We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 106 Dorchester Restaurants

Moreton Tea Rooms

The Old School | Moreton, Dorchester DT2 8RH, England
01929 463647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 106 Restaurants in Dorchester
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    47
    14
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

Good lunch served, lovely outdoor seating and good service from the ladies... Lots to do and see locally with the most amazing church 5 minutes walk away with stunningly engraved windows, so unusual in a church. T E Lawrence funeral service held here and he is buried nearby. The tea room has an area with T E Lawrence memorabilia....well worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Lovely hidden place about 15 mins drive from centre of Dorchester. Gardens were lovely and the staff friendly. Great tasting coffee. The food looked good. We only had a scone which wasn't to our taste but was enormous. Recommended and well worth the drive. Tip. It is easier to drive to from the southern road as if going to Lulworth.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We visited this tearoom last week, a party of four adults. It is in a pretty out of the way Dorset village whose main attraction is the grave of 'Lawrence of Arabia'. It is an old school with plenty of seating inside and out, a nice garden and clean toilets. A coach party arrived just after we got there but,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate S, Manager at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your tea. We do welcome coaches but it seems to be the law that they must arrive at the same time as everyone else which makes it very difficult for our waitresses. More

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

took my mum took the tea rooms today, we ordered tea, scones, teacake and some chips. the chips were 2.75, and came in a ceareal bowl, so tiny, omg, and the scones were dry , the service was poor, slow and the waitress gave us the chips 10 mins before the rest!!, how odd!!. mum didnt like it in there,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate S, Manager at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that you did not have an enjoyable visit on Saturday. My staff did mention that there had been a delay with your drinks order, due unfortunately to the fact that a large number of parties had come in at the same time and made us unexpectedly busy. I do hope that you will in fact visit again. More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

we met friends here for a late breakfast. I had coddled egg with smoked salmon soldiers and it was superb. Not a huge breakfast menu (a good sign in my view) but very good quality. Others in our party had the full English breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed it. The garden was very pretty, bathed in sunlight on our visit, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate S, Manager at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast More

Torridon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Our order was not completed after a long wait, but they did not charge us for what we did get. A disappointment having gone specially to see it . Better staff training I think.!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We visited here staying locally on someones recommendation and I have to say we were left feeling very disappointed and ripped off. When we arrived the queue to order the food wasn't organised and two queues had formed. Very disorganised, making it the customers choice who was served first. When I asked if they served cream tea and was advised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

When you've hiked for over an hour through the woods, over the heath and across the ford of the River Frome, Moreton Tea Rooms really does seem like the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Moreton itself is a charming little village -- many people go there to visit the beautiful church and the grave of T.E.Lawrence... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

It's worth signing up to the e-newsletters from the Moreton Tea Rooms for news about their special supper evenings. Four of us went for a 'bistro supper'. The menu gave us an excellent choice and the food we chose was delicious. Chorizo Scotch duck egg, cut to reveal a perfectly cooked runny yolk, with a delicious watercress mayonnaise, and stuffed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Recently moved to the area and have just discovered the tea rooms at Moreton. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the tea, coffee and cakes excellent and the surroundings are just so relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Moreton Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Moreton Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Moreton Tea Rooms?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing