We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 875 Brighton Restaurants

Red Cottage

6b Queens Road, Brighton BN1 3WA, England
01273 327643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #691 of 875 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $8 - $16
Hours:
Wed - Mon 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thu - Mon 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: In Brighton, where restaurants are ten to the pound, it takes a lot to impress the locals. However, Lee Cottage has managed it. How? By combining an unpretentious classic Chinese restaurant interior with great Cantonese, Szechuan, Peking and Shanghai food cooked fresh to order. Lee Cottage works the classic red and gold interior combination with paper lanterns hanging from the ceiling, fresh linen on the tables and classic Chinese artworks on the walls while friendly staff chat with customers as they flick through the long menu with its many choices. Lee Cottage offers several dining options, from a Sunday lunch through to a £15 choose-your-own set menu.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    0
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Its not in bn42 but bn1... Please writ your address correctly. It is not in Southwick. It is in Brighton bn1

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Food was cold on delivery, aromatic crispy DUST, over fried, forgot our prawn crackers, coca cola was warm. Total disappointment. Couldn't actually get teeth through duck. I feel sick. Waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Bland & mushy no taste to the food, decor crying out for a lick of paint & for me people who stand in front of customers playing laptops disrespectful concentrate on your standard of food!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We came into this resturant as we were in a hurry. The decor is awful. The atmosphere was not helped by the woman in charge continually using a laptop at the bar area in full view of our table. Waitress was pleasant enough. The food however was totally awful. Our starter consisted of dry chicken satays, these looked as if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

£6.50 for a two-course lunch including as much tea as you want. Starter - the usual Spring Roll or Soup Mains - choice of 20+ different dishes - sweet and sour, chow mein, curry and various more specialised dishes. I think it's great - nothing special, but the portions are large and the service quick - lots of rice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sunny Somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had chinese chicken with egg fried rice take-out. By far the worst quality chicken I've ever experienced. I am not exaggerating in the slightest when I say that I tried and spat out every mouthful as it was either skin, wobbly chicken fat, or cartilage. Truly awful and utterly inedible. This restaurant should be separating pure chicken meat from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
redcottageBrighton, Manager at Red Cottage, responded to this review

To be clear; we do not have" Chinese chicken" on our menu, we only use chicken breast meat and nothing else. This does not sound like a meal from our restaurant. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I can't understand why anyone wouldn't love this restaurant! The food is delicious and the staff are very friendly and chatty. I ordered the wonton noodle soup and my friend ordered the chicken curry and between us shared some mini pancake rolls all of which was very delicious. Service was very quick. I cannot reccommend this restaurant enough, one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just stopped at this chinese restaurant and must say that the food is really very good (lovely crispy salt & pepper squid, black pepper beef, satay chicken yummy lovely, etc.) and the service is friendly and very quick. The menu is very well organized and you can have a big dish for a small bill. I will go back very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Surely the good reviews were made by family members! We arrived in anticipation of a delicious Chinese meal and should have been put off by the strange layout and dishevelled decor but we persisted and took the seats offered ... by a row of unsightly fridges in the corner, despite there being other seats available. Sticky Menus! Halfway through taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Takeaway review- Firstly took over an hour and 40 mins to arrive, was told would be 45 mins, called after 1 hr and asked where the delivery was, was told 15 mins and didn't arrive for a further 40/45 mins, although was offered 10% off and a few free cans of drink and the lady on the phone was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Red Cottage also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Red Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage

Address: 6b Queens Road, Brighton BN1 3WA, England
Phone Number: 01273 327643
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
Open Hours:
Sunday 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm  12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Monday 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm  12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wednesday 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm  12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Friday 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm  12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm  12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 8 - 16
Cuisine: Chinese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Cottage staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?