We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donatello

1-3 Brighton Place | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HJ, England
+44 (0)1273 775477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 844 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    310
    245
    121
    70
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

i've been a couple of week ago with my friends and i must say this is the best italian restaurant i never eat. service all italian way the waiter very kind gentle and funny as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Great review, Mattia - thanks for the feedback. We assume you mean it's the best Italian you have ever had - in which case - thanks! We aim to please. Be sure to come and visit us again when you're in Brighton. More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW via mobile

This is a local institution and always busy, it's large, family friendly and so a big draw for tourists and locals alike. The place is huge, split over many levels without really feeling too large. If you can get a seat outside in the sun there can be a real riviera feel about it and that can make for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chertsey, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

Visited a few times over the Last few years.. Always lovely food and fast service... Sage tortelloni always beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wallington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

Brilliant restaurant. Excellent value for money, lovely staff & will 100% return. Thank you for making a bride to be very happy

Was this review helpful? Yes
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

What a lovely, snappy review! Thanks so much for taking the time to review Donatello, Lisa. We're glad you chose to have our hen meal at Donatello and even happier that it was such a success. Be sure to keep your promise and visit us again - you could bring the new hubby next time! :) More

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

We really enjoyed our meal at Donatello and certainly weren't disappointed in any way! The salad starter was quite filling for a starter as we were able to help ourselves from the salad bar - it was a lovely selection of things and everything tasted fresh. The mayonnaise was particularly nice in the salad! My mum was really pleased with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the review and (authentic) recommendation (for anyone wondering - it means they recommend to everyone, even Italians!) Donatello aim to serve great quality, authentic Italian food at affordable prices offering superb value. We're thrilled that you agree we are doing that and we're thrilled you enjoyed your visit. Please come see us again next time you're... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

This restaurant has lovely food but struggles with being very, very busy most of the time. The staff were very inefficient and ran around being ineffective and doing nothing. We waited for 15 mins to catch the eyes of the waiters to pay our bill and finally went to the counter to pay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

Food was good, Italian is pretty hard to get wrong and the quality for the price is excellent, no complaints. The service wasn't massively bad, the waitress did mess up our order, but we just accepted the wrong items as they didn't cost too much more and we're ok. I think they missed my wife's pizza as they cam over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

Lovely little Italian, prices reasonable, tasty food huge portions - we had olives, pizza lasagne, chips and a bottle of prosecco for about £40 - no complaints but only rated 4 as whilst the service was fine it wasn't outstanding

Was this review helpful? Yes
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Kirsten. We appreciate your feedback. For the benefit of potential customers, I feel as though I should point out that while our friendly, family restaurant has the feeling of a cosy, intimate place at times, Donatello is not a "lovely little Italian", it is a lovely, very large Italian with seating for 400 people. We offer... More

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW

This was our second time visiting Donatello's. Generally we have always had a good experience before but that changed after our recent visit. Food was good and is brilliant for the Price you pay however this receives a poor review due to the real let down in customer service. I asked for 2 diet cokes which never came but were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just spent four days in Brighton, went to Donatello the first night although it seats 400 & looked full the service was excellent & quick, friendly helpful staff, the food was authentic & very tasty, we subsequently visited two more times and tasted some of the best Italian food for a long time, we would recommend it to anyone &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Wow! 3 times in four days!?! We are honoured! We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the restaurant and we really appreciate your review and recommendation. Be sure to come visit us again next time you're in town, Stephen. More

Travelers who viewed Donatello also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing