We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 73 Totnes Restaurants

The Watermans Arms

Bow Bridge | Ashprington, Totnes TQ9 7EG, England
+44 1803 732214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 73 Restaurants in Totnes
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A quintessential 17th Century Inn, located in an area of outstanding natural beauty, at the bottom of a steep valley next to Bow Creek and bridge. Hidden away at the bottom of a steep valley, the Riverside tables are perfect for savoring a pint of the fine Palmer's Copper Ale. Our Lunch, Evening and Sunday lunch menus are sourced from local suppliers and can be enjoy out by the river, or in our bar and restaurant. All our Dishes are made fresh to order so you can get the full taste from every bite. The Inn attract foodies from as far away as Exeter and Plymouth. We have two separate dining rooms, on three different levels, seating no more than 35 people in each, they have been recently updated and are now bright, airy and as modern as a 17th century inn can be! Lunch is served from 12.30 Till 2.30 Everyday. During June, July & August we serve evening meals from 6.30Pm till 9.00Pm
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    14
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014 NEW

Thanks Watermans Arms for ruining our much anticipated lunch. It was appalling! No effort made to give a festive feel, other than a jam jar with tea light on the table! Apart from the girl who greeted us, the waiting staff were surly & rude. As my daughter said it felt as if they really resented being there & resented... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014 NEW

My partner and i were booked in for several months for xmas day lunch we were shown to a table it was cold unfriendly and over an hour wait for a starter to appear we stayed with it and ordered main meal a choice of turkey ham or beef or nut roast we both deliberatly chose the venue for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

We were really sorry to see that you did not enjoy your Christmas lunch with us. We know you ordered the beef lunch and not the turkey and ham but unfortunately we had sold out of beef before we got to your table, we do apologise greatly for this as there was such a demand for beef which we did... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

There are no two ways about it this hotel is scruffy. But that's the point- it is delightfully scruffy. If you hate juke-boxes and televisions the size of football pitches with Sky then this place is for you. The rooms are perfectly adequate-comfortable and quiet and there are little terraces within the hotel to sit and read. The decor is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Nine of us had supper here last night. Between us we had Burgers, Sirloin steak, Chicken, Steak and Ale pie, and Sea Bass. We also had three desserts and a cheeseboard, so a wide selection from an excellent menu. The food was really lovely, all our meals arrived together and piping hot. A great selection of cheese on the board,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that your party enjoyed dinning with us! Great to hear that you all enjoyed your meals. All made with locally sourced produce where ever possible for a fuller taste! Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff and service, we pride ourselves on giving a friendly and welcoming service to all our guest.... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We visited on 27th September. Reading reviews thought this would be a holiday treat. Wrong! The Berman,although, nice was very harassed. We were shown. To the gloomy restaurant. The waitress that attended to us was unhelpful and morose. I ordered bass minus sauce,not difficult. It arrived with a curdled cream sauce! I sent it back. It's second appearance was almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

We were of course very sorry to hear on the night that you did not enjoy your meal. If I recall you were in a party of 3 and you ordered the Sea bass which came with a creamy sauce. You did inform the waitress that you were dairy intolerant, so of course we replaced your meal with no sauce.... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The pub is in a very pretty and idyllic spot on the riverside. We had a thoroughly enjoyable meal here in the main restaurant. The service was cheerful and friendly and the food was much better than I expected. The beers on offer seem a bit limited, mostly representing one brewery, which is why I was not expecting much from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed dining with us. we use locally sourced produce where ever possible and cook fresh everyday for the best taste! We hope to welcome you again to the Inn and thank you again for your review. More 

Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

If you are passing through Totnes, take a diversion off the beaten track and discover The Watermans Arms. On a warm summers day it's hard to beat a sun drenched seat outside by the gentle babble of the river, the flash of Kingfishers flying by, friendly ducks and fish jumping for flies. Top that off with decent local beer, good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us by the river where you spotted many local birds who recently have been putting on a show! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your food and drink too! All our dishes are cooked fresh to order with... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We arrived looking forward to another lovely evening sat outside next to the river with good food. On arrival the man behind the bar (not sure if was the owner?) came across very rude unfortunately and seemed to sigh alot as if we was too much trouble to serve. Such a shame because love this location and have always felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

It's got a lovely location. Unfortunately we had to sit inside because of the location. Inside there's some really cosy snugs around the bar. We were a large party so we ended up in an area that felt more like a standard pub restaurant. Food and beer were excellent, though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear that you did not think much of our restaurant. As it is a 17th Century Inn we tried to keep the character of the Inn with its old wooden beams and all the memorabilia on the walls wherever possible. We are glad to hear that you did... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Dined with my missus. I chose fish of the day and my girlfriend went for meat. Both dishes were tasty and well cooked (fish was really "of the day"). Good service and overall good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals with us! glad that you enjoy our fish of the day! As all our dishes are sourced locally and cooked fresh to order for the best taste! We really appreciate your lovely comments and hope to see you again... More 

Travelers who viewed The Watermans Arms also viewed

 
Crediton, Devon
Crediton, Devon
 

Been to The Watermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermans Arms

Address: Bow Bridge | Ashprington, Totnes TQ9 7EG, England
Phone Number: +44 1803 732214
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Totnes
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Watermans Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Things to do Nearby