We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 840 Brighton Restaurants

Moshimo

Opticon | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
+44 1273 719195
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #263 of 840 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $19 - $40
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    86
    39
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We have been here before and had the spicy mushroom soup, which was delicious. The second time we came for lunch, I asked for the spicy mushroom soup again, but the soup was completely different. I asked the waitress who apologised and said she had given me the tofu soup by mistake, took it away and replaced it with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I was in Moshimo a week ago with my friends for dinner. We had a great time! The food was delicious. We started with excellent soup, and then many diferrent kinds of sushi. Everything was fresh and tasty and we really enjoyed the big range of vegan things. The service was fast and polite. I need to say that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed it! Nicky co-owner More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Evening was ruined by the music being so loud that we were unable to hold a conversation at the table without shouting at the top of our voices. It was made worse that the music was repetitive dance music. I would expect to be able to hear the person sitting next to me in a restaurant. I left with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thanks, will tell staff. Glad that everything else was good, All best, Nicky co-owner More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

we LOVE moshimo and go regularly for the excellent sushi, sake margaritas and good tunes. service is sometimes the downfall HOWEVER tonight a new member of staff Patrik Harbut absolutely rocked! great friendly attentive service and good food recommendations (how if so new?!) WHAT A BABE! with a notable increase in staff and as goo as Patrik it just adds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Scarlett, we like to think all our staff are babes... Nicky co-owner More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Moshimo Brighon 16th August 2014 We are sushi fans and hadn't been to Moshimo since it changed from Moshi Moshi. So after friends said they really enjoyed their visit, we booked a place the next night. We have enjoyed eating at places like Oki Nami, Murasaki, Sushimania, We Love Sushi and Yo Sushi. Sadly we found Moshimo very disappointing. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Just returned from date here and we both had the WORST experience. On a busy Saturday evening at 8pm, we started with a very long wait to even be acknowledged by the host, no eye contact, a seemingly untrained and overwhelmed staff, slow service, and dirty piles of dishes stacked all over the bar... the place was covered with dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hmmm.... Mikayla was the manager that evening. She's has been with us for many, many years and is rather lovely. She says she was wearing a pink shirt and that she was standing at the entrance greeting customers as they came in. She did report a problem with us running out of wine glasses at one point in the evening... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I took the tasting menu. 12 small portions. Very good with a great variety. The only portion a bit off was tuna sashimi, as the tuna pieces were not of high quality. The price was 25 pounds including sake. Very nicely priced. I can recommend. Also situated nice near pub area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your comments. I believe you might be referring to the tuna tataki with the chilli sauce when you mention the tuna sashimi. I actually agree with you, and I am in the process of changing this dish... Thank you again for taking the trouble to write, All the best, Nicky co-owner More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Very busy, there is always a line but it moves pretty fast and definitely worth the wait. Invest in a Moshimo members card for 50% off Mondays and Tuesdays - a huge value. Add a tempura platter and yakitori platter to your sushi for a nice variety.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Glad we were of service! Nicky co-owner More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We came here for a change from yo sushi and were not disappointed! The exterior and interior are aesthetically quite unique and it is very clean. Upon arrival they were confused over our reservation and did not understand my boyfriends' name, which was a bit frustrating but they gave us a nice table anyway. We had to wait ages to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you, Daniella, for your comments. We always appreciate it when one of our customers takes the time to give us a considered, accurate review. We've been made aware of the problems with some of the service, and hope to have this sorted by the next time you come - the reason is that we've had a number of new... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I have been eating at MoshiMoshi and then MoshiMo for many years. The first time they introduced the 50% off and then 25% off, it was going to be for a limited time. Clearly it worked and so it is semi-permanent. Unlike the reviewer before me who was so appalled at being told to buy a new card, I think... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Great review, thank you. We've had a few comments about the delay of the drinks orders, and hope to have this sorted by the next time you come. Thanks again for letting us know. All the best, Nicky co-owner More

Travelers who viewed Moshimo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moshimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing