We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thatched Tavern

Steep Hill | Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4TS, England
01803 329 155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 251 restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
25 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    73
    38
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 NEW

The food is not up to standard and way over priced we had the steak which cost £17.95 each for 8oz, a had full of chips and not much else the steak had a funny smell to it and it didn't taste much better ,the beer is way over priced as well ,we booked a table but didn't really need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Noel H Thank you for writing your first review on TripAdvisor. I don't feel it is necessary to go into "too" much detail but perhaps you preferences would be better met in a High Street Chain Pub rather a Destination Food establishment. PS. Having done some 70+ covers that evening, most decided to eat in the Garden due to... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

After visiting at the weekend and enjoying our meal,although disappointed with the greeting and the distinct feeling that my four year old, and very well behaved daughter, was not welcome to eat inside, we selected a table in the pleasant garden. We were told that there were no tables available, but during our entire meal, there were only two tables... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Daisydoodles1 Thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor. So glad you enjoyed you meal. I am disappointed that you felt unwelcome, and I can assure you Children are most welcome in our Cottage Area or the Bar, however, it is our policy to keep the Restaurant area for Adults and Older Children, to provide... More

Chesham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Arrived at lunchtime, but management really wanted a cream tea. Plus points for actually doing one - lots of places would have said not til 3pm. Also, the garden was super and there was a supply of sunshades. Anyway, couple of things I'd suggest they bear in mind:- The tea had a distinct chlorine taste. I have often found this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Steve A Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. So glad we could accommodate you with a Cream Tea during lunch service, and glad you thought the garden was super. Apologies if you felt the tea had a Chlorine taste, our Urn does empty regularly but nature of it's usage, but I have taken... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We came across the Thatched Tavern by chance and decided to give it a try. We were looking for a nice Country pub and this fitted the bill. Very nice thatched roofed pub / restaurant that had a nice fresh and clean feel to it. The food was very nice and well presented and the portions were more than adequate.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Mondoman5 Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, so that you enjoyed your visit to the Thatched Tavern and hope to welcome you again if you are in the area. Kindest regards Fiona Bruckin More

Cape Town
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked "for a week the Penny Farthings in Maidencombe, due to wonderful reviews in airbnb., as my wife is a vegetarian, and likes to prepare her own food. We arrived on the day of booking to find the place smelling of dogs and dog hairs and cobwebs galore. In truth we arrived early( 1 PM ) to drop off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Educat We are delighted that we were able to assist with your predicament, and that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciated the effort put in to making The Thatched Tavern a very special place. Kind regards Fiona Bruckin More

cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Why go in a plastic corporate hotel chain or a tired seaside hotel when you have somewhere like the Thatched Tavern which oozes character? Set in a little hamlet called Maidencombe a few hundred yards from the sea, this historic buiding has plenty of charm with all the mod cons. When you have only 2 guest rooms you know the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Dean & Vicki Thank you for placing a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, it is was a pleasure. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Fiona Bruckin More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Thatched Tavern is a gem of a pub restaurant tucked away at the bottom of a steep hill (named Steep Hill), mid way between Teignmouth Road (A379) and the Maidencombe beach. The pub is beautiful to look at from the outside, and well proportioned and clean inside, with a pretty beer garden at the back. Being a Hall &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Nes1983 Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed seemed to enjoy every aspect of The Thatched Tavern, and we look forward to welcoming you again if you do manage to return to the area. Kind regards Fiona Bruckin More

Totnes
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Living as we do within fairly easy reach of this old inn, and having read some of the glowing reviews here, we thought we'd give it a try. The female barista welcomed us, but the effect was somewhat spoilt when she asked for our 'card' before we'd even had a chance to look at the menu (however, we appreciate that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear MargaretTotnes Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your recent visit. I am glad you felt welcomed, and sorry if you felt it was spoilt by being asked for a card, this is unfortunately a necessity, if you wish to sit outside and run a tab. Not sure where the cigarette smoke was coming from,... More

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

For several years now we have rented a cottage in Maidencombe for 2 weeks in June. Most evenings during our stay we stroll down to the lovely Thatched Tavern for our evening meal. We are always greeted with a warm welcome by Mick, Fiona and staff - all the staff are so friendly and helpful and do everything they can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear PMN5 Thank you for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to see you both, and Willow your Dog when she has an evening out. Look forward to seeing you again next year. Kindest regards Fiona Bruckin More

South Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Went today and really enjoyed. Not a culinary classic but good food. Staff very polite and helpful. Needs a bit more atmosphere and looks from the outside of an old fashioned pub not matched by the inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thethatchedtavern, Owner at The Thatched Tavern, responded to this review

Dear JDavRDav Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Delighted you found the food to be good and the Staff polite and helpful. Sorry you did you enjoy the décor, most seem to consider that the pub has been refurbished most sympathetically, but it obviously wasn't what you were expecting, no red carpet here I'm... More

Travelers who viewed The Thatched Tavern also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Stokeinteignhead, Devon

Been to The Thatched Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thatched Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing