a quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michiel H, Owner at The Royal Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you constructive review. I appreciate your comments and obviously you have certain personal views as to how a pub should be run. We are not 'desperate' for families, we merely welcome them. We do not believe that a pub should be closed to a large section of our local community. The children who come to... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We dined here with some visitors lately and we were very pleased with what he had. We sat in the bar first and enjoyed our drinks in a pleasant setting. We then adjourned to the dining room for our meals. We had the Thai salad and spicy chicken wings for starters which were very tasty. We then had the salmon,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michiel H, Owner at The Royal Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

What a great review, thank you very much. I'm so pleased that your meal was such a success. We pride ourselves in creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere where our customers can just enjoy themselves. The fact that your food and drinks were great obviously helps as well. Thanks again and hopefully see you again soon, Kind regards, Mike Huysinga More 

Seville, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

It was a wet miserable night and The Royal priced a warm welcome. The decor was nicely done. The food was delicous and the stall attentive but not intrusive. Good wine list too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michiel H, Owner at The Royal Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very lovely review. We try our very best to provide great food, wine and beer and most importantly wonderful service. Thanks again and hopefully see again soon, Kind regards, Mike Huysinga More 

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Had Sunday Roast here recently, food was ok, desserts a bit pricey at half the cost of the main course for the quality. Staff were very pleasant . Doubt if would be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michiel H, Owner at The Royal Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Our Sunday roasts are very keenly priced at £10 per main course. The price for the starters and the desserts remain the same as they are throughout the rest of the week. We believe that this policy offers our Sunday lunch customers fantastic value for money. I'm sorry if you disagree. I can... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We went in here for a light lunch, after looking at the menu on the website. We ordered Brie, bacon and redcurrent sandwich, having had this several times in other eating houses and know how we like it. But unfortunately we did not receive this, instead it was some other sandwich, we had a feeble apology and another wait for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michiel H, Owner at The Royal Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your constructive review. As you can see from previous reviews our service is rated very highly. Obviously we were remiss on this occasion and we failed to realise how unhappy you were with your sandwich. I have spoken to the team and reminded them that we must ensure all our customers leave happy, happy, happy.... More 

UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

As usual, the Royal and its team provided another great Sunday lunch for our party of seven. The portions are generous and the food is beautifully cooked. What more can you want? Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michiel H, Owner at The Royal Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Lovely review, thank you very much. I am really pleased that you had such a great Sunday lunch. Generous portions, beautifully cooked and the roast is only £10. What is there not to like? Thank you very very much and hopefully see you again soon, Kind regards, Mike Huysinga More 

Travelers who viewed The Royal Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Pub and Restaurant

Address: 54 Horsefair Street | Charlton Kings, Cheltenham, England
Phone Number: 01242 228937
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Pub and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?