We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Watermans Arms

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Bow Bridge | Ashprington, Totnes TQ9 7EG, England
+44 1803 732214
Website
Add hours for The Watermans Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A quintessential 17th Century Inn, located in an area of outstanding...
A quintessential 17th Century Inn, located in an area of outstanding natural beauty, at the bottom of a steep valley next to Bow Creek and bridge. Hidden away at the bottom of a steep valley, the Riverside tables are perfect for savoring a pint of the fine Palmer's Copper Ale. Our Lunch, Evening and Sunday lunch menus are sourced from local suppliers and can be enjoy out by the river, or in our bar and restaurant. All our Dishes are made fresh to order so you can get the full taste from every bite. The Inn attract foodies from as far away as Exeter and Plymouth. We have two separate dining rooms, on three different levels, seating no more than 35 people in each, they have been recently updated and are now bright, airy and as modern as a 17th century inn can be! Lunch is served from 12.30 Till 2.30 Everyday. During June, July & August we serve evening meals from 6.30Pm till 9.00Pm
read more
Good for:
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 80 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 30
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Valintine weekend

My partner ,myself and our two dogs had a fabulous weekend here, the room was very clean and comfortable, and Les and all his staff where more than helpful and friendly throughout out our stay, even the dogs got spoilt.Our breakfast and Valintines dinner were both stunning . I would highly... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 19, 2015
520suew
,
St Austell, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Outdoor seating
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

My partner ,myself and our two dogs had a fabulous weekend here, the room was very clean and comfortable, and Les and all his staff where more than helpful and friendly throughout out our stay, even the dogs got spoilt.Our breakfast and Valintines dinner were both stunning . I would highly recommend it as a place to stay, if your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Booked this as I was away with work, paid an extra £5 that I was allowed and well worth it. Got their very late after being up from 3am and working/driving until I arrived about 9.30pm. Food had ended at 9 yet the gentleman still made me a meal. Room was lovely and the location is the same, staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

All freshly cooked, great selection even though quiet time of year. Best breakfast we've had for some time, again freshly cooked so no overlooked bacon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

As usual great food nice staff. Can't knock this place always consistent, only complaint we are unable to move after eating, such large portions.Great though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Totnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

A lunchtime visit on a glorious sunny day. Unfortunately, the disposition of the man behind the bar (I think he was the landlord) didn't match the weather. My wife wanted some bread with her whitebait. I asked the lady who was serving, who said that although they had bread, they could only serve the bread that was on the menu,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Clear that previous negative reviews have been acted on. The food was plentiful and excellent in warm surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We had booked for Christmas day lunch as a treat for the whole family. Think nightmare would be more appropriate! Although local, we hadn't been here for a while, used to eat here regularly & it was excellent. Wish now we had read the negative reviews first. I notice that I am the third person to post a negative review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

Management and all the staff here at the Waterman's would like to take this opportunity to say that we are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Christmas lunch here. More 

England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Thanks Watermans Arms for ruining our much anticipated lunch. It was appalling! No effort made to give a festive feel, other than a jam jar with tea light on the table! Apart from the girl who greeted us, the waiting staff were surly & rude. As my daughter said it felt as if they really resented being there & resented... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

My partner and i were booked in for several months for xmas day lunch we were shown to a table it was cold unfriendly and over an hour wait for a starter to appear we stayed with it and ordered main meal a choice of turkey ham or beef or nut roast we both deliberatly chose the venue for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review

We were really sorry to see that you did not enjoy your Christmas lunch with us. We know you ordered the beef lunch and not the turkey and ham but unfortunately we had sold out of beef before we got to your table, we do apologise greatly for this as there was such a demand for beef which we did... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

There are no two ways about it this hotel is scruffy. But that's the point- it is delightfully scruffy. If you hate juke-boxes and televisions the size of football pitches with Sky then this place is for you. The rooms are perfectly adequate-comfortable and quiet and there are little terraces within the hotel to sit and read. The decor is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Watermans Arms also viewed

Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Cheriton Fitzpaine, Devon
 

Been to The Watermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bow Bridge | Ashprington, Totnes TQ9 7EG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Totnes
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 732214

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Outdoor seating

Description

A quintessential 17th Century Inn, located in an area of outstanding natural beauty, at the bottom of a steep valley next to Bow Creek and bridge. Hidden away at the bottom of a steep valley, the Riverside tables are perfect for savoring a pint of the fine Palmer's Copper Ale. Our Lunch, Evening and Sunday lunch menus are sourced from local suppliers and can be enjoy out by the river, or in our bar and restaurant. All our Dishes are made fresh to order so you can get the full taste from every bite. The Inn attract foodies from as far away as Exeter and Plymouth. We have two separate dining rooms, on three different levels, seating no more than 35 people in each, they have been recently updated and are now bright, airy and as modern as a 17th century inn can be! Lunch is served from 12.30 Till 2.30 Everyday. During June, July & August we serve evening meals from 6.30Pm till 9.00Pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Watermans Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?