We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Pearl

Certificate of Excellence
$$
International, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
+44 1424 719919
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Special occasions
Description: Located in the heart of the Historic Old Town of Hastings, Black Pearl...
Located in the heart of the Historic Old Town of Hastings, Black Pearl offers quality cuisine in a charming atmosphere. The ground floor wine bar offers an informal and vibrant atmosphere, whilst the nicely decorated & cozy first floor dining rooms offer intimate dining.Our menus change frequently to reflect seasonal variations. Every dish is made of quality fresh ingredients that compliment one another perfectly to enhance the flavours. Both our lunch and a la carte menus include local fish, shellfish & meat dishes, and a selection suitable for Vegetarians and Vegans.We offer a great value for money weekday menu and cater for large groups or parties including company functions.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 100 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 65
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
You gotta give it a try

Me and my wife love this place it's really good food excellent service and very well priced, we have never had a bad meal nor had bad service here, the owners are very friendly and welcoming and they can never seem to do enough for our 3 year old son all the staff are lovely and helpful and I can... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Marc K
,
Hastings, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my wife love this place it's really good food excellent service and very well priced, we have never had a bad meal nor had bad service here, the owners are very friendly and welcoming and they can never seem to do enough for our 3 year old son all the staff are lovely and helpful and I can... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marc K
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

My wife and I had lunch here last weekend and I was surprised at how good the food was. I go to the old town often and I have always just passed by this little gem by, but I will be coming back again here soon. I had the fish platter my wife had the cod & chips and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2greatdanes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

Black Pearl has closed and has been replaced with Larder which is run by new owners. Food is now very different to that offered by Black Pearl. I have no association with either set of owners.. Just letting people know

Helpful?
5 Thank patrick0_london
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Very yummy food, lovely atmosphere. Very friendly bar/wait staff. Waitress was very accomodating and helpful with the food choices and wine. Definately going here again.

Helpful?
Thank Kirbi44
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

Stumbled upon this here tavern so we did, and on none other than the day of pirates. Let me indulge myself in my review. It be a top place to sit and dine says I. The staff be exceptional, not only in their welcoming, friendliness and overall service, but they were physical marvels. Really lovely women, so congratulations to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank James B
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Only went in here as we were struggling to find a table elsewhere for lunch and I'm so glad that I did! Not the largest menu in the world, but a large enough selection to ensure there is bound to be something you like. The food was excellent, was reasonably priced and the waitress was absolutely superb, in fact she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave J
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We were walking around Hasting and came across this place, inside it was very traditional looking pub with a modern twist. The staff were lovely and everything was dealt with brilliantly. I had a whole plaice with potatoes and a beautiful side salad, WOW it was so delicious and reasonably priced at just over £11.00, my little son had chicken... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina C
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely compliment!!! I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you again soon :) More 

Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

We booked this restaurant based on reviews but weren't disappointed. The staff were helpful and accommodating, and when asked for a vegetarian pancake dish no longer on the menu, the kitchen was happy to make it for me. You can eat downstairs in the bar area, or upstairs where we sat in the restaurant area. The fish platter was enormous,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crystal49
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

So pleased you were not disappointed!! And thank you for putting your review on as well. We hope to see you again soon :) More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

Excellent cocktails (2 for £8 at lunch time every day!) Also had the fish platter which was yummy! The staff are always really friendly, love it here! Will keep going back! Also a plus that they do food throughout the day!

Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the cocktails, we make them fresh to order with only the best ingredients, and the fish is bought from the fishermen on the beach, freshly caught!!! We look forward to seeing you again :) More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

Went here for a meal with hubby From moment went in service was friendly and helpful and food was delicious cannot fault our evening. Thankyou all at black pearl!

Helpful?
Thank sarah J
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, so please you both had a lovely time More 

Travelers who viewed Black Pearl also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Black Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 9 George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 719919

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 28
  • Cuisine: International, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

Located in the heart of the Historic Old Town of Hastings, Black Pearl offers quality cuisine in a charming atmosphere. The ground floor wine bar offers an informal and vibrant atmosphere, whilst the nicely decorated & cozy first floor dining rooms offer intimate dining.Our menus change frequently to reflect seasonal variations. Every dish is made of quality fresh ingredients that compliment one another perfectly to enhance the flavours. Both our lunch and a la carte menus include local fish, shellfish & meat dishes, and a selection suitable for Vegetarians and Vegans.We offer a great value for money weekday menu and cater for large groups or parties including company functions.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Pearl staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?