We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Pier Approach, Bournemouth BH2 5AA, England
01202 587785
Website
Today
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: WestBeach Bar is a delightfully fresh and modern seafood bistro on the...
WestBeach Bar is a delightfully fresh and modern seafood bistro on the Pier Approach in Bournemouth. With floor to ceiling glass windows to maximise the stunning sea views, the light-filled dining room is understated and relaxed – allowing the spotlight to shine on the real star of the show, the stunning seafood menu. WestBeach also hosts weekly Jazz on the Beach nights, and is available for private parties.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 756 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 290
    Excellent
  • 207
    Very good
  • 106
    Average
  • 92
    Poor
  • 61
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great food, Staff lacking knowledge and experience

Me and my partner went there because the reviews of their fish platter was 5 stars. We were very excited to go. when we arrived we got a cocktail (The hurricane) Which was lovely. We got our table and was offered water. It took a while for the waitress to return to take our order, we then found out... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 25, 2015
Wolf023
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
  • Entertaining clients
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

Me and my partner went there because the reviews of their fish platter was 5 stars. We were very excited to go. when we arrived we got a cocktail (The hurricane) Which was lovely. We got our table and was offered water. It took a while for the waitress to return to take our order, we then found out that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

A lovely place to have breakfast which we did on two consecutive days. The place itself is clean and tidy with a super beach view. Service was good and friendly and the food was pleasant enough. Marks off though for terrible coffee!! My wife would have given it an extra star but she's a tea drinker!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Enjoyed a lunch here recently, we had booked ahead and were lucky enough to secure a table in the window which meant we had the lovely views of the beach and pier. The food here is delicious and the staff very efficient and pleasant, would recommend and will definitely be going back for some more fresh fish, yum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestBeachBournemouth, Marketing Executive at WestBeach, responded to this review

Hi Claire B, Thank you for the lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your lunch at WestBeach - we certainly can't complain about the view. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, The WestBeach Team x More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

We ate twice during the week so were able to sample Black Bream, Sea bream and Sea Bass. Such fresh fish and accompanied by Muscadet. Wonderful. We will be back in the autumn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestBeachBournemouth, Marketing Executive at WestBeach, responded to this review

Hi Tobywebb35, Thank you for the lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again in the Autumn. Best wishes, The WestBeach Team x More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW via mobile

Sea side , Nice food and good service !!! Recommended for those who love to enjoy good dinner by the sea

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestBeachBournemouth, Marketing Executive at WestBeach, responded to this review

Hi Chan'nat A, Thank you for the wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes, The WestBeach Team x More 

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

Had dinner here with a group of colleagues. Nice selection of seafood on the menu. The food and service were good. Location of the restaurant on the seaside is great. The interior of the restaurant is not so inspiring though. Nonetheless, would probably return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestBeachBournemouth, Marketing Executive at WestBeach, responded to this review

Hi DeKokkies, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're pleased you enjoyed the food and service and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, The WestBeach Team x More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

popped in for toast and coffee the other morning, although officially I'm not allowed any more coz of a few bad reviews from me (along with some good ones which they forget) Anyways was curious beca use of the many poor reviews regarding service etc. It does seem as if nothing has changed , nobody being served on the outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WestBeachBournemouth, Marketing Executive at WestBeach, responded to this review

Hi Tombanellie, We are curious as to how you have written this review, when you have not set foot in WestBeach since you abused our staff and were therefore banned from the restaurant. Our CCTV has shown that yourself and your dog merely approached the door, at 8.56 (before we are even open for breakfast) and claim to have had... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

Really excellent food - I had the sea bass with seafood medley in Lobster Bisque sauce. Really enjoyed it -clams, mussels, prawns, and razor clams. Delicious sauce. Excellent service. It was my birthday and they even brought a cake out with candles and sang happy birthday!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestBeachBournemouth, Marketing Executive at WestBeach, responded to this review

Hi Pauline S, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're so pleased you had a lovely birthday and hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes, The WestBeach Team x More 

Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Visited twice in Nov 14 and last weekend. The most recent visit was highly enjoyable. The food was excellent, with a good choice of food and service excellent. We will be back. My one very minor reservation is in the winter and at our previous visit the lighting is far too low, to the extent we could not see our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestBeachBournemouth, Marketing Executive at WestBeach, responded to this review

Hi Teejay99, Thank you for the lovely review, we're so pleased you will be returning. We value all feedback and will pass you comments about the lighting to management. Best wishes, The WestBeach Team x More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Excellent choice of food, somewhat overpriced as well as drinks. Service was appalling, looked like well meaning and polite students but they certainly did not appear to have been trained very well. Exceptional view as you are on the promenade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestBeachBournemouth, Marketing Executive at WestBeach, responded to this review

Hi PeterP1950, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're glad you enjoyed the food. We pride ourselves on our fresh, local produce and this is reflected in our prices. Our staff are all fully trained, however we value your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, The WestBeach Team x More 

Travelers who viewed WestBeach also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to WestBeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Pier Approach, Bournemouth BH2 5AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bournemouth
  • Phone Number: 01202 587785

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 64
  • Cuisine: Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
  • Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic

Description

WestBeach Bar is a delightfully fresh and modern seafood bistro on the Pier Approach in Bournemouth. With floor to ceiling glass windows to maximise the stunning sea views, the light-filled dining room is understated and relaxed – allowing the spotlight to shine on the real star of the show, the stunning seafood menu. WestBeach also hosts weekly Jazz on the Beach nights, and is available for private parties.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from WestBeach staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?