We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Opticon | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
+44 1273 719195
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely...
Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 378 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 135
    Excellent
  • 107
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 46
    Poor
  • 37
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Neither good nor bad

Looking for pre concert food in Brighton on a Bank Holiday Sunday proved difficult so we resorted to what was an old favourite. But mixed feelings, one of the staff on greeting us lost interest in uS for three or four minutes but the rest of the staff were attentive. Food on the coveyor seemed... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 25, 2015
stephen h
,
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

Looking for pre concert food in Brighton on a Bank Holiday Sunday proved difficult so we resorted to what was an old favourite. But mixed feelings, one of the staff on greeting us lost interest in uS for three or four minutes but the rest of the staff were attentive. Food on the coveyor seemed lacking in interest and 'bite'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

I booked moshimo for my birthday meal out as always had a good and consistent time there in the past. I wish I hadn't bothered. We waited 30 minutes for a bottle of wine and a lemonade to be brought to our table. We then waited a further 40 minutes for our main course which was ordered at the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

One of the best restaurants I have been to in a long time. Food was amazing and the staff very friendly and helpful. I would defiantly recommend Moshimo

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We tried this place out recently. The food conveyor belt was not the main thing as one might expect but rather people order from the menu and then pick dishes from the conveyor belt to add to the meal. Chicken Teriyaki was good and dumplings. What was strange still was the ordered sushi dishes were prepared from already made rolls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I have been a fan of this place for ages but I've been less than impressed the last few times I've been. Similar to some of the other reviews, I've had sushi that has obviously come out of the fridge. Most recent visit, it was really obvious and not that pleasant to eat: not how I like my sushi -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

This is the third time I a row that I've been disappointed by the (slow inattentive) service and not so great quality of food. To be charged over £12 for a sushi platter that included quite a few cucumber rolls (costs next to nothing) is actually a rip off. Fish sushi was ok, nothing outstanding. for the price I'd rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

The food was really good. Would suggest the platters if you want to try varieties.. The staff was very friendly but service was a bit slow...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Quality food sourced ethically great place and have a great members card with 50 percent of Mondays and Tuesday

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you! Moshimo in a nutshell! Nicky co-owner More 

cape town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant couple of times, and returned again only because there is small choice of sushi restaurants in that area. But we won't be coming back again. The food there is less than average, sushi, quite often come half frozen inside, which indicates that they are not freshly made. The hot meals are over cooked, over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Yes, it was the co-owner of the restaurant, Karl, who spoke to you. He has a different version of events, of course. I know you didn't like what he said - that the dish you were complaining about (the squid kara age) was exactly as we intended, and indeed one of our most popular dishes on our menu - but... More 

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Came to Brighton especially for Moshimo's sushi after reading the good reviews online. It was a treat for my daughter's birthday, who is a sushi lover and all things Japanese and she loved it. I reserved a table online some time in advance and the service was ok, fast and courteous, even thought the young lady who served us did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your good and honest review. Looking back at the booking you made, we see that you requested that a "Happy Birthday" message was written on the dessert you ordered. I'm afraid we haven't got the capability to do this, but we should have informed you of this - for which, apologies. I like your description -... More 

Travelers who viewed Moshimo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moshimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Opticon | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 719195

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 18 - 38
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Sushi

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Doing business

Description

Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moshimo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?