We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Italia Brighton

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
24 Market Street, Brighton BN1 1HH, England
01273 777607
Website
Today
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bella Italia Brighton couldn't ask for a better location within the...
Bella Italia Brighton couldn't ask for a better location within the vibrant southern seaside city. Situated in the charming area known as The Lanes, with its numerous antique shops and jewellers, Bella Italia offers both locals and visitors great Italian grub at accessible prices. Tuck into starters such as the mushrooms baked in mascarpone, spinach and garlic sauce with ciabatta followed by a 7oz sirloin steak with garlic butter, mushrooms, fried and rocket accompanied by a sauce of your choice. Round off with a classic banoffee pie with sprinkled amaretti biscuits and zabaglione cream. All this accompanied by a traditional Italian Peroni beer or a glass of Chianti. If you're looking for a good value Italian restaurant in Brighton, Bella Italia certainly fits the bill.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 203 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 63
    Excellent
  • 72
    Very good
  • 33
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Not a good experience. .at all

Upon arriving at the restaurant my lady friend and I were greeted by a member of staff who had quite the uncaring attitude. About 3 minutes after sitting down an unfriendly unsmiling waiter tried to take our order. On being asked to return in a few minutes he looked distinctly pissed off. When... read more

1 of 5 starsReviewed March 2, 2015
Roy G
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

Upon arriving at the restaurant my lady friend and I were greeted by a member of staff who had quite the uncaring attitude. About 3 minutes after sitting down an unfriendly unsmiling waiter tried to take our order. On being asked to return in a few minutes he looked distinctly pissed off. When our orders arrived the waiter must have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hampshire
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

We were staying in the YHA in Brighton, it was raining hard, we needed somewhere close for a quick meal, Bella Italia was the first cafe we found. We prefer independant restaurants and cafes but, because of the bad weather, we dived in here and it turned out to be a good decision. We were thinking of having a drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Went here last night for a meal. Great value for money had 2 courses for 9.95. Portions were still massive and we then had pudding and it was lovely and again a generous portion. Service was brilliant staff very friendly will definitely go back again. Couldn't fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

The food was delicious and the price was right. The service was great and they really catered to the little one. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Decent service and food.There was just 2 of us needing a quick pasta meal pre half marathon race day and we hadn't booked and so we're happy to be seated straight away. Service was friendly and prompt. Spaghetti pomodoro was tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Visited early evening on a Thursday, initially it was quiet but soon got busy with most of the tables occupied. The restaurant is small and there was a nice atmosphere. Were served promptly and all the staff were pleasant. We waited quite a while for the main courses to arrive for which the waiter apologised. The food when it came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My daughter and I tried to visit this restaurant at 1.45 monday 16th feb 2015,,, upon entering the restaurant there were plenty of empty tables, I'd say a half empty restaurant. We waited to be greeted and were told it would be at least a 40min wait for food!!. We made our excuses and left only to be faced with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We had lunch here. Unfortunately the chef had quit the day before so service was slow. The waitor who served us was brilliant. He apologised and explained the situation. The food was okay. The children's were happy with their food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Great service, great food and fab puds! Staff very friendly and helpful. We had the five puddings in shot glasses, they were to die for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rossi M, Owner at Bella Italia Brighton, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your lovely review! We really appreciate it :) And I'm really glad you enjoyed your meal with us. The shot desserts are brilliant, aren't they!? Looking forward to seeing you again soon, Chloe@Bella. More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I booked to attend here on New Years Eve as we had plans for later in the evening. We found we had more time than originally realised and attempted to change our booking by phone to an earlier time but when I rang was rebuffed. We went for a walk and as we were passing noticed there was a lot... More 

Review collected in partnership with Bella Italia

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rossi M, Manager at Bella Italia Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, thank you for taking the time to review us and you feedback is very useful. We’ll look into re-enforcing service standards with our team to make sure the right menu is presented. We hope you had a lovely New Year! Rossi@Bella More 

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Bella Italia Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 24 Market Street, Brighton BN1 1HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: 01273 777607

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian

Description

Bella Italia Brighton couldn't ask for a better location within the vibrant southern seaside city. Situated in the charming area known as The Lanes, with its numerous antique shops and jewellers, Bella Italia offers both locals and visitors great Italian grub at accessible prices. Tuck into starters such as the mushrooms baked in mascarpone, spinach and garlic sauce with ciabatta followed by a 7oz sirloin steak with garlic butter, mushrooms, fried and rocket accompanied by a sauce of your choice. Round off with a classic banoffee pie with sprinkled amaretti biscuits and zabaglione cream. All this accompanied by a traditional Italian Peroni beer or a glass of Chianti. If you're looking for a good value Italian restaurant in Brighton, Bella Italia certainly fits the bill.
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bella Italia Brighton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?