We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Totnes Restaurants

The Watermans Arms

Bow Bridge | Ashprington, Totnes TQ9 7EG, England
+44 1803 732214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 72 Restaurants in Totnes
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A quintessential 17th Century Inn, located in an area of outstanding natural beauty, at the bottom of a steep valley next to Bow Creek and bridge. Hidden away at the bottom of a steep valley, the Riverside tables are perfect for savoring a pint of the fine Palmer's Copper Ale. Our Lunch, Evening and Sunday lunch menus are sourced from local suppliers and can be enjoy out by the river, or in our bar and restaurant. All our Dishes are made fresh to order so you can get the full taste from every bite. The Inn attract foodies from as far away as Exeter and Plymouth. We have two separate dining rooms, on three different levels, seating no more than 35 people in each, they have been recently updated and are now bright, airy and as modern as a 17th century inn can be! Lunch is served from 12.30 Till 2.30 Everyday. During June, July & August we serve evening meals from 6.30Pm till 9.00Pm
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

Nine of us had supper here last night. Between us we had Burgers, Sirloin steak, Chicken, Steak and Ale pie, and Sea Bass. We also had three desserts and a cheeseboard, so a wide selection from an excellent menu. The food was really lovely, all our meals arrived together and piping hot. A great selection of cheese on the board,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We visited on 27th September. Reading reviews thought this would be a holiday treat. Wrong! The Berman,although, nice was very harassed. We were shown. To the gloomy restaurant. The waitress that attended to us was unhelpful and morose. I ordered bass minus sauce,not difficult. It arrived with a curdled cream sauce! I sent it back. It's second appearance was almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

We were of course very sorry to hear on the night that you did not enjoy your meal. If I recall you were in a party of 3 and you ordered the Sea bass which came with a creamy sauce. You did inform the waitress that you were dairy intolerant, so of course we replaced your meal with no sauce.... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The pub is in a very pretty and idyllic spot on the riverside. We had a thoroughly enjoyable meal here in the main restaurant. The service was cheerful and friendly and the food was much better than I expected. The beers on offer seem a bit limited, mostly representing one brewery, which is why I was not expecting much from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed dining with us. we use locally sourced produce where ever possible and cook fresh everyday for the best taste! We hope to welcome you again to the Inn and thank you again for your review. More

Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

If you are passing through Totnes, take a diversion off the beaten track and discover The Watermans Arms. On a warm summers day it's hard to beat a sun drenched seat outside by the gentle babble of the river, the flash of Kingfishers flying by, friendly ducks and fish jumping for flies. Top that off with decent local beer, good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us by the river where you spotted many local birds who recently have been putting on a show! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your food and drink too! All our dishes are cooked fresh to order with... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We arrived looking forward to another lovely evening sat outside next to the river with good food. On arrival the man behind the bar (not sure if was the owner?) came across very rude unfortunately and seemed to sigh alot as if we was too much trouble to serve. Such a shame because love this location and have always felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

It's got a lovely location. Unfortunately we had to sit inside because of the location. Inside there's some really cosy snugs around the bar. We were a large party so we ended up in an area that felt more like a standard pub restaurant. Food and beer were excellent, though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear that you did not think much of our restaurant. As it is a 17th Century Inn we tried to keep the character of the Inn with its old wooden beams and all the memorabilia on the walls wherever possible. We are glad to hear that you did... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Dined with my missus. I chose fish of the day and my girlfriend went for meat. Both dishes were tasty and well cooked (fish was really "of the day"). Good service and overall good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals with us! glad that you enjoy our fish of the day! As all our dishes are sourced locally and cooked fresh to order for the best taste! We really appreciate your lovely comments and hope to see you again... More

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My meal at The Waterman's Arms was great! Sitting at a table next to the river was very pleasant and relaxing; the staff were very friendly and helpful; service was quick; and the food was excellent. I had a vegetarian burger, which was very tasty and flavoursome!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed dining with us! We can't think of anything more relaxing then enjoying a meal by the calm river! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our vegetarian burger! Homemade and fresh for the best taste! We hope to see you again in the... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

A waterside pub with fantastic views. Good food and drinks and very friendly atmosphere. Gets very crowded in the summer' months.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your visit to The Waterman's. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service, making sure everyone feels welcome and has the best time here! We hope to see you again and thank you for your lovely comments! More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We visited yesterday for my Dads 60th Birthday. Let's start with the bad points. 1. The menu we had in the cottage shown a wide range of meals and when we arrived they had cut it down to around 7 main courses. 2. We arrived at 6pm for a 6:30 table. We ordered food at 6:15 and waited till nearly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive feedback. Again we do apologise for the mistakes made and the wait for your food. I do apologise for the confusion regarding the menu. Our menu changed weekly to keep it fresh and different each time people come to dine with us. I have... More

Travelers who viewed The Watermans Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Watermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing