We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Falkland Road | Derwent Hotel, Torquay, England
01803 400145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 271 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Outside and Inside Bistro dining.From Light lunches and coffee, to steaks, ribs and freshly prepared fish dishes. Family friendly. Great offers include 2:4:1 dining, Dip'n'Dine and family dining deals. Extensive bar area with occasional entertainment. Opening times vary throughout the year. Please check for details.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

This place is great and on most occasions we've eaten here it's been as part of the Dip 'n' dine experience where half of your entry fee (used to be £10, now £12 I believe) goes towards the cost of your food. In terms of the pool and other facilities this place is probably preferable to the Riviera Centre as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

The bar serves a wide range which on the whole was good. It's drawback is the waiting time to order.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

My husband and I had lunch here during our stay at the Hotel Toorak and we really enjoyed it- in fact the food was far superior to that of our hotel restaurant! My sandwich, which was brimming over with its filling and my husband's Panini were freshly made and delicious. The young man who took our order even suggested the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Llanteg, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

This was a handy place for lunch with a varied selection of meals/snacks, which were freshly prepared . The staff were friendly and helpful.We were, however disappointed with the price of soft drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm really happy you had an awesome Aztec experience. Its great to hear this feedback as we are constantly working hard to improve and keep high standards. I understand your concerns about the price of our soft drinks and it is difficult to get these things right due to us being apart... More 

midlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

As we were staying in the hotels, the Aztec was convenient for a coffee, especially during bad weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. You are definately right in saying we are a great spot to hide from the cold Winter weather. We do a great selection of hot drinks with a loyalty bonus plus some lovely winter warmers like fresh soup and mulled wine. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we will look... More 

england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

my group ate here on the first day of our stay the food is always lovely and hot and service is super thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We will look forward to your next visit so we can impress you some more. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Very good quality food at a very reasonable price. Did Gluten Free for me no trouble, chef came out the Kitchen

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. I am really happy that you had the same great service consistently for your 3 visits. We work really hard here to look after our guests so its lovely to hear that we are doing it well. We try to accommodate for all dietary requirements so I’m glad that we could help with... More 

Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Went on Tuesday burger night. Excellent value. Meal included a drink. Don't know why it isn't busier. Wednesday and Thursday is two for one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your visits with us, it was great meeting you all. I agree we should definately be busier with the great food and service we provide and it's because of great people like yourselves, spreading the word, that really makes the difference. Thank you for taking the time to review... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

The food here is fine, no complaints but nothing exceptional either. The food is extremely pricey in comparison to other local eateries!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dera reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. I appretiate our menu is not the cheepest compared to others in the area but we do prepare our meals to order with a good sized portion and do use fresh produce to ensure a better eating experience for our guests. We are looking... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Had dinner here whilst staying at the very comfortable South bank Hotel, which is just across ( and a little up ) the road. The Azrec Bistro is very large, and although the menu is not that expansive, or expensive, the pizza that I had was very good indeed. It was very heavily topped and cooked piping hot and really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your great feedback. I'm really pleased you had a good evening with us and even more pleased you were looked after so well. Louise has only been apart of the team for a short while so I'm really impressed to hear how great she is doing. Louise was a bit speachless after reading your comments... More 

Travelers who viewed Aztec Bistro also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Aztec Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aztec Bistro

Address: Falkland Road | Derwent Hotel, Torquay, England
Phone Number: 01803 400145
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Torquay
Average Prices: USD 6 - 24
Cuisine: Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aztec Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?