We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Pearl

Certificate of Excellence
$$
International
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
9 George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
+44 1424 719919
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the Historic Old Town of Hastings, Black Pearl...
Located in the heart of the Historic Old Town of Hastings, Black Pearl offers quality cuisine in a charming atmosphere. The ground floor wine bar offers an informal and vibrant atmosphere, whilst the nicely decorated & cozy first floor dining rooms offer intimate dining.Our menus change frequently to reflect seasonal variations. Every dish is made of quality fresh ingredients that compliment one another perfectly to enhance the flavours. Both our lunch and a la carte menus include local fish, shellfish & meat dishes, and a selection suitable for Vegetarians and Vegans.We offer a great value for money weekday menu and cater for large groups or parties including company functions.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 95 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 61
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Top notch!

Only went in here as we were struggling to find a table elsewhere for lunch and I'm so glad that I did! Not the largest menu in the world, but a large enough selection to ensure there is bound to be something you like. The food was excellent, was reasonably priced and the waitress was... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 20, 2015
Dave J
,
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Only went in here as we were struggling to find a table elsewhere for lunch and I'm so glad that I did! Not the largest menu in the world, but a large enough selection to ensure there is bound to be something you like. The food was excellent, was reasonably priced and the waitress was absolutely superb, in fact she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We were walking around Hasting and came across this place, inside it was very traditional looking pub with a modern twist. The staff were lovely and everything was dealt with brilliantly. I had a whole plaice with potatoes and a beautiful side salad, WOW it was so delicious and reasonably priced at just over £11.00, my little son had chicken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely compliment!!! I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you again soon :) More 

Hemel Hempstead
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

We booked this restaurant based on reviews but weren't disappointed. The staff were helpful and accommodating, and when asked for a vegetarian pancake dish no longer on the menu, the kitchen was happy to make it for me. You can eat downstairs in the bar area, or upstairs where we sat in the restaurant area. The fish platter was enormous,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

So pleased you were not disappointed!! And thank you for putting your review on as well. We hope to see you again soon :) More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Excellent cocktails (2 for £8 at lunch time every day!) Also had the fish platter which was yummy! The staff are always really friendly, love it here! Will keep going back! Also a plus that they do food throughout the day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the cocktails, we make them fresh to order with only the best ingredients, and the fish is bought from the fishermen on the beach, freshly caught!!! We look forward to seeing you again :) More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Went here for a meal with hubby From moment went in service was friendly and helpful and food was delicious cannot fault our evening. Thankyou all at black pearl!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, so please you both had a lovely time More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

We love this place. Amazing food, wine, cocktails and service! We often visit Hastings and are sure to head to The Pearl every time. Would highly recommend :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

And we love you!! Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor and look forward to seeing you again, Very Soon :) More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

My boyfriend and I popped in here before going for dinner round the corner on a sunny Saturday evening in May. We were greeted by friendly staff and a long list of cocktails. I started with a passion fruit martini (which was delicious!) but there was no going back after I tasted the Mum Rum.......I had never heard of this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Well we look forward to seeing you again for some more Mum Rum!!! Glad you enjoyed the cocktails and hopefully you might pop in for a meal too!! More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

We run a very busy b&b just outside the old town, so sometimes getting some time out for us isn't always easy. So it's always good when we've made the right choice of place to eat. Service was superb and friendly, the staff do not stop and clearly do their best to keep on top of what was a busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Thank you Andrea and Nick for such lovely comments. It is so nice for the staff to be recognised for their efforts and means a lot to them. I am so glad you enjoyed not only the meal, but the whole evening. We shall look forward to seeing you again - many thanks Kev and the team More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We booked the upstairs part of the restaurant for a party of 24 people, for a pre-wedding meal. Kev, the proprietor and his wife took the booking, and could not have been more helpful. The food was exceptional, and the waitresses and bar staff were great. The atmosphere is so friendly and welcoming. We had the best evening, and an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Thank you Dawn for you kind words - we take great pride in making sure all the 'little things' get done right!!! Hope everything else for the weekend went well More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

On off chance decided to pop in for lunch with friend, warm welcoming feeling, good attentive staff and food was delicious !! Will be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback - we look forward to seeing you again More 

Travelers who viewed Black Pearl also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Black Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Pearl

Address: 9 George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
Phone Number: +44 1424 719919
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Hastings
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Average Prices: USD 9 - 30
Cuisine: International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 9 George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 719919

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 30
  • Cuisine: International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

Located in the heart of the Historic Old Town of Hastings, Black Pearl offers quality cuisine in a charming atmosphere. The ground floor wine bar offers an informal and vibrant atmosphere, whilst the nicely decorated & cozy first floor dining rooms offer intimate dining.Our menus change frequently to reflect seasonal variations. Every dish is made of quality fresh ingredients that compliment one another perfectly to enhance the flavours. Both our lunch and a la carte menus include local fish, shellfish & meat dishes, and a selection suitable for Vegetarians and Vegans.We offer a great value for money weekday menu and cater for large groups or parties including company functions.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Pearl staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?