We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

seventh wave

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Durlston Castle | lighthouse road, Swanage BH19 2JL, England
+44 1929 421111
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:30 am - 4:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:30 am - 4:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Description: Seventhwave is open daily from 9.30am 7 days a week. We welcome both...
Seventhwave is open daily from 9.30am 7 days a week. We welcome both visitors to the park and reservation bookings. Serving a range of lightbites,breakfasts,lunches and delicious cakes, all our dishes are made in house fresh local produce. Now taking bookings for our 2015 Christmas lunch menu. Both Emily, our general manager and Lucian, our new and exciting chef welcome you to this stunning location. Dogs and muddy boots welcome. Seasonal evening service (spring/summer only)
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 240 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 137
    Excellent
  • 60
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
More than sustenance

This place seems mainly to serve walkers on the Coastal Path or visitors to the country park but from our lunch experience I think it is probably worth a repeat visit. I had one of the Specials of the day, a seafood linguine, which was really good: lots of seafood, an al dente pasta and just a hint... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
familyguypilot
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place seems mainly to serve walkers on the Coastal Path or visitors to the country park but from our lunch experience I think it is probably worth a repeat visit. I had one of the Specials of the day, a seafood linguine, which was really good: lots of seafood, an al dente pasta and just a hint of chili... More 

Helpful?
Thank familyguypilot
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I try my hardest to find the "good" in every cafe/restaurant I review. The only good things I can think of here was the view = Stunning Waitress = very sweet & polite. Quite frankly I think she was embarrassed by the food. They really are a cafe, but think they are a restaurant. They are a long way from... More 

Helpful?
Thank places2seeplaces2go
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The fish meal was delicious. A really lovely place to visit for a meal or drink. The views are fantastic and the Staff very friendly and helpful. Whatever the weather it's a pleasure to visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kath B
romsey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

We celebrated an early Xmas,ate crab linguine that was delicious and a decent sized portion,stunning views and relaxed atmosphere.friendly staff and fast service,will definitely return

Helpful?
Thank penguinRomsey
Purbecks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We often go here....It has lovely views from the restaurant...and the cakes are delicious. Only draw back is having to pay for the car park to eat there! Maybe there could be a way of knocking the car park off your bill?

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Seventhwave, General Manager at seventh wave, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback regarding you recent visit with us. We have looked into the car parking and unfortunately we are restricted to being able to offer car parking. I can advise however that in the evenings we do refund £2 car park charge for every £20 spent. Many thanks and hopefully we will see you... More 

Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Surely the best views on the coast are here - and having returned several times in recent months this has become a much improved waiter service restaurant to take family or friends after a walk. The sea food linguine and home made burger are two of my favourites. Thankfully there are lots of light bites and specials of the day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charles C
Seventhwave, General Manager at seventh wave, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased to hear the steps we have taken to improve the service and the restaurant have been received well and hope they continue to improve. Look forward to seeing you next time. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Spent Sunday lunch and afternoon visiting Swanage and Durlston Castle. Had lunch in the Seventh Wave Cafe and the food was really nice with a menu offering a great variety of locally sourced dishes. I had the Seafood Linguine which was nicely presented and served in a delicious white wine sauce and my husband had the Scotch Egg with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank MyLady7079
Seventhwave, General Manager at seventh wave, responded to this review

The team at Seventhwave wanted to say thank you for your kind words. It is lovely to hear when a customer has had a great experience at Seventhwave. Please remember should you wish to keep updated with our special offers and events if you are ever in the area again, our website holds all the details. Look forward to seeing... More 

Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Having returned to Swanage after a 10 year gap, we were delighted to find that Durleston Castle had been renovated in 2012 and that it now has a new café, the Seventh Wave. It being a wet and windy Monday lunchtime, there were not many other customers. After a cold, tiring walk, we were hoping for something warming and substantial... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terlow
Seventhwave, General Manager at seventh wave, responded to this review

a Huge Thank you for your recent review. The team are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the Seafood Linguini, after all of its great feedback, we have decided to run this as our Signature dish in 2016! We always worry during the winter months that the atmosphere is a little quieter and not so enjoyable for customers, so... More 

winchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Went with family ordered the roast which was Turkey as it was nearish Xmas. The food was warm gravy and Yorkshire and gravy came before the turkey The bread sauce looked and tasted like wall paper paste. The chips the others had were meant to be triple cooked and they were white. Al in all terrible very bland I did... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brewer12
Seventhwave, General Manager at seventh wave, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding your Sunday Roast with us. Firstly may I please say how disappointed I am to hear that you had a bad experience and secondly may I please say how sorry I am that you didn't enjoy your meal. As you can understand feedback, both positive and negative is extremely important to us to... More 

Rugby, England
Level Contributor
159 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Four of us visited for lunch on a wet and windy Saturday. It was doing good business and the main courses (averaging £10.95) looked good. We had the lighter bites, goats cheese salad, ham terrine and panini, from £6 to £7.95. Nicely presented and reasonable value. Very attentive and helpful service from the young people on duty. Great view over... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisRugby

Travelers who viewed seventh wave also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to seventh wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Durlston Castle | lighthouse road, Swanage BH19 2JL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Isle of Purbeck  >  Swanage
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 421111

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 2 - 15
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Scenic view

Description

Seventhwave is open daily from 9.30am 7 days a week. We welcome both visitors to the park and reservation bookings. Serving a range of lightbites,breakfasts,lunches and delicious cakes, all our dishes are made in house fresh local produce. Now taking bookings for our 2015 Christmas lunch menu. Both Emily, our general manager and Lucian, our new and exciting chef welcome you to this stunning location. Dogs and muddy boots welcome. Seasonal evening service (spring/summer only)
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 4:30 pm
Monday
9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Friday
9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday
9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from seventh wave staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?