We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moshimo

Opticon | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
+44 1273 719195
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #306 of 833 restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $21 - $43
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    78
    70
    34
    37
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 NEW

It annoys and frustrates me to read fussy little people leaving petty reviews about Moshimo as it is my all time favourite restaurants and I have been coming here for almost 10 years. I am always keen to bring friends here and educate them on a fantastic, authentic sushi experience and it never disappoints. For the regular customers who know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

back once again to our fav restaurant - just simply love Moshimo! we are members so take full advantage of the 50% off on Mondays & Tuesday (what a deal!) and i tend to save myself when we visit this place so I can eat as much as possible as it is all so very very yummy. I particularly like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

Wow! One of the best meals I have had in a long while. Moshimo certainly delivered for me and my family last saturday. Authentic Japanese food seems scarce nowadays, but my view certainly changed when I visited Moshimo. It comes in abundance here! The service, was similarly excellent and the price too was great value for money, for the four... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you, Tobias, for your kind review. We hope to see you again very soon! Nicky More

Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location is rather beautiful and the food delivers too. We went on a Friday night quite early and everything was perfect. Not so expensive as well as they had a special offer going on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Dear Sabrina, we're so glad you enjoyed your experience at Moshimo - and thank you for sharing your appreciation. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Nicky co-owner, Moshimo More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

One of our favourite places to eat in Brighton! Amazing sushi and plenty of other delicious menu options. We often take advantage of their half price Monday and Tuesday's for members which is fantastic value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you, Chris. Our staff really appreciated your review when I read it out to them this morning. All the best, and hope to see you here again soon, Nicky co-owner More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Came here for my second date with my now partner...so it's quite a special memory! Great sushi, we ate mainly from off the belt rather than ordering specials but it was still great (infinitely better than Yo Sushi!) Need to come back soon, it's been too long!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice words. A lot of love goes into making our food, and so it's nice to know that you associate it with falling in love! See you soon, I hope, Nicky co-owner More

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I love Moshimo. The food is delicous, the service is fast and the staff are friendly. I really enjoyed the Yakitori platter and the Chicken Katsu when I last came - the sushi is very good too. The place has always been busy when I have come here, so I imagine it would be best to book in advance. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Elizabeth, thank you. We wish you lived close by too! Nicky, co-owner More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The only sushi made fresh are the hand rolls. The service was slow and they lost our order twice. 20% of the food was ok but the rest was cold and greasy. We complained and got our tempura taken off the bill. But there is better in Brighton and we won't come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

You are being rather disingenuous, my dear. Why don't you mention the real reason for your scorn and anger, which was that you were upset that you could no longer use a Moshimo membership card that had expired more than four years ago? We do these great offers - 50% off the food bill on Mondays and Tuesdays - for... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Love this place, consistantly good quality and service, matched by great pricing with the moshimo card. Took a family member who was holidaying here and she loves the place as much as I do now! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you! Nicky co-owner More

stockport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I love this restaurant! the interior is so cool with seating well set out. Lots of tables at the conveyor belt. Really fresh sushi which is presented beautifully.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

The staff really appreciate your nice comments, so thanks for taking the trouble to write! Hope to see you soon, Nicky co-owner More

Travelers who viewed Moshimo also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moshimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moshimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing