We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Mermaid Street, Rye TN31 7EY, England
+44 1797 223065
Website
This restaurant is at The Mermaid Inn
Add hours for Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 269 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 121
    Excellent
  • 73
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 20
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Dining in History

Recommended to visit The Mermaid by a friend who said that even if not going to eat there it was worth a visit just to see the fabulous building. Following this advice we decided to eat there as well and the restaurant was a wonderful setting. I was surprised to find an unusual vegetarian dish on... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 28, 2015
Dawn C
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

Recommended to visit The Mermaid by a friend who said that even if not going to eat there it was worth a visit just to see the fabulous building. Following this advice we decided to eat there as well and the restaurant was a wonderful setting. I was surprised to find an unusual vegetarian dish on the menu - sweet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always gratifying when our guests appreciate The Mermaid Inn as a wonderful building, a product of 600 years of history. However the restaurant is a modern experience and we will share your appreciation of the food with the Head Chef and his team, they do really enjoy feedback, and will especially love your... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

main bar was steeped in history, with the biggest inglenook fireplace to be seen. Restaurant was superb, silver service, with food presented and perfectly cooked, albeit a bit on the small portion side. You will need to book. The second oldest Inn in England.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to receive comments from our guests that share our appreciation of The Mermaid Inn. We will share your comments with the staff concerned, who equally appreciate feedback from our guests. More 

Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Had a "Big" Birthday Lunch here with friends on Saturday. What an enjoyable experience, the place is beautiful and steeping in history. The food and service was excellent. Very impressed with Rye itself and would happily recommend the Mermaid Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad that your birthday party was a success and so enjoyable. We will share your comments with the staff - but usually they are already aware as they pride themselves on their work and monitor the reviews from guests. We also note that you recognise the history of the Mermaid Inn, rebuilt in 1420,... More 

Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

We were on a tour and had our farewell dinner it. It was one of the best meals we had in England. The service was very good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So good to read of your appreciation of the quality of the food in The Mermaid Inn Linen Panelled Restaurant, and the comparison with the total experience of your visit to England. We will pass on your comments to the Head Chef. Safe journey onwards. More 

london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We went a romantic weekend to Rye and booked this restaurant with high expectations. Unfortunately, we were more than a little disapointed. The food was fine but the atmosphere was awful!! It actully felt like a canteen. I wouldn't bother again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the food in the Mermaid Inn Linen Panelled Restaurant. We take seriously the views of our guests and we are perturbed that you likened the restaurant to a canteen. Please would you contact me on mermaidinnadmin@btconnect.com so we can discuss in detail your comments. More 

Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

I took a client to the Mermaid Inn for lunch on Monday July 13. After a pint of local beer in the beautiful, historic hotel bar, we were escorted into the wood-panelled restaurant. I had rabbit ballotine, pork tenderloin and white chocolate mousse. My guest had beetroot salad, Romney Marsh lamb and a cheese platter. Everything was first class, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Hope that the experience at The Mermaid Inn was not only a good lunch, but that it literally added flavour to your business conversation. We will share your comments with all concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mermaid in the future. Rye is sometimes said to be in a time warp, and... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

What a gorgeous historical restaurant. Like a step back in time. Lunch was great. Staff attentive. Lovely white tablecloths.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we are glad that we made your visit memorable. The Mermaid Inn is an historic setting, and the restaurant is part of that. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Recommend the restaurant at this hotel food lovely and well presented, staff helpful and friendly. The waiter recommended the lamb dish for two which just fell off the bone

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we are glad that your experience was excellent. We will pass on your comments to the staff concerned. More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

I had fish platter nicely presented but were mainly prawns which had been overcooked in the fryer leaving them dull and lifeless and mushy on the inside. My wife's cod and chips were unremarkable and some of the chips still had skins on. We mentioned it to the barman after we had paid but I wonder if it went any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and we can only apologise for not meeting your expectations. We take very seriously the comments of our guests, and we will share them with the Head Chef. Please note that the chips are prepared in house, and the skins are purposefully left on. With regard to our guests, we offer a service that welcomes... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

I had been here a few years ago. When I went back to Rye recently I recalled the place and we went for dinner. Not only because of the sun lit patio in the back and there didn't seen many places with out door seating on this Sunday evening. My friend very much enjoyed her sea food platter, I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can only apologies that we didnt meet your expectations in terms of the service. As you say the Mermaid Inn is a popular draw and places demands on staff to provide good service, and that you enjoyed the food served. Please be assured we read all reviews and use them to inform our monitoring... More 

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn

Address: Mermaid Street, Rye TN31 7EY, England
Phone Number: +44 1797 223065
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Rye
Average Prices: USD 8 - 59
Cuisine: French, Seafood, British, Vegetarian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Mermaid Street, Rye TN31 7EY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Rye
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 223065

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 59
  • Cuisine: French, Seafood, British, Vegetarian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?