We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vintage Tea

Certificate of Excellence
English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
3 Fore Street, Totnes, England
Website
Add hours for Vintage Tea and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 117 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 67
    Excellent
  • 30
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
All I wanted was a sit down and a coffee

Which was a shame, I wish I saved myself a bit earlier in the day as the Cream Tea looked delicious. As it was I had to look on as others tucked in! I'll know better for next time

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 3, 2015
Graham19
,
West Midlands
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 NEW

We had not booked a table but managed to get in and have a cream tea for two ( which was shared by two adults and two kids ) Very nice scones , jam and cream and there is lots , not sure how someone could eat two to themselves ! So all very nice but the let down is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

The woman on main reception by the till was probably having a bad day but was discourteously blunt to me on arrival. The unwelcoming behaviour continued throughout the visit with communication held by a display of shoulder shrugging and an episode of hard of hearing to a customer’s order. Hospitality was not much apparent here. The menu describes Afternoon tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Midlands
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Which was a shame, I wish I saved myself a bit earlier in the day as the Cream Tea looked delicious. As it was I had to look on as others tucked in! I'll know better for next time

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derby
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Visited the Vintage Tea whilst exploring Totnes on holiday, What a find, fantastic food in a really peaceful setting. A place to look forward to returning to next holiday. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We chose "Vintage Tea" for our afternoon tea and we had cream tea in a calm and relaxed atmosphere. Their tea selection is top notch, i don't think you can go wrong with any choice that you will make.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

I have been to Vintage Tea twice now, once in 2012 and again this Saturday and I'm pleased to say the service was excellent both times. We'd picked a busy weekend, due to Mother's Day and the tea room was fully booked, but luckily we were able to have a table that wasnt needed until later. The staff were friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

My husband took me here for a valantine tea yesterday, the food is excellent lovely salmon sandwiches deliciouse scones and cakes, served with real china, if I were to be picky I would have liked better quality napkins but other than that could not find fault, the service was good attentive but not I your face, tables not cramped together... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Popped into Vintage Tea for a Devon Cream Tea with friends. The food was excellent, and well presented, and the coffee was almost palatable (not bad for such an establishment). I did however find that the staff were a little standoffish, snooty and not welcoming or friendly. However, I can only assume they are seeking the same "ambience" as seen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

My friend had booked a small gathering of 18 people for her daughters 16th Birthday by way of something different. However, whilst the food was tasty, the shop lacked atmosphere and the majority of staff were unfriendly. Our specific waitress was unobliging, conceited and very condescending throughout the whole of the visit, she even openly showed her disappointment that a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Victoria P, Owner at Vintage Tea, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise to you as you were obviously not happy with the service you received while at Vintage Tea. I have spoken with the staff members in question and they were very upset to see that you had not enjoyed your visit. They were also a little confused as a number... More 

Devon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

Nice relaxed surroundings. Staff very friendly. Beautiful China. Had a very festive mincemeat and apple strudel with tea and it was gorgeous. Will most certainly go back as soon as possible!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Vintage Tea also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3 Fore Street, Totnes, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Totnes

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vintage Tea staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?