We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 107 Dorchester Restaurants

Moreton Tea Rooms

The Old School | Moreton, Dorchester DT2 8RH, England
01929 463647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 107 Restaurants in Dorchester
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    52
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I never write reviews but was so blown away with our lunch today I had to write one. My daughter and I had a high tea, which comprised of sandwiches, scones and cakes. Everything is homemade and my daughter said the mayonnaise was the best she'd ever had. There was so much that the lovely lady wrapped up our leftovers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Australia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

The plan to have a cream tea was undermined from the moment I looked at the board menu and saw 'doorstep sandwiches' listed. Reminiscing about the doorstep sandwiches my grandmother made, I was able to persuade my companion to share the cheese and chutney in granary bread - what a good decision. It was delicious. Having shared the sandwich and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

As we were a group of 20, we had pre-booked our time & food from a choice of a 2 or 3 course menu for a very reasonable price. The portions were large, enough for 2 to share a starter or desert, It was well cooked, served efficiently & I enjoyed every mouthful. The setting was great. Took me make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Quaint.... I never ever use this word but this is worthy of the description. They are in the old school building and despite the modernisation you can still feel the history of it all. Famed mainly for T.E.Lawrence the village is old, unique and generally very very lovely. We visit often but today is the first time we have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Friendly welcome and great service. Lovely tea and cake including gluten free options. Visit the church nearby for the most amazing etched glass windows, the life's work of Laurence Whistler.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We visited this gem for the first time and always talked about coming here for ages, and what a lovely place it is and to eat in an old school house was like stepping back into history. We had a cream tea and chose ginger and treacle which were lovely and fresh with a crumbly texture. Definately, we would come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We visted these premises last Sunday (2nd November) for Sunday lunch after receiving some good reviews from our friends, mostly I would suspect for their afternoon teas. Our experience however for Sunday lunch was something I wish to forget. We booked in early and it was a good job we all liked beef, as this was the only meat on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with us and am disappointed that you were still dissatisfied when you left us as our head waitress believed that you had accepted her apologies at the time. It is true that we do only 1 roast on a Sunday but there were plenty of other meat dishes on offer -... More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A super find tucked away. Tried the cream teas, one with a ginger and treacle scone. Very yummy. Not at all expensive and everything just as it should be in a quaint tea room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glastonbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I am always sad to write a bad review, and even more so when a previous experience has been positive. We made return trip here with a friend on Saturday and spent at least 20 minutes sitting at uncleared table whilst the staff failed to acknowledge our presence. I can't comment on the food on this occasion as we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I note your point regarding the need for extra staff. Our customer numbers are very weather-dependent and as it was such a beautiful day on Saturday, we were far busier than we had anticipated. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Came here for lunch during a day of outings in the Dorchester area (including the wonderful Sculptures By The Lake which are nearby) and liked it so much we came back again later for afternoon tea. Excellent food, excellent service and really nice (and plentiful) seating areas both indoors and out. Also, if you're interested (we didn't know this), Lawrence... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Moreton Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Moreton Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreton Tea Rooms

Address: The Old School | Moreton, Dorchester DT2 8RH, England
Phone Number: 01929 463647
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Dorchester
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moreton Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?