We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Martyrs Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Steakhouse, Indian, Hamburgers, English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
49 Main Rd, Dorchester DT2 7ES, England
+44 1305 848249
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Martyrs Inn, in the historic village of Tolpuddle, near Dorchester...
The Martyrs Inn, in the historic village of Tolpuddle, near Dorchester, Dorset, is a delightful country pub serving our local, visitor and tourism trade. We offer a range of great home cooked food, using locally sourced ingredients, we work hard to be excellent value and offer all our diners a relaxed atmoshphere for eating. Open all day with food served 12noon until 9pm (8pm on Sunday) with regular great value dining such as curry night monday, fish and chip friday and our all day sunday carvery.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 114 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 64
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Fantastic and gluten free friendly!

we visited the Martyrs Inn on 22/03/2015 as a family group of ten which included a 6 year old coeliac. The food was delicious and my little one was spoilt for choice when choosing from the gluten free menu. The staff were friendly and attentive and we will definitely return if we are in the area... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 23, 2015
Elizabeth C
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

we visited the Martyrs Inn on 22/03/2015 as a family group of ten which included a 6 year old coeliac. The food was delicious and my little one was spoilt for choice when choosing from the gluten free menu. The staff were friendly and attentive and we will definitely return if we are in the area. It's not often I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Visited the Martyrs Inn with my husband last Wednesday. Having checked out the menu online, I was impressed by the amount of vegetarian meals, and the fact the food seemed to be seasonal and not part of a 'chain pub' menu. The fact that they served food all day was a bonus, all other local eateries only served lunchtime/evening. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owen D, Owner at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review

Dear wip138 Thanks for the great review, that is very kind of you to take the time. We work hard to make sure that all visitors have a great time, and I am pleased that all the 'little things' that we do were noticed by you and have added up a contributed to you having such a great time. Many... More 

Dorchester
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

For my full impressions of this EXCELLENT pub/restaurant please read my previous review. With my Sister and her Husband visiting from 'up north' we decided to take them for a meal at The Martyrs - All four of us were well impressed. Lovely friendly, helpful and efficient service, perfectly cooked and presented food using top quality ingredients, overall comfort and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Went to this pub restaurant twice, once in February and again in March, this time using a Groupon deal voucher. Both visits were early Sunday evenings, not normally the best time for food, but both times the food and service were very good indeed. Four of us selected different items from the extensive menu and we were all impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owen D, Director of Sales at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review

Dear kas75 Thanks for the great review, I am delighted to hear that you have been twice, thats really good. Your quite right, Sunday evening can be a difficult time for food in many pubs, especially after a busy lunch tine, but we serve food all day - everyday and work hard to make it as good as it can... More 

hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

Eaten here 5 times when visiting my sister & love it. Staff welcoming & friendly, food excellent. The Beef Hotpot is a delight. Thank you & already looking forward to next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owen D, Owner at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review

Dear duchess1Hampshire, Thanks for the review, telling the world how much you enjoyed the Martyrs Inn, helps our business prosper and the staff rewarded, Thanks for being so kind and taking the time, hope to see you again. Best wishes Owen More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Fabulous service from a team of very friendly staff. As a group of seven we all enjoyed our meals. I would recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owen D, Owner at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review

Hello HMM186338 Thanks for the great review and a full set of 5*, thats so kind, we work hard to make sure that everyone gets our best attention and we welcome larger tables and parties. Hope to see you again. Best wishes Owen More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stopped for a quick lunch in Tolpuddle and received a very friendly welcome. The dining area was nearly full with some tables reserved for quite large family groups, but we managed to get a table for two near the door and the freezer for ice creams. The menu had a few veggie options. The food we chose was disappointing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owen D, Director of Sales at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review

Dear biztravelersussex Thanks for the review, I am delighted that its a constructive review, and shall discuss with the team. We don't have a record of you mentioning it to the staff on the day, but hope that you did and that they made amends somehow. Both those dishes were on our winter menu, we work hard to provide a... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Very welcoming, staff polite and friendly. Good choice of food, we enjoyed an evening meal. Quick service , plenty of food on your plate , hot and very tasty. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owen D, Owner at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review

Hi Alison O Thats a lovely review, thank you. Hot, Tasty and Plenty.. three of my favourite words.. thats what we work hard to do for all our customers. Best wishes Owen More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My wife and I came out for a special lunch last Friday. Both chose steaks. The meal was average, not upto the high quality food we have received as frequent customers for over twelve years. You couldn't complain as it was an average meal that you could get in many high street chains for half the price. Not the Martyrs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owen D, Director of Sales at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review

Dear DorsetDuo, I am sorry that you you found the meal average, what a shame you did not mention it to the waiting staff when they table checked you or when you ordered dessert. If you mention a problem to us, then we have the chance to do something about it, and we would have done so, our staff are... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Popped in Sunday 15/2/2015 at 12.03 hrs, for a drink and possible bowl of soup. But were told they were not accepting "Walk Ins" today - not even for a beer. Am a local resident, not a holiday-maker, will never go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owen D, Director of Sales at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review

What can I say? other than our absolute apologies. We should not have booked any tables to all the people who had phoned in advance, we should not have let the group of ramblers in at 11.30am for coffee and while we are it, I should have turned to stop cock off for the rain, to provide more seating on... More 

Travelers who viewed The Martyrs Inn also viewed

Puddletown, Dorchester
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to The Martyrs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 49 Main Rd, Dorchester DT2 7ES, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Dorchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1305 848249

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 30
  • Cuisine: Steakhouse, Indian, Hamburgers, English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine

Description

The Martyrs Inn, in the historic village of Tolpuddle, near Dorchester, Dorset, is a delightful country pub serving our local, visitor and tourism trade. We offer a range of great home cooked food, using locally sourced ingredients, we work hard to be excellent value and offer all our diners a relaxed atmoshphere for eating. Open all day with food served 12noon until 9pm (8pm on Sunday) with regular great value dining such as curry night monday, fish and chip friday and our all day sunday carvery.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Martyrs Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?