We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1-3 Brighton Place | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HJ, England
+44 (0)1273 775477
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,444 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 519
    Excellent
  • 472
    Very good
  • 223
    Average
  • 111
    Poor
  • 119
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Always the place to visit in Brighton

We always stop here when visiting Brighton, due to great consistent food, good service & value for money is just fantastic! A family of 5 including drinks, wine, beer etc around £50!! Bargain, well done guys, see you soon

4 of 5 starsReviewed 5 days ago
Elmidds
,
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Italian is my favourite cuisine and the smells coming from this restaurant were very enticing, the food however was a terrible disappointment. We ordered 3 soft drinks which came with only two glasses, we never received the third glass. We ordered fillet steak, rare, this was burnt on the outside. The gnocchi gorgonzola was actually gnocchi in a processed cheese... More 

Helpful?
Thank kamber77
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

We're very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to Donatello. We get it - our restaurant is not for everyone. However, we cannot stand by while you make wildly untruthful, unfounded allegations about our food on a public forum like TA. We don't use processed cheese, we don't use instant mash and we don't really understand how roasted vegetables... More 

Purley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great pizza, really good price. Very friendly and warm atmosphere. The service was also very good. Perfect for families.

Helpful?
Thank pdavis149
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

We couldn't agree more, pdavis149. Thanks for the 5-star treatment. We look forward to you visiting us again soon. More 

Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We always stop here when visiting Brighton, due to great consistent food, good service & value for money is just fantastic! A family of 5 including drinks, wine, beer etc around £50!! Bargain, well done guys, see you soon

Helpful?
Thank Elmidds
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Aw! Lovely review. Thanks ever so much, Elmidds. You're right, of course: our 2-course specials start at just £8.95pp, so it's definitely possible for a family of 5 to eat 2 courses at Donatello for £50. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I really like Donatello. I would like some origano in the pizza. But that is me. I enjoyed my lunch and the kids too.

Helpful?
Thank Giusi D
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Short but sweet. Thanks for the review Giusi D. I'm sure our chefs could put oregano on your pizzas - just ask our staff next time you're in! More 

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

love donatellos but we visited on a sat night and had to wait even though table booked with small children that's not advisable and it was far too busy the waiters didn't seem to know if they were coming or going.We had to ask to be served but when food came it was good but our encore of drinks never... More 

Helpful?
Thank beverleyclark22
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

We think this is a very fair review, beverleyclark22. Our restaurant gets very, very busy at peak times, and the buzzy, vibrant atmosphere is not to everyone's suiting. We usually recommend our sister restaurant, Pinocchio on New Road which is smaller and a little more conducive to a quiet meal with family. Thanks for taking the time to leave a... More 

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second visit here. We went on a Monday night so was not extremely busy but had a few people in. We were served very efficiently and the food was acceptable but did not have the wow factor. We had 2 courses and felt that after the order was taken the whole experience was rushed and could not... More 

Helpful?
Thank michelle j
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, michelle j - we appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts. We're sorry if you felt 'rushed' - that most certainly is not the training our staff receive. Also, the service charge is ABSOLUTELY NOT 'hidden'. Details of the 10% charge appear on every menu in the restaurant. More 

shoreham-by-sea
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used a voucher here and I can't speak high enough of the quality and quantity of the food we received. The service was excellent too. It was packed out so best to reserve a table. Will definitely make a return visit.

Helpful?
Thank dragonrapide
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Another 5-star recommendation - thanks for the feedback, dragonrapide - we really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Our current offer of 2-course for £5 is absolutely amazing value, with lots of choice and as you say - no scrimping on portions. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been going to Donatello's for over 30 years - never disappointed - but never overwhelmed. Their pizza/pasta standards are reliable and tasty but not extravagant or adventurous - which is probably why they appeal to so many. It's longevity and expansion over the years is a sure sign that they're getting it right. From couples to groups of 20... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

We love hearing feedback from long-standing regulars! Thanks very much, Paul M for taking the time to leave a review. As you say, we serve fresh, authentic, Italian food from a menu that features all your favourite Italian classics. Our "Hall Of Fame" bears testament to all the celebs/stars that have visited over the years with pictures of the famous... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is extremely busy on the weekends, which can leave you waiting a very long time for your meal. Other than that, the food is good, and of course its nice to be in a place with a good atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Greggez
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Nice review, Greggez - thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts. You're absolutely right - we do get extremely busy at peak times - especially weekend evenings. We love the buzzy atmosphere, and we train our staff extensively to cope with the sorts of rushes that you no doubt saw. Unfortunately, as we cook all our food freshly... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haven't been into this building for years since it used to be the old Mortuary for the Hanningtons group. I found it a bit weird eating Italian food in what used to be an old mortuary and body prep building. Food was fresh and nice and hot, staff were friendly. Would recommend for a family meal

Helpful?
Thank JCraw12
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

JCraw12, we have been in this building for many, many years. It isn't a mortuary anymore - it's a well-established restaurant. Given that you say the food was "fresh, nice and hot" and the staff were "friendly" and that you would "recommend for a family meal" - why only 2 stars? More 

Travelers who viewed Donatello also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1-3 Brighton Place | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1273 775477

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 22
  • Cuisine: Italian, Pizza

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Donatello and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Donatello staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?