We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mermaid Street, Rye TN31 7EY, England
+44 1797 223065
Website
Improve this listing
This restaurant is at The Mermaid Inn
Add hours for Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 326 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 143
    Excellent
  • 88
    Very good
  • 42
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very nice

Lovely meal for dinner in the restaurant. A few things not quite as described on the menu but still delicious (apart from cold parsnip puree). Lovely house wine (shiraz). Charming ancient building, lovely hotel, great breakfast with hotel stay. Great staff.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
emmav24
,
Crawley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was wonderful to be able to eat in such historic surroundings. Excellent extensive wine list. Had a great meal and very good service. Had the scallops, short rib beef and pears with ginger. The beef was amazing. Loved it and will return!

Helpful?
Thank PamC149
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Mermaid strives for high standards as our 2 AA Rosette Award testifies to, but always rewarding when guests provide such fulsome praise. We will share your comments with the staff concerned. Clearly the new Mermaid restaurant menu tantalises the taste buds. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very surprised by some of the negative reviews. The Mermaid is beautiful, atmospheric, friendly - and the food is delicious. Don't be put off - as we almost were. We had a wonderful experience here, despite being quite fussy! Every course was lovely - from the starters (we had the gnocchi and the scallops) through the gorgeous and generous mains... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leonie G
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the staff, especially with the Head Chef and his team. The Mermaid Inn Linen Paneled Restaurant is a lovely atmospheric setting where we offer fine food and wine with friendly attentive service. We value the reviews of our guests just as our guests do likewise, but sometimes you... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely meal for dinner in the restaurant. A few things not quite as described on the menu but still delicious (apart from cold parsnip puree). Lovely house wine (shiraz). Charming ancient building, lovely hotel, great breakfast with hotel stay. Great staff.

Helpful?
Thank emmav24
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will share with the staff your comments. You clearly appreciated the many facets of The Mermaid Inn, the food, the wine, and the building. But most importantly of all the staff. The Mermaid is unique, and we hope it has created many happy memories for you. More 

Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely historic building, staff friendly and attentive. Sadly the food was disappointing and really not worth set price of £38.50 for 3 courses. We arrived at 7.00 and the restaurant was yet to fill up. Although we tried to eat slowly to make the tiny portions last, we had finished our whole 3 course meal in 40mins. The salmon terrine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karl J
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recognising the lovely historic Mermaid Inn, rebuilt in 1420, and the quality of our staff in your comments. We can only apologise that we failed to meet your expectations. As ever can we ask guests to talk to the restaurant manager at the time, so we can respond to ensure mutual satisfaction. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow! What a wonderful evening, the food was exquisite & the staff so lovely. Bliss! Tea & petit fours by the fire after dinner. Didn't cost the earth (£132!!) Adored it 😊

Helpful?
Thank MrsJ1974
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Linen Paneled Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn prides itself on providing our guests with wondeful memories, so it is always gratifying to receive such fulsome praise. Be assured we will share your comments with the staff concerned. More 

Battle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We book the Mermaid Inn for my 50th Birthday dinner with family, on booking we told them it was for a special birthday. On arrival we were rushed to our table, the service was pushing all the time, none of the waiters smiled, all thou polite, We were offered to sitt in the lounge for coffee which we accepted. Again,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol L
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We note and will share with our Head Chef and his team your fulsome praise for the "beautiful food". We take very seriously your feedback regarding the service in the restaurant. We seek to provide all our guests with a memorable experience when dining with us. We will share your comments with the restaurant manager,... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for our mini honeymoon weekend. It was overpriced for a double room, disappointing staff, especially the receptionist and bartenders. There was an air of awkwardness throughout, which was a shame. With all its history and decor I expected a warm cosy experience. The bath I took resulted in a porter knocking on our door and raising alarm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyWorpole
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can only apologise that your experience was below your expectations. The Mermaid Inn is an independent family owned hotel, in the same families since 1993. Through careful stewardship, we endeavour to maintain the charm and tradition of a building rebuilt in 1420. We aim to provide a welcoming experience, in a unique setting. Contemplating... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We really wanted to stay at the Mermaid Inn but it was fully booked, so instead we decided we would have to have lunch there instead and drink in the giants fire place bar.On the Saturday we couldn't get anywhere near the small bar with the grand fireplace it was soo busy, so we had lunch in the restaurant instead.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad you have discovered the lure of The Mermaid, it is a unique place. We look forward in 2016 to having the opportunity to fully meet your expectations. Please look on our website and Facebook pages for information about events in Rye and surrounds which might add value to your stay. More 

kent, uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

We decided to eat here and asked if space available and were asked to wait 10 mins which we did ,after 20 we asked to be seated and were taken straight away to an almost empty restaurant. Service was ok but nothing special. Food was very poor . Pigeon starter was over cooked, white bait served in a bowl with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Aly T
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We note your comments and do take them seriously. We do always stress that guests should talk to our staff at the time when there might be an issue so we can rectify, to gain satisfaction for all concerned. Please could you email mermaidinnadmin@btconnect.com to confirm the day you visited us and if you booked... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

We went here for a meal when visiting Rye for a birthday trip. The food here was delicious, in particular the smoked salmon terrine had as a starter. The staff are very courteous. The interior of the venue is very olde world and looks like it hasn't been changed for a few hundred years (though obviously has been painted). After... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments about the food and The Mermaid herself, will be shared with all concerned. The Mermaid Inn was rebuilt in 1420 and through careful stewardship is a wonderful living example of english heritage. We offer a unique experience, for guests, residents and visitors. More 

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Mermaid Street, Rye TN31 7EY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Rye
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 223065

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 55
  • Cuisine: British, French, Seafood, Vegetarian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?