We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 108 Dorchester Restaurants

Moreton Tea Rooms

The Old School | Moreton, Dorchester DT2 8RH, England
01929 463647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 108 Restaurants in Dorchester
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    52
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We visited this gem for the first time and always talked about coming here for ages, and what a lovely place it is and to eat in an old school house was like stepping back into history. We had a cream tea and chose ginger and treacle which were lovely and fresh with a crumbly texture. Definately, we would come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We visted these premises last Sunday (2nd November) for Sunday lunch after receiving some good reviews from our friends, mostly I would suspect for their afternoon teas. Our experience however for Sunday lunch was something I wish to forget. We booked in early and it was a good job we all liked beef, as this was the only meat on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with us and am disappointed that you were still dissatisfied when you left us as our head waitress believed that you had accepted her apologies at the time. It is true that we do only 1 roast on a Sunday but there were plenty of other meat dishes on offer -... More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A super find tucked away. Tried the cream teas, one with a ginger and treacle scone. Very yummy. Not at all expensive and everything just as it should be in a quaint tea room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glastonbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I am always sad to write a bad review, and even more so when a previous experience has been positive. We made return trip here with a friend on Saturday and spent at least 20 minutes sitting at uncleared table whilst the staff failed to acknowledge our presence. I can't comment on the food on this occasion as we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I note your point regarding the need for extra staff. Our customer numbers are very weather-dependent and as it was such a beautiful day on Saturday, we were far busier than we had anticipated. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Came here for lunch during a day of outings in the Dorchester area (including the wonderful Sculptures By The Lake which are nearby) and liked it so much we came back again later for afternoon tea. Excellent food, excellent service and really nice (and plentiful) seating areas both indoors and out. Also, if you're interested (we didn't know this), Lawrence... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swanage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

The best cream tea ever served by friendly staff and just a short walk from the graveyard where Laurence of Arabia was laid to rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

There is no doubting the quality of this establishment -- good coffee, speciality teas, nice cakes (the gluten-free brownies were universally acclaimed), and a blackboard menu that promises interesting midday meals. The old schoolroom is attractively decorated, and there is plenty of outdoor seating too. What I like most of all is the quiet settlement in which the place is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Lovely tea rooms it am gluten and dairy intolerant and was told if I rang they would try and make something

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swanage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Visited here last year and thought it was the best cream tea ever. So, wanting brunch, I went again and once again, it was excellent. I had the 'Cobbled Eggs' which came with salmon 'fingers'. It was wonderful, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was wonderful as always, the staff are really friendly and good fun, despite have had 2 coach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Friendly staff, nice selection, splendid building and very interesting area dedicated to T.E. Lawrence.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Moreton Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Moreton Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreton Tea Rooms

Address: The Old School | Moreton, Dorchester DT2 8RH, England
Phone Number: 01929 463647
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Dorchester
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moreton Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?