We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aztec Bistro

$$
Bistro
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Falkland Road | Derwent Hotel, Torquay, England
01803 400145
Website
Add hours for Aztec Bistro and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Outside and Inside Bistro dining.From Light lunches and coffee, to steaks...
Outside and Inside Bistro dining.From Light lunches and coffee, to steaks, ribs and freshly prepared fish dishes. Family friendly. Great offers include 2:4:1 dining, Dip'n'Dine and family dining deals. Extensive bar area with occasional entertainment. Opening times vary throughout the year. Please check for details.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 88 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 33
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Fantastic - love it there! Highly recommend

I have been to the Aztec Spa many of times, doing the 'dip'n'dine' package with friends and my partner. It's done at such a good price and the facilities there are great to relax and I have enjoyed all my visits - never been disappointed. Me and my partner have been a few times and we love it. The... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 15, 2015
Kate12244
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I have been to the Aztec Spa many of times, doing the 'dip'n'dine' package with friends and my partner. It's done at such a good price and the facilities there are great to relax and I have enjoyed all my visits - never been disappointed. Me and my partner have been a few times and we love it. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your fantastic comments. We really love to hear when our guests are having such a great time with us and are enjoying the service we provide as we are always working hard to make sure you are happy and comfortable each time you visit. We do have some really good offers on at the moment.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Went and had a dip and dine, not sure I like being forced into a meal with a swim but it was really nice. Fresh brown bread nice side salad ham not mass produced. All in all enjoyable would recommend it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your meals with us. I am sorry you felt forced into the Dip 'n Dine option as that is not our intension. We do highly recommend it to our guests instead of just swimming, which on it's own is £10, to make sure you are getting the best value... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Good coffee and snacks for the mornings. We did not try the lunch, but there were certainly several groups of people, ie swimmers and bowlers who did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed our coffee and fresh cakes. It's a shame you did not have time for lunch as we have a great range of freshly prepared food available. Hopefully you will get chance on your next visit. We do serve breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings if that will suit you... More 

Exeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This place is great and on most occasions we've eaten here it's been as part of the Dip 'n' dine experience where half of your entry fee (used to be £10, now £12 I believe) goes towards the cost of your food. In terms of the pool and other facilities this place is probably preferable to the Riviera Centre as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you so much for your great comments. I'm really happy that you are consistently getting the same amazing Aztec experience. Our Dip n' Dine offer is now £12 for an adult and £6 for a child with half of each price redeemable towards your meals. In my opinion I have to agree with you when you say... More 

London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

The bar serves a wide range which on the whole was good. It's drawback is the waiting time to order.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our selection we have to offer and I apologise for your wait. Due to us being such a popular destination for our residents and local visitors there can be a bit of a queue while ordering on busy days, but with the fantastic service we provide and the fresh... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

My husband and I had lunch here during our stay at the Hotel Toorak and we really enjoyed it- in fact the food was far superior to that of our hotel restaurant! My sandwich, which was brimming over with its filling and my husband's Panini were freshly made and delicious. The young man who took our order even suggested the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your great feedback. I'm pleased to hear you had a good time with us at the Bistro and that my team looked after you. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We will look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. More 

Llanteg, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

This was a handy place for lunch with a varied selection of meals/snacks, which were freshly prepared . The staff were friendly and helpful.We were, however disappointed with the price of soft drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm really happy you had an awesome Aztec experience. Its great to hear this feedback as we are constantly working hard to improve and keep high standards. I understand your concerns about the price of our soft drinks and it is difficult to get these things right due to us being apart... More 

midlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

As we were staying in the hotels, the Aztec was convenient for a coffee, especially during bad weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. You are definately right in saying we are a great spot to hide from the cold Winter weather. We do a great selection of hot drinks with a loyalty bonus plus some lovely winter warmers like fresh soup and mulled wine. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we will look... More 

england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

my group ate here on the first day of our stay the food is always lovely and hot and service is super thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We will look forward to your next visit so we can impress you some more. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Very good quality food at a very reasonable price. Did Gluten Free for me no trouble, chef came out the Kitchen

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, Manager at Aztec Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. I am really happy that you had the same great service consistently for your 3 visits. We work really hard here to look after our guests so its lovely to hear that we are doing it well. We try to accommodate for all dietary requirements so I’m glad that we could help with... More 

Travelers who viewed Aztec Bistro also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Aztec Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Falkland Road | Derwent Hotel, Torquay, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Torquay
  • Phone Number: 01803 400145

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 24
  • Cuisine: Bistro

Description

Outside and Inside Bistro dining.From Light lunches and coffee, to steaks, ribs and freshly prepared fish dishes. Family friendly. Great offers include 2:4:1 dining, Dip'n'Dine and family dining deals. Extensive bar area with occasional entertainment. Opening times vary throughout the year. Please check for details.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Aztec Bistro and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Aztec Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?